Need advice on Headphone amp or DAC.

reaper12

2[H]4U
Well, I have just got myself a new pair of headphones, the JVC RX900's. They sound really good. Currently I have my computer connected by optical cable to my Martanz SR8001 receiver and I have my headphones connected to Marantz receiver.

I am considering buying the Zero Dac to connect the headphones to instead of connecting to the Receiver. Will I see much of any improvement in sound quality?

Also, could I connect my receiver to the Zero, so that I can use the zero dac and headphones even if I am using the PS3, xbox360 or PC.

Naw. Just use the receiver. If it sounds good, don't mess with it. Otherwise, welcome to head-fi, sorry about your wallet lol.

It's just I can get no specs on my receiver's headphone socket. But you reckon my receiver's headphone out is better than the zero dac?

I am just getting into all this and still have a lot to learn.

Oh and I tried a friend's headphones today, a pair of Senn HD600, He has them a while and loves them. Gave them to me to compare with the RX900's. I didn't think they were that great to be honest, and in all the listening I did today I would prefer the RX900's over the HD600 anytime. Then I remembered reading that the HD600 needed good amplification, so then I thought of the zero dac that I see mentioned here so often. But If my receiver is better then, to me, the RX900's really are amazing for their cost.

The receiver will be fine for the 900s but not at all ok for the 600s. There is a big difference in power needs there.

Yeah, honestly, I think the RX900 are in the lower-middle end of the road in terms of (quality) amps being a necessity. They are fairly efficient.

Well, I have just got myself a new pair of headphones, the JVC RX900's. They sound really good. Currently I have my computer connected by optical cable to my Martanz SR8001 receiver and I have my headphones connected to Marantz receiver.