My phone factory reset itself ....

Discussion in 'Smart Phones and Devices' started by Digital Viper-X-, Mar 17, 2019.

  1. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,626
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    I pulled up to the border crossing lane, at the camera / cray wtf ever it is, I had Waze open on my s9+, the thing flashed and I pulled the car up to the border agents booth... I notice my screen changing, now I see the big android logo with the word "erasing" below it.... WTF? (Acrually said wtf as the dude looked at me all weird).

    I pulled over after getting through , the welcome screen is up, I start going through the steps, and it says, " unauthorized attempt to reset the phone to factory setting "

    Fun... any idea what the hell could cause this?
    Galaxy s9+ with latest updates installed
     
  2. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    18,780
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Government knew you had a trunk full of black tar heroin.
     
  3. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,654
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    BlackBerry app has this as a feature to avoid unauthorised access so perhaps something else you run has similar?
     
  4. CHANG3D

    CHANG3D [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,727
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    After so many unauthorized access attempts, the phone automatically resets itself. The NSA was trying to hack you. Too bad, they probably still grabbed 75% of all the data on your phone because it's an android... XD
     
  5. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,626
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    They got a whole lotta memes :)
     
  6. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,626
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    I have nothing like that installed, I think the firmware has an option like that.(after 15 attempts it will wipe itself, but I had this disabled)
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2019
  7. T4rd

    T4rd [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,077
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Only thing I could think of is someone else had access to your account on Android Device Manager (apparently called Find Device now) and hit the Erase Device option.

    Screenshot_20190318-004002.png

    I think most Android phones have that installed by default. I don't remember installing it on my wife's Note 9 and yet I can manage it on there as you can see in my screenshot.
     
  8. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,626
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    My account has 2fa, and requires an SMS to my phone to login, I don't have any other devices logged into my account :)

    I do have bluestacks, but someone would have had to break into my house, or manage to hack into my computer and snag my bluestacks instance.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019