Navi RX 5700 to 5700 XT BIOS Flash

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by cybereality, Sep 4, 2019.

  1. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,597
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Haven't seen this posted yet.

    Not brave enough to try myself, but maybe someone more [H] wants to give it a go.

     
    ManofGod and EvilViking like this.
  2. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,794
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Kind of cool but, I am going to avoid it. No dual bios switch on my 5700 reference and even with the power play mod, I do not get much else out of the card, anyways. Now, on the R9 290 to 290X I used to have and the Vega 56 Reference to Vega 64 bios flash, that I still have, they worked just fine.
     
    cybereality likes this.
  3. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,597
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Yeah, I wouldn't take the risk without dual BIOS, but it does seem like a fun trick if done right.
     
  4. dany man

    dany man Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    163
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    If its anything like a Nvidia cad you can flash back with a second card.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2019
    pendragon1 and cybereality like this.
  5. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,759
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Yep.
     
  6. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,794
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    What's an Nvidia cad? ;) If I do not have a dual bios switch, it is not worth the risk, simple as that. I am done with the X800 Pro flashed to an XT bios for unlocking things, just not worth the risk, anymore. Oh, and just because you can flash it as a second card does not mean it will work.
     
  7. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,120
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I think he was saying you can recover your card if you had a different, working card, to boot up with and run the utility. If it’s anything like nVidia’s cards the utility makes it hard for you to mess it up.

    I bios flash and when applicable, hard mod the TDP limit higher on my cards. It’s half the fun of new hardware.
     
    Meeho and ManofGod like this.