My HDD can freeze my PC?

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by Azeekk, Jan 30, 2017.

  1. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Could be this possible? It freezes starting windows or in desktop or ingame.. my current specs:

    -Asus M5A97 Plus
    -GTX 1050 Ti
    -16 GB Ram crucial 1600Mhz
    -FX 6300

    I tried changing:

    -PSU
    -GPU
    -RAM
    -MoBo
    -OS
     
  2. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    51,211
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Yes it can. A bad hard drive can present similar symptoms as bad memory. I've even see this caused by a bad SATA cable.
     
  3. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Ill change the SATA cable again and see what happens
     
  4. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    I just see smoke from my hdd, lol
     
  5. 4330thgink

    4330thgink Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Bad storage devices can freeze a PC.

    The last time I had it happen was on a RAID 0 array where one drive was "heading out the door". .....Random BSoD's, freezing, and restarts.

    One doesn't often think about the storage device causing it. ..I too tried replacing RAM, reseating cards, replacing PSU's, etc, etc. It wasn't until I took the drives out of that PC for another build and broke the RAID array to run them individually. One drive was having problems formatting - which solved the question from the prior build.
     
    Azeekk likes this.
  6. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    As i said,i seen smoke from my hdd,i think it was broken since too much time and today it said goodbye,could be the problem of freezings right? Im going to buy a new one in 15 mins(also i had 15 min with no freezes in BIOS with the HDD disconected)
     
  7. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Also when i was starting windows it said there was a problem loading windows or something like that
     
  8. michalrz

    michalrz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,638
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Is this a SSD or a mechanical drive?

    Take the HDD out of the case and inspect it - check where the burn marks are. Maybe it's just on the connector solder points - repairable. Maybe it's just the protection TVS diodes - these too can be replaced.

    If you have a camera handy, feel free to post a picture of both the connectors (SATA data and SATA power) and the HDD itself.

    Freezing is indeed often a sign of HDD problems, especially if the mouse cursor "skips".

    If you get a new hard drive, you have to be careful now, personally I would use a different SATA power connector. Make sure it goes straight in - there should be no visible silver/golden connectors on either side.

    Change the SATA port on the motherboard, too. Just in case. Again, get a new SATA data cable. Make sure it's of the latching kind (clicky).

    After all is connected, touch the wires to check if neither of them (power or data) is pulling too hard on the HDD's circuit board (it shouldn't flex).
     
  9. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    i bought my new hdd,i tried to install windows and when it says ''starting windows'' my keyboard and mouse turn off and have a black screen,nothing appeared in 10 mins
     
  10. michalrz

    michalrz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,638
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    So basically you changed everything, then finally found out it was the hdd, but it turns out it might have been separate issues.

    Could you burn memtest to a disc and run it with the new hdd attached to make sure your computer is actually stable? I think this would be a good starting point after all those hardware changes. Sitting in the BIOS is not enough to tell if the system is perfectly healthy hardware-wise.

    Is the power to your house okay? No flickering lights or breakers tripping? Does the case of the PC 'zap' you sometimes when you touch it?
     
  11. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Im getting mad dude,now i dont have signal on my TV and cant do nothing,im really thinking about buy a ps4 for gaming not a trash pc..
     
  12. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    All is okey on my house,but idk what is happening with my pc,its so weird,my last option is the CPU..
     
  13. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,504
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    If there was really any smoke emitting from any part of your PC there is something seriously wrong.


    Maybe your power supply is bad and has destroyed your entire PC.
     
  14. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    I changed every part of my pc but no the cpu,i have a new mobo and gpu,also tried with different rams and psu
     
  15. MMitch

    MMitch Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    134
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Any chance you can try that PC somewhere else ? (Friends / family house / work ?)
    Very slight chance that the line voltage jumps too much for your PSU / DC on the line ?(No clue if that's even possible)

    Also, please try a Linux Live CD and run a CPU burn in test if its stable enough for that (That way you do not use the HDD)
     
  16. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    I bought a new HDD, a nee mobo, a new psu, a new graphic card, i switched btw some rams and the problem its still here
     
  17. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    And a new CPU
     
  18. David Johnson

    David Johnson n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Yes, it is true that faulty hard disk drives connected to the system can bring lots of trouble for you.

    Also, check these issues for common fixes

    1) You often run too many apps in your system.
    2) Driver Issue – Outdated drivers always hindered the performance of any system (even for high-end configuration systems)
    3) Operating System Issue – Make sure all your updates are installed.
    4) Hardware Misconfiguration – Check any latest hardware with is not properly compatible with the computer.
    5) And Yes, power supply point is already discussed by other esteemed members. Is is equally responsible for destroying your PC.
     
  19. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    I have kernel power critical error ID 41
     
  20. Danith

    Danith 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Have you had any power issues at your house, like power flickering on and off rapidly for a couple seconds? That happened at my parents house 5+ years back - power went out, then it came on and flickered rapidly on and off for about 6 seconds. When we turned the computer on later, the chip on the bottom of the HDD started on fire (had case open for some reason, can't remember). Didn't trust anything in the computer after that. but ya, if smoke came out of your PC.. I don't know if I would trust it.
     
  21. michaelshepard2015

    michaelshepard2015 n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    check bad sectors for hard drive.
     
  22. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    1) I dont overclock never nothing because i dont know how to,the factory AMD overclocking is what is enabled because you cant disable this

    2)Both are running 1,6V 1600Mhz

    3)Temps are fine

    4)I have a shit psu

    5)i reseted my bios like 3-4 times and nothing changed
     
  23. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Registration Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 2/21/2017 8:50:24
    I.D. Of the event: 41
    Category of the task: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Team: Albertoo
    Description:
    The system was restarted without first turning it off cleanly. This error can occur if the system unexpectedly stops responding, crashes or interrupts the power supply.
    Event XML:
    <Event xmlns = "http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name = "Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid = "{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID> 41 </ EventID>
    <Version> 3 </ Version>
    <Level> 1 </ Level>
    <Task> 63 </ Task>
    <Opcode> 0 </ Opcode>
    <Keywords> 0x8000000000000002 </ Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime = "2017-02-21T19: 50: 24.365336800Z" />
    <EventRecordID> 707 </ EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID = "4" ThreadID = "8" />
    <Channel> System </ Channel>
    <Computer> Albertoo </ Computer>
    <Security UserID = "S-1-5-18" />
    </ System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckCode"> 0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckParameter1"> 0x0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckParameter2"> 0x0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckParameter3"> 0x0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "BugcheckParameter4"> 0x0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "SleepInProgress"> 0 </ Data>
    <Data Name = "PowerButtonTimestamp"> 0 </ Data>
    <Data name = "BootAppStatus"> 0 </ Data>
    </ EventData>
    </ Event>
     
  24. Azeekk

    Azeekk [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    i tried replacing the outlet on the same room,i have 3 on this and i tried all of them,ill try in a different place of the house and will see if the problem persist,btw i had the error in summer,i changed my psu for another psu (another shit one) and the problem solved for 3 weeks,but then,boom,again,i think both are bad now,i have to buy a new one but i havent money atm to buy a new one D:
     
  25. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,631
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Replace the SHIT PSU with a decent one. Build everything outside of your case on a cardboard box. make sure no metal is touching the motherboard or other parts. Test it.

    If you can run outside of the box fine then check your standoffs in your chassis. SOMETHING is shorting out your box. Even a shit PSU shouldn't die like that without something causing it. look for any contact points that don't have a hole for your motherboard. Some motherboards can have standoff patterns different from others.

    You've replaced everything in this system and spent untold amount of money to do it. So step back and take a breath.

    Are you putting Thermal compound on your CPU to mount your cooler. Last time your pulled the cooler off and put it back on did you clean it and apply new thermal compound?

    Did you build this system yourself? If so did you make sure you didn't leave some tape covering a pad on a back plate that attaches to your motherboard for the CPU heat sink? (I've done this one back when I was building a 3200+ from AMD.)

    Take my advice. Do a slow methodical build... OUTSIDE of the case resting on cardboard and test it that way.

    If you've rulled out everything probable.. has has to be something improbable.
     
  26. MMitch

    MMitch Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    134
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    I would advice against building a PC on a cardboard box... please be aware of ESD risk..
    This could potentially kill any electronic component or shorten its life span.
     
  27. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,631
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    According to IBM when I worked for them it was fine. But yes use an ESD grounded matt instead if you have one. And yes I just did a big eyeroll.