My HDD can freeze my PC?

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by Azeekk, Jan 30, 2017.

  1. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Could be this possible? It freezes starting windows or in desktop or ingame.. my current specs:

    -Asus M5A97 Plus
    -GTX 1050 Ti
    -16 GB Ram crucial 1600Mhz
    -FX 6300

    I tried changing:

    -PSU
    -GPU
    -RAM
    -MoBo
    -OS
     
  2. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    48,633
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Yes it can. A bad hard drive can present similar symptoms as bad memory. I've even see this caused by a bad SATA cable.
     
  3. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Ill change the SATA cable again and see what happens
     
  4. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    I just see smoke from my hdd, lol
     
  5. 4330thgink

    4330thgink Gawd

    Messages:
    636
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Bad storage devices can freeze a PC.

    The last time I had it happen was on a RAID 0 array where one drive was "heading out the door". .....Random BSoD's, freezing, and restarts.

    One doesn't often think about the storage device causing it. ..I too tried replacing RAM, reseating cards, replacing PSU's, etc, etc. It wasn't until I took the drives out of that PC for another build and broke the RAID array to run them individually. One drive was having problems formatting - which solved the question from the prior build.
     
    Azeekk likes this.
  6. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    As i said,i seen smoke from my hdd,i think it was broken since too much time and today it said goodbye,could be the problem of freezings right? Im going to buy a new one in 15 mins(also i had 15 min with no freezes in BIOS with the HDD disconected)
     
  7. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Also when i was starting windows it said there was a problem loading windows or something like that
     
  8. michalrz

    michalrz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,076
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Is this a SSD or a mechanical drive?

    Take the HDD out of the case and inspect it - check where the burn marks are. Maybe it's just on the connector solder points - repairable. Maybe it's just the protection TVS diodes - these too can be replaced.

    If you have a camera handy, feel free to post a picture of both the connectors (SATA data and SATA power) and the HDD itself.

    Freezing is indeed often a sign of HDD problems, especially if the mouse cursor "skips".

    If you get a new hard drive, you have to be careful now, personally I would use a different SATA power connector. Make sure it goes straight in - there should be no visible silver/golden connectors on either side.

    Change the SATA port on the motherboard, too. Just in case. Again, get a new SATA data cable. Make sure it's of the latching kind (clicky).

    After all is connected, touch the wires to check if neither of them (power or data) is pulling too hard on the HDD's circuit board (it shouldn't flex).
     
  9. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    i bought my new hdd,i tried to install windows and when it says ''starting windows'' my keyboard and mouse turn off and have a black screen,nothing appeared in 10 mins
     
  10. michalrz

    michalrz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,076
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    So basically you changed everything, then finally found out it was the hdd, but it turns out it might have been separate issues.

    Could you burn memtest to a disc and run it with the new hdd attached to make sure your computer is actually stable? I think this would be a good starting point after all those hardware changes. Sitting in the BIOS is not enough to tell if the system is perfectly healthy hardware-wise.

    Is the power to your house okay? No flickering lights or breakers tripping? Does the case of the PC 'zap' you sometimes when you touch it?
     
  11. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Im getting mad dude,now i dont have signal on my TV and cant do nothing,im really thinking about buy a ps4 for gaming not a trash pc..
     
  12. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    All is okey on my house,but idk what is happening with my pc,its so weird,my last option is the CPU..
     
  13. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,947
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    If there was really any smoke emitting from any part of your PC there is something seriously wrong.


    Maybe your power supply is bad and has destroyed your entire PC.
     
  14. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    I changed every part of my pc but no the cpu,i have a new mobo and gpu,also tried with different rams and psu
     
  15. Maxime Mitchell

    Maxime Mitchell n00bie

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Any chance you can try that PC somewhere else ? (Friends / family house / work ?)
    Very slight chance that the line voltage jumps too much for your PSU / DC on the line ?(No clue if that's even possible)

    Also, please try a Linux Live CD and run a CPU burn in test if its stable enough for that (That way you do not use the HDD)
     
  16. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    I bought a new HDD, a nee mobo, a new psu, a new graphic card, i switched btw some rams and the problem its still here
     
  17. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    And a new CPU
     
  18. David Johnson

    David Johnson n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Yes, it is true that faulty hard disk drives connected to the system can bring lots of trouble for you.

    Also, check these issues for common fixes

    1) You often run too many apps in your system.
    2) Driver Issue – Outdated drivers always hindered the performance of any system (even for high-end configuration systems)
    3) Operating System Issue – Make sure all your updates are installed.
    4) Hardware Misconfiguration – Check any latest hardware with is not properly compatible with the computer.
    5) And Yes, power supply point is already discussed by other esteemed members. Is is equally responsible for destroying your PC.
     
  19. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    I have kernel power critical error ID 41
     
  20. Danith

    Danith 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,598
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Have you had any power issues at your house, like power flickering on and off rapidly for a couple seconds? That happened at my parents house 5+ years back - power went out, then it came on and flickered rapidly on and off for about 6 seconds. When we turned the computer on later, the chip on the bottom of the HDD started on fire (had case open for some reason, can't remember). Didn't trust anything in the computer after that. but ya, if smoke came out of your PC.. I don't know if I would trust it.
     
  21. Oliver Powell

    Oliver Powell n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Hi Azeekk,


    Basically, the kernel power critical error ID 41 occurs when the computer is shutdown or is restart unexpectedly. In the process of system shutdown, the check is done to verify that the system is shut down completely. If this doesn’t happen, then event 41 message is generated.


    This error reports that something unexpectedly occurs which stops the system to properly shutdown.


    One of the main cause of generation of this event 41 is - underpowered or failing power supply.


    To overcome this issue, check the following parameter:


    1) Overclocking: You have to disable the Overclocking to verify that the system doesn’t show any error and works at a perfect speed.

    2) Memory Check: Check that each memory chip is configured properly and is working on the similar speed.

    3) Overheating: Check the internal temperature of the hardware to avoid overheating of a system.

    4) Power Supply: Check whether your device is getting an appropriate power supply.

    5) Defaults: One thing, which you can do, to check whether this event issue occurs or not is – ‘Default all the Configurations’.


    Hope these options will help you. Kindly Acknowledge.


    Good Luck!!!
     
  22. michaelshepard2015

    michaelshepard2015 n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Tuesday
  23. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    1) I dont overclock never nothing because i dont know how to,the factory AMD overclocking is what is enabled because you cant disable this

    2)Both are running 1,6V 1600Mhz

    3)Temps are fine

    4)I have a shit psu

    5)i reseted my bios like 3-4 times and nothing changed
     
  24. Azeekk

    Azeekk n00bie

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Registration Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 2/21/2017 8:50:24
    I.D. Of the event: 41
    Category of the task: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Team: Albertoo
    Description:
    The system was restarted without first turning it off cleanly. This error can occur if the system unexpectedly stops responding, crashes or interrupts the power supply.
    Event XML:
    <Event xmlns = "http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name = "Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid = "{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID> 41 </ EventID>
    <Version> 3 </ Version>
    <Level> 1 </ Level>
    <Task> 63 </ Task>
    <Opcode> 0 </ Opcode>
    <Keywords> 0x8000000000000002 </ Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime = "2017-02-21T19: 50: 24.365336800Z" />
    <EventRecordID> 707 </ EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID = "4" ThreadID = "8" />
    <Channel> System </ Channel>
    <Computer> Albertoo </ Computer>
    <Security UserID = "S-1-5-18" />
    </ System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckCode"> 0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckParameter1"> 0x0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckParameter2"> 0x0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckParameter3"> 0x0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckParameter4"> 0x0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "SleepInProgress"> 0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "PowerButtonTimestamp"> 0 </ Data>
    <Data name = "BootAppStatus"> 0 </ Data>
    </ EventData>
    </ Event>
     
  25. Oliver Powell

    Oliver Powell n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Hi Azeekk,


    I am sorry that your problem has not resolved yet.


    But, I have searched one thing for you on another platform, where a user has a similar problem as you are facing and checked all the parameters which I had mentioned above. He was at the same position at which you are right now.


    For this, he has changed outlet or surge protector causing the shutdowns and this has resolved his problem.


    You can also try to do the same. Maybe it works for you also.


    If you still find the problem persists, then the another resort is - swap out the RAM sticks.


    Good Luck!!!