NCASE M1: a crowdfunded Mini-ITX case (updates in first post)

Bijiont

n00b
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
45
So with the 3080 just announced, the only info I can find on physical size is that the card'll be L:285mm by W:112mm which is 15mm extra length. Think it'll fit with the stock air (foundation) or once a waterblock is announced (assuming an EKWB is of similar size)?

I can't recall the site as I have been bouncing around (will update once I find it again) however they stated both 3080 and 3070 foundation cards will fit in stock configuration.
 

oblongpolygon

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
114
I believe there are several variations of the NCASE M1 that have been released.

I've got one in storage in Australia (bought a few years ago, just days before a huge change to my life / living arrangements sadly occurred, and so could never be used) and so I'm wondering: how will I determine which version of the case I've got?

Does it identify the version of the M1 on the box? The case itself is still in the box, sealed and everything.

Now that life is maybe returning to normal, I'm wondering if I could use it to house a three-slot card, or just sell it if not.

And what is the most recent version of the M1 released? Is it true to say that v6.1 is the most current?
 

Bijiont

n00b
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
45
I believe it might be on the box. Mine also has a badge on the back of the case (v4).
Yes it states on the side of the box as well "M1 v6.1" for the newest. I don't have my v4 or v5 boxes anymore so can't confirm those.
 

MIDIBoss

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
125
Hello all, I have an Ncase M1 V5. I love it. I believe I am experiencing PSU issues. I currently have Corsair SF600 watt PSU installed. 3 years old. I never had problems until I started gaming in 4K. Now I get random crashes to blank, blue, green, black screens which require a hard reset of the machine, or sometimes I get a screen full of white/purplish/green squares and complete power off of the entire machine. Kernel 41 in Event Viewer. The crashes only happen under load. I cannot complete a race in Assetto Corsa Competizione for example. I think it is PSU related.

My question: What is the most powerful PSU I can fit into my machine inside the Ncase M1? I don't really want to rebuild the whole thing or even RMA the GPU unless I am certain it is the card... Would rather just replace PSU first to see if it is the problem. I want to go overkill to the max, but I don't want any cables putting pressure on my GPU.

In case you need to know: 1080 ti GPU is installed. Asus ROG Strix z370-i. i7 8700K. 2x16gb G.Skill RAM. Noctua cooler with 2x fans on the CPU cooler and lots of case fans everywhere. It's an insane crowded build, but the temps are great. I delidded and added metallic thermal coolant to my CPU when I built it. The temps of the CPU and GPU are fine. I tried many software things, deleted and cleaned all display adapters and reinstalled Nvidia drivers without Geforce Experience, same deal... I suspect SPU or possibly GPU failure.

I want to try overkill PSU before I RMA the GPU. What should I get?

Thanks.
 

rfarmer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
1,165
Hello all, I have an Ncase M1 V5. I love it. I believe I am experiencing PSU issues. I currently have Corsair SF600 watt PSU installed. 3 years old. I never had problems until I started gaming in 4K. Now I get random crashes to blank, blue, green, black screens which require a hard reset of the machine, or sometimes I get a screen full of white/purplish/green squares and complete power off of the entire machine. Kernel 41 in Event Viewer. The crashes only happen under load. I cannot complete a race in Assetto Corsa Competizione for example. I think it is PSU related.

My question: What is the most powerful PSU I can fit into my machine inside the Ncase M1? I don't really want to rebuild the whole thing or even RMA the GPU unless I am certain it is the card... Would rather just replace PSU first to see if it is the problem. I want to go overkill to the max, but I don't want any cables putting pressure on my GPU.

In case you need to know: 1080 ti GPU is installed. Asus ROG Strix z370-i. i7 8700K. 2x16gb G.Skill RAM. Noctua cooler with 2x fans on the CPU cooler and lots of case fans everywhere. It's an insane crowded build, but the temps are great. I delidded and added metallic thermal coolant to my CPU when I built it. The temps of the CPU and GPU are fine. I tried many software things, deleted and cleaned all display adapters and reinstalled Nvidia drivers without Geforce Experience, same deal... I suspect SPU or possibly GPU failure.

I want to try overkill PSU before I RMA the GPU. What should I get?

Thanks.
Corsiar SF750 Platinum, CoolerMaster does have a 850watt SFX PSU coming out but it hasn't been released yet.
 

raz-0

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,789
I believe there are several variations of the NCASE M1 that have been released.

I've got one in storage in Australia (bought a few years ago, just days before a huge change to my life / living arrangements sadly occurred, and so could never be used) and so I'm wondering: how will I determine which version of the case I've got?

Does it identify the version of the M1 on the box? The case itself is still in the box, sealed and everything.

Now that life is maybe returning to normal, I'm wondering if I could use it to house a three-slot card, or just sell it if not.

And what is the most recent version of the M1 released? Is it true to say that v6.1 is the most current?

Most recent version is 6.1, I have one on the way in theory. The version is on the plug opening cover provided to cover whichever of the two openings you don't use. Not sure if that goes back to all of them, but from gallery browsing, it goes to at least v2.0 if I'm deciphering the blurry text right.
 

jeremyshaw

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
12,512
Corsiar SF750 Platinum, CoolerMaster does have a 850watt SFX PSU coming out but it hasn't been released yet.
Just to add more:
SFX:
Silverstone SX700PT (Titanium 700W)
Silverstone SX650-G (Gold 650W)
Silverstone SX700-G (Gold 700W)
Seasonic SSR-650SGX (Gold 650W)

SFX-L (I don't know if these can actually fit):
Silverstone SX800-LTI (Titanium 800W)
Silverstone SX700-LPT (Platinum 700W)
 

Skott

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
4,196
Hello all, I have an Ncase M1 V5. I love it. I believe I am experiencing PSU issues. I currently have Corsair SF600 watt PSU installed. 3 years old. I never had problems until I started gaming in 4K. Now I get random crashes to blank, blue, green, black screens which require a hard reset of the machine, or sometimes I get a screen full of white/purplish/green squares and complete power off of the entire machine. Kernel 41 in Event Viewer. The crashes only happen under load. I cannot complete a race in Assetto Corsa Competizione for example. I think it is PSU related.

My question: What is the most powerful PSU I can fit into my machine inside the Ncase M1? I don't really want to rebuild the whole thing or even RMA the GPU unless I am certain it is the card... Would rather just replace PSU first to see if it is the problem. I want to go overkill to the max, but I don't want any cables putting pressure on my GPU.

In case you need to know: 1080 ti GPU is installed. Asus ROG Strix z370-i. i7 8700K. 2x16gb G.Skill RAM. Noctua cooler with 2x fans on the CPU cooler and lots of case fans everywhere. It's an insane crowded build, but the temps are great. I delidded and added metallic thermal coolant to my CPU when I built it. The temps of the CPU and GPU are fine. I tried many software things, deleted and cleaned all display adapters and reinstalled Nvidia drivers without Geforce Experience, same deal... I suspect SPU or possibly GPU failure.

I want to try overkill PSU before I RMA the GPU. What should I get?

Thanks.
Didn't someone shoe horn a 1000w psu into one of the early models? I seem to remember somebody doing that in this thread back in the day. I want to say it was in the V1 model. Its been a while.
 

MIDIBoss

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
125
Just to add more:
SFX:
Silverstone SX700PT (Titanium 700W)
Silverstone SX650-G (Gold 650W)
Silverstone SX700-G (Gold 700W)
Seasonic SSR-650SGX (Gold 650W)

SFX-L (I don't know if these can actually fit):
Silverstone SX800-LTI (Titanium 800W)
Silverstone SX700-LPT (Platinum 700W)

Thank you!
 

MIDIBoss

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
125
Corsiar SF750 Platinum, CoolerMaster does have a 850watt SFX PSU coming out but it hasn't been released yet.

Thank you for the help! That’s the one I was looking at. Appears out of stock at
the moment but I will setup a notification. Good to know about the Coolermaster 850 Sfx. I’ll keep a watch out for it.
 

harsaphes

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,902
Just did a De-shroud and re paste of my gpu. Added two exhaust fans underneath and my temps have never been better.
 

Bullz

n00b
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
20
Hello, ( i am from austria )

after i abandoned my plan with the Dan SFX i will realize my pc with a ncase.
Ncase M1 with AMD 4700X and 3700 Nvidia ~1600 Euro

Goal: Best of price, performance and volume what is possible

What I have searched for is not fixed but as an orientation:

Samsung SSD 970 EVO 1TB, M.2 (MZ-V7E1T0BW) 135 euro
Crucial Ballistix black DIMM Kit 32GB, DDR4-3200, CL16-18-18-36 (BL2K16G32C16U4B) 139,50
Corsair SF Series SF600 80 PLUS Platinum 600W SFX12V (CP-9020182-EU) 117 Euro
CPU should be 65 Watt class
GPU 210 Watt class

I paid a little attention to this guide which already shows a lot.

Kühler there are 3 opinions. AIO or U9S ( compatibility ) or C14S ( performance needs v6 or v6.1 )

I am grateful for every tip and will put some pictures in the forum.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nobu
like this

harsaphes

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,902
Hello, ( i am from austria )

after i abandoned my plan with the Dan SFX i will realize my pc with a ncase.
Ncase M1 with AMD 4700X and 3700 Nvidia ~1600 Euro

Goal: Best of price, performance and volume what is possible

What I have searched for is not fixed but as an orientation:

Samsung SSD 970 EVO 1TB, M.2 (MZ-V7E1T0BW) 135 euro
Crucial Ballistix black DIMM Kit 32GB, DDR4-3200, CL16-18-18-36 (BL2K16G32C16U4B) 139,50
Corsair SF Series SF600 80 PLUS Platinum 600W SFX12V (CP-9020182-EU) 117 Euro
CPU should be 65 Watt class
GPU 210 Watt class

I paid a little attention to this guide which already shows a lot.

Kühler there are 3 opinions. AIO or U9S ( compatibility ) or C14S ( performance needs v6 or v6.1 )

I am grateful for every tip and will put some pictures in the forum.

Also check out Optimum Tech https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRYOj4DmyxhBVrdvbsUwmAA
This guy is probably the best source for building in the Ncase. He has multiple builds and ideas and is a very clean builder.
Great stuff.
 

Bullz

n00b
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
20
Now I have my 2 te compilation. I am from Austria :)

My power consumption never exceeds 90 watts with the CPU
5 fans. 2 bottom, 2 side 1 rear.
AMD new gen
nvidia new gen

Mainboard so far no real recommendation for the board read.
Ram surcharge on 3600 Mhz relatively salted. Really necessary for sweet spot ?
Noctua NH-C14S and Corsair SF Series SF600 fixed. No AIO no water cooling

I would like to build my case like on this page even though I will never be able to put it together like this :/

https://geizhals.at/?cat=WL-1681706

1 Kingston A2000 NVMe PCIe SSD 1TB, M.2 (SA2000M8/1000G)
1 AMD Ryzen 7 4700X
1 Crucial Ballistix black DIMM Kit 32GB, DDR4-3600, CL16-18-38 (BL2K16G36C16U4B)
or
1 Crucial Ballistix black DIMM Kit 32GB, DDR4-3200, CL16-18-18-36 (BL2K16G32C16U4B)
1 EVGA GeForce RTX 3070
1 MSI MPG B550I Gaming Edge WIFI (7C92-002R)
3 Noctua NA-SEC1, 30cm
3 Noctua NA-SYC1, 11.5cm
3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM, 120mm
2 Noctua NF-A12x15 PWM, 120mm
1 Noctua NF-A9 PWM, 92mm
1 Noctua NH-C14S
1 Ncase M1 silver, Mini-ITX, V5 (M1V5S20000)
1 Corsair SF Series SF600 80 PLUS Platinum 600W SFX12V (CP-9020182-EU)
 

Urelure

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 15, 2014
Messages
459
Hello all, I have an Ncase M1 V5. I love it. I believe I am experiencing PSU issues. I currently have Corsair SF600 watt PSU installed. 3 years old. I never had problems until I started gaming in 4K. Now I get random crashes to blank, blue, green, black screens which require a hard reset of the machine, or sometimes I get a screen full of white/purplish/green squares and complete power off of the entire machine. Kernel 41 in Event Viewer. The crashes only happen under load. I cannot complete a race in Assetto Corsa Competizione for example. I think it is PSU related.

My question: What is the most powerful PSU I can fit into my machine inside the Ncase M1? I don't really want to rebuild the whole thing or even RMA the GPU unless I am certain it is the card... Would rather just replace PSU first to see if it is the problem. I want to go overkill to the max, but I don't want any cables putting pressure on my GPU.

In case you need to know: 1080 ti GPU is installed. Asus ROG Strix z370-i. i7 8700K. 2x16gb G.Skill RAM. Noctua cooler with 2x fans on the CPU cooler and lots of case fans everywhere. It's an insane crowded build, but the temps are great. I delidded and added metallic thermal coolant to my CPU when I built it. The temps of the CPU and GPU are fine. I tried many software things, deleted and cleaned all display adapters and reinstalled Nvidia drivers without Geforce Experience, same deal... I suspect SPU or possibly GPU failure.

I want to try overkill PSU before I RMA the GPU. What should I get?

Thanks.

Have you overclocked anything? Based on your hardware running on stock (excluding cooling solutions and assuming 2x SSDs, no HDDs) you should pull roughly 400W of power. This means that if this is the PSU, it might be faulty rather than too small.

You could always look for a friend with a non SFF system and a bigger PSU. Ask to borrow it for a few hours and just connect it outside of the case. Even if you can get hold of ANY PSU at 500W or higher to test with, it can provide you with useful information. I recently had a Silverstone SFX PSU fail on me, and had an old Corasir 850W full ATX PSU in a box in the attic from my pre-sff days. I unplugged all the Silverstone PSU cables and connected the Corsair one wihout removing anything (other than my C14 cooler which block access to the entire MB). This helped me diagnose the PSU as the culprit.

In my case, i ended up just installing the ATX PSU, because i have a short 970 card installed but this is a highly temporary fix as I am long overdue an upgrade.
 

harsaphes

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,902
I can't recall the site as I have been bouncing around (will update once I find it again) however they stated both 3080 and 3070 foundation cards will fit in stock configuration.

Most sites I've recently read say that the card is not going to be good in SFF cases because of the exhaust fan blowing the air right onto the power supply.
 

GnomeCop

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
1,556
Most sites I've recently read say that the card is not going to be good in SFF cases because of the exhaust fan blowing the air right onto the power supply.

Yeah I cannot see FE cards working well in the Sandwich style SFF cases at all, except for maybe the Sidearm T1.
In something like an NCASE M1 however it may work really well since the PSU fan can be facing the side panel which allows the PSU to draw in outside air and wouldnt be affected by any turbulence from the video card.
Based on the reviews so far though, seems like the flow through air of the 3080FE doesn't "heat up" the air around the CPU area that much at all though.
 

Urelure

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 15, 2014
Messages
459
Yeah I cannot see FE cards working well in the Sandwich style SFF cases at all, except for maybe the Sidearm T1.
In something like an NCASE M1 however it may work really well since the PSU fan can be facing the side panel which allows the PSU to draw in outside air and wouldnt be affected by any turbulence from the video card.
Based on the reviews so far though, seems like the flow through air of the 3080FE doesn't "heat up" the air around the CPU area that much at all though.

The thing is, when it heats up, it's because warm air gets trapped and heats up over time. The fact that the air pass through the cards should really help in air flowing instead of getting trapped. This is a huge issue with small cases like the M1 where the graphics card basically split the case in half. It's going to be interesting to see once these cards hit the market and we get real world feedback, but this seems like a very good idea.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
589
Yeah I think the FE would work great in the M1 because you'll basically have push-pull on the pass-thru portion of the heatsink with the bottom case fan feeding air and the GPU fan exhausting it straight up and out of the case.

I'm really curious to see if the Accelero 3 will fit on the EVGA 3080 XC3 cards with the mid-plate attached. The mounting hole spacing appears to be the same as the 1080 Ti, so the mounting should work, but will the cooler work with the mid-pate and clear all capacitors...

Also would like to see if the Accelero 3 will fit on the reference PCB.
 

Skott

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
4,196
Dont forget if AMD or Nvidia say 750w psu for example the reality is always lower like a good 600w unit will do the job.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
589
Yeah I think the FE would work great in the M1 because you'll basically have push-pull on the pass-thru portion of the heatsink with the bottom case fan feeding air and the GPU fan exhausting it straight up and out of the case.

I'm really curious to see if the Accelero 3 will fit on the EVGA 3080 XC3 cards with the mid-plate attached. The mounting hole spacing appears to be the same as the 1080 Ti, so the mounting should work, but will the cooler work with the mid-pate and clear all capacitors...

Also would like to see if the Accelero 3 will fit on the reference PCB.

Update, EVGA cards don't have mid-plates this generation, I don't know why. It's a bummer, it was the best option to use with the Accelero.

Edit: If anyone cares, it doesn't seem like the Accelero will be viable for this generation because of how close the VRAM chips are to the die. That's why the EVGA cards have no mid-plate. And GDDR6X gets toasty so not cooling the chips is not really an option.
 
Last edited:

1911Shootist

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 15, 2012
Messages
1,803
Looks like I'm coming back to the M1 family! Sold my v1 a year ago and tried to do the laptop thing, but it just isn't what I need, so I'm going to order a v6.1.

What are the shipping times like to the US currently? The store is offering 1-8 week $30 shipping or a 1-4week $45 option...
 

Psycore

n00b
Joined
Apr 23, 2017
Messages
4
Is there a cheaper alternative to the EK-DDC 3.2 for the Iceman reservoir? There's a few Barrow pumps on Ali but i can't seem to figure out all the different model numbers
 

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,562
I didn't know the ncase m1 had a v6 until recently and I thought I could upgrade my V5 front panel to the new one to get USB-C but that doesn't seem to be possible. Now I am torn about buying another Ncase m1 or going with something else for my new ryzen 5000 build. Thinking about the Cooler Master NR200P so I can fit the longer RTX 3080 cards.
 

teo

n00b
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
36
I just built in the NR200 for kicks, and it’s a neat case. Vs the M1, its primary strengths for me are the price point and glass panel. Obviously there’s some thermal benefit with the top fans, and greater compatibility for CPU coolers/big gpu, but the perceived size increase is also rather large. The M1 felt portable, albeit borderline—the NR200 is decidedly a stationary enclosure by comparison. The NR200 feels reasonably sturdy (except the top panel is a little plasticky/flimsy) while the M1 feels premium. There are some space inefficiencies (like no 140mm bottom fan mounts despite plenty of room) which probably came from reused tooling.

Both cases have their merits. While there’s marginally more restriction for the M1, I’d say it provides a more satisfying experience overall.
 

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,562
Well for me the nr200p can do basically any of the 3080 where as the M1 is basically limited to the FE and eggs XC3s. I don’t really move my computer unless I need to blow out the dust. I like sff because of the small footprint on my desk. Also I don’t know if I really want a second one because the first one will just be sitting there. I want an M1 that’s a bit longer to support the new rtx cards. The NR200p is probably the only readily available case that’s close to that.
 

jeremyshaw

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
12,512
^^ Speaking of putting on desks, I moved to a sit/stand desk, and I don't put my computer on my desk anymore. SFF isn't as critical on the floor, though I still want to move my main PC back into the M1 and my server out of the M1.

Since SFF isn't as important, my appetite for price has also shrunk. Makes the NR200p somewhat interesting to me, too. Still wish it was a tiny bit smaller.
 

harsaphes

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,902
Well for me the nr200p can do basically any of the 3080 where as the M1 is basically limited to the FE and eggs XC3s. I don’t really move my computer unless I need to blow out the dust. I like sff because of the small footprint on my desk. Also I don’t know if I really want a second one because the first one will just be sitting there. I want an M1 that’s a bit longer to support the new rtx cards. The NR200p is probably the only readily available case that’s close to that.

The ASUS fits in the M1
 
Top