Need advice - i7 motherboard / memory combination?

petreza

n00b
Hello,

What I do:

- I am NOT a gamer (anymore)
- some photoshop
- might one day use programs that need 3D acceleration but not for now, hence the cheap video card (below)
- just want the fastest I can get within my budget

----------------------------

What I already have:

- Processor - Intel i7 920 - 2.66GHz
- Cooling - Noctua NH-U12P - ( link )
- Power - PC Power & Cooling S61EPS 610W - ( link )
- Video - (fanless) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4670 - ( link )
- WinXP-32bit for now - Vista-32/64bit later

The goal:

- QUIET, air-cooled i7 system
- STABLE overclock

QUESTIONS:

1. Could you please recommend me a motherboard and memory (3GB or 6GB) combination that will give me a good, absolutely-stable overclock, keeping in mind that:
- I have never done overclocking before
- budget $350-$400 - is this realistic or should I just get more $
- should have room for 3D upgradability later - SLI etc. (I know - I will have to upgrade the power for that)

2. Memory
- if I get 6GB but use 32bit Windows (seeing only 4GB) - would memory performance suffer (only 2 of the 3 sticks being used)?

3. What stable overclock should I expect to get using the cooling above? What settings in BIOS do I have to change in order to get it (for the motherboard you recommend in 1.)?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!!

More moneys. Also you should know... generally, overclocked and "quiet" don't go together.

Unless you plan on doing water cooling, or have a case with a lot of silent fans with good airflow you can scratch quiet as OP said.

I don't know much about the motherboards other than the Gigabyte, Evga are good overclockers for the money. I personally have the Rampage 2 Extreme, bought it open box for 270 from egg and the backplate direct from ASUS for $30 with two fans and it works like a charm ::knocks on wood:: Duno if that's you want to spend that much though.