Need a network mapping program

Baredor

Gawd
I'm an aspiring network admin (read: noob), and just started on a new position in IT Operations with a manufacturing co. One of my assigned projects is to get their old (very) outdated asset spreadsheet updated. So rather than going around to every piece of equipment, I'd love to use one of those network diagram tools. Unfortunately I'm unfamiliar with such things, so I wanted to ask for suggestions on what to use. I don't need something to manage everything under the sun, I just want it to show me whats out there so I can keep track. The simpler the better, for the time being anyway. Low cost is a big plus as well. Would appreciate your input.

I use Alloy Network Inventory, which is a pretty neat program. However, it requires its client to be installed on every PC, then it returns the information to a central location you specify.

So you can add it into a logon script or such and wait a few days and hope it gets installed succesfully on everything, or you can go install it on all your PCs manually (unless they have a new version out that includes a deploy function that works). Once it's installed it works pretty nicely though.

In my experience, programs that just do network autodiscovery (no client install) are inaccuarate, don't provide much info and don't find all machines. Perhaps someones else has a better reccomendation, but theres my 2 cents....

*Note - It does cost a few hundred bucks, but if you have a network of any size, its worth it. Not a good solution for small networks though.