NCASE M1: a crowdfunded Mini-ITX case (updates in first post)

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by wahaha360, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. kensic

    kensic n00b

    Messages:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    i think an matx version would get even more buyers
     
  2. wahaha360

    wahaha360 Gawd

    Messages:
    942
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Necere literally has hundreds of designs, accumulated over a decade.

    After people get their M1s in the mail and assuming everything works out.

    I'm sure we can convince Necere to release his other unique designs. We can all vote which ones we like and hate, then figure out where to go next.
     
  3. kensic

    kensic n00b

    Messages:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    im a noob on this forum, but can you inform me of who this "Necere" is? i see everyone asking him all the questions, and i do see some of his design on this thread.

    does he work for someone? who are you Necere?
     
  4. cowsgomoo

    cowsgomoo Gawd

    Messages:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    That's explained in the first post. He probably works at a job not related to case design.
     
  5. kensic

    kensic n00b

    Messages:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    o lol, told you i was a noob. thanks


    i would suggest turn the sfx psu over, drill vent holes on the right panel...so that sfx psu can draw colder air from the outside and eject through the top panel.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  6. ekuest

    ekuest [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,091
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    the psu is drawing air from the side fan directly in front of it. if there's a slim rad there then the air could be slightly heated, but still plenty cool enough for a psu.
     
  7. Machupo

    Machupo Gravity Tester

    Messages:
    4,855
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    I wish this forum had an option that wouldn't let you read the later posts (or post yourself) unless you had read all previous posts :p
     
  8. Yes, at almost 2300 posts, it would kind of a PITA to do so :D
     
  9. Machupo

    Machupo Gravity Tester

    Messages:
    4,855
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Lol, I keep forgetting I have the posts per page jacked way up... :D
     
  10. zyler

    zyler n00b

    Messages:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Oh my god! It looks beautiful in the new pictures!
    I absolutely cannot wait to get this case *giggle* :D

    Edit: Btw, have you made any progress on the dust filters? How will they be attached? Just out of curiosity :p
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  11. kensic

    kensic n00b

    Messages:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    but what if you don't want a fan there. flipping it around. no matter the configuration, the psu will always get cooler air, so convenient
     
  12. cowsgomoo

    cowsgomoo Gawd

    Messages:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    I just remembered something... The PSU's power button is going to be inside the case. There's no reset button. If Windows hang, there's no quick way to reset the system.
     
  13. WiSK

    WiSK 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,207
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    This argument has been done to death already in the SG05 thread. (The case that these Silverstone SFX PSUs were designed for.) No one has actually proven with temperature measurements that the PSU is even running higher than its operating range when sucking "hot" air from inside the case. Nor did anyone come with example of SFX PSU which died and was RMA'd and shown to have overheated. Hot box tests in review sites have shown both ST45SF(-G) PSUs to perform very well at high loads when over-heated. PSU lifespan is estimated at 100k hours, which is like 11 years MTBF.

    So yeah, turn it over if you like, but you can drill your own holes for that once you get your case :)


    The gold modular version has no power button anyway. If you really need a reset button, mount a vandal switch on the back instead of one of the watercooling grommets.
     
  14. Skott

    Skott 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,939
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Its looking pretty. I'm a mATX user but I admit I'm more interested in a new itx box than a new matx box these days. My V354 handles all my matx needs currently. This little box Necere is proto typing will replace my SG03 lanbox quite nicely.
     
  15. cowsgomoo

    cowsgomoo Gawd

    Messages:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    All the more it needs a reset button somewhere. If I'm the only one out of 500 who needs a reset button, I'd buy the vandal switch.
     
  16. zyler

    zyler n00b

    Messages:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Unplug the power cord? :p
    Anyway, you don't need a reset switch when you have the option to hold down the power switch for 10 seconds.
     
  17. 1911Shootist

    1911Shootist [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Yep, as long as you can unplug it easily, a reset button is completely superfluous. If you need to reset so often that unplugging is a PITA, you're doing it wrong! (I obviously don't push OC'ing far)
     
  18. cowsgomoo

    cowsgomoo Gawd

    Messages:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Every time I unplug it live, I hear that sizzle that says "you have a 0.1% chance of getting electrocuted every time you try this." Oh, I didn't know that you can hold the power button for 10 seconds.
     
  19. Machupo

    Machupo Gravity Tester

    Messages:
    4,855
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Can't you just hold the power button depressed for 5 seconds (system turns off) and then hit it again? :confused:
     
  20. Phuncz

    Phuncz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,630
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    I've needed the reset button exactly 0 times since Windows Vista was released, I don't see why you'd waste space on a button only overclockers need. Don't OC motherboards already have a reset switch on them ?
     
  21. zyler

    zyler n00b

    Messages:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Haha! True :D

    This.
     
  22. forumator

    forumator [H]Lite

    Messages:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    uggghhhh
     
  23. M4rk

    M4rk Gawd

    Messages:
    999
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    I know that feel bro. To the guy's credit, he gets educated quickly and drops the thought.
     
  24. wahaha360

    wahaha360 Gawd

    Messages:
    942
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    We are working on getting some DemciFlex :)
     
  25. geraltofrivia

    geraltofrivia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    That's a good looking case.
     
  26. RiZnO

    RiZnO Gawd

    Messages:
    928
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Is there a reason you haven't flood this thread with Pix??? I'm dying over here.
     
  27. zyler

    zyler n00b

    Messages:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Oh, cool!
    How will that work on the side panel? I don't want it to be sitting on the outside of this beauty :p
     
  28. Necere

    Necere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,699
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Two reasons:

    1. Ran into a small issue that's preventing PCI cards from seating properly; need a Dremel to fix it, which I'll have tomorrow
    2. Should have a better camera starting tomorrow as well, hopefully

    They'll attach to the fan bracket so you won't see them on the outside.
     
  29. Necere

    Necere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,699
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Alright, I just finished a fitment test. Because of the PCI card seating issue, I did not try to power it up.

    Specs:

    Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-I deluxe
    CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-C14
    Power supply: Corsair CX600
    GPU: BFG GTX260 (vintage! 10.5" long, blower-style rear exhaust)
    Drives:
    -1x3.5" HDD, bottom mounted
    -1x2.5" SDD, inside front
    -Slim ODD
    Fans: 2x140mm on the Noctua; 1x92mm below the GPU intake. Sadly the NH-C14 doesn't quite leave enough room at the back of the case for a 92mm fan (though if you had 20mm thick one, that would work).

    Pics:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Yeah, that fan filter probably isn't being completely effective on that fan. But it fits (barely)!

    Honestly, the cables were hell. Stuffing ten feet of stiff cables into a tiny space is enough to break a man. It's not completely obvious from the picture, but pretty much every available corner in the front and bottom of the case is packed with cables, to the point they're pushing against the side panels. I managed to keep some space free directly in front of the PSU intake, but otherwise it's just stuffed to the gills.I really, really, wouldn't recommend using an ATX PSU in this case unless you plan to mod the cables. The modular 450W Silverstone is a dream to work with in comparison.

    More of the guts:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    And a couple more myspace shots of the empty case:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  30. zyler

    zyler n00b

    Messages:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Forgot about the brackets :p
    That's great!
     
  31. sonsonate

    sonsonate Guest

    Good Lord, those pics are like porn. I wish LL would mass produce this thing. It's just so compact and beautiful.
     
  32. ipuoL

    ipuoL [H]Lite

    Messages:
    106
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    I am waiting for pictures with the sfx from silverstone :D
     
  33. xyexz

    xyexz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    471
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    that thing is stuffed
     
  34. kensic

    kensic n00b

    Messages:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    wow that thing is denser than the amazon forest. a full modular psu with custom made wiring for sure!
     
  35. geofelt

    geofelt n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    1. How does one eject the dvd from the drive? Certainly removing the top panel is possible, but not really practical. If the position of the eject button is standard on slim drives, we need something there.
    Does a slim dvd drive operate properly in a vertical position? Perhaps the best solution would be to have an opening wide enough to accommodate either a slot loading or tray loading drive.
    2. How long can a graphics card be that will not impact a psu that is > 140mm long? The CX600 is 140mm long. If a ATX psu were any longer, it will impact a graphics card that is in the 10" + range. But, if you want a strong graphics card like a GTX680 or titan, you are looking at 10.5" or so. Such a card will need a psu capable of 38a. Per EVGA recommendations. can find no sfx or modular units capable of 38a that are <140mm long. I don't know if I am comfortable with one of the Silverstone sfx 450w units. They advertise 37a, and that might do, but the psu may need to run at max and be noisy.
     
  36. cowsgomoo

    cowsgomoo Gawd

    Messages:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Can't believe the Noctua fits. Now it's a tough choice between that Noctua air cooler and a Corsair CLC.
     
  37. cookiePlant

    cookiePlant n00b

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    At this point I dont see why we even need an eject button. I always thought it was very elegant how you could eject a cd from a mac through the OS.
     
  38. Zangmonkey

    Zangmonkey I Realize My Disabilities - You Do Too

    Messages:
    3,575
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    On a PC, you can right-click on the drive in "My Computer" and click "eject"
    You can also get a batch file or an app which does this (desktop icon or keyboard mapping)
     
  39. geofelt

    geofelt n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    No doubt there are ways around the inconvenience. If you do not have a os running, as when booting from a dvd, then you need a manual eject option. My take is why not eliminate whatever issues when you can?
     
  40. *Daedalus

    *Daedalus [H]Lite

    Messages:
    107
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Well if, in that rare instance, you need the button, pop the top panel off and use a pin to manually eject the disk.