My E6600 is over 80 degrees and driving me crazy...

Xschtar

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
103
I would, but I can't... not available in my country and shipping overseas would cost lots of money.

I now can't get the idle temp under 58 degrees... It was 53 before... should have stopped trying to fix it!

So nobody got a magical solution for me?

Oh and the "remove CPU from socket and measure temp" suggestion would never work. It would take at least 5-10 seconds for me to get the CPU out of the socket and it would already be much cooler by then.
 

Jayemji

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 7, 2006
Messages
136
Unfortunately, I don't believe that there is a "magical solution" here. goin capless (extremely risky), living with the heat problems as-is (not such a great deal), or returning the CPU/getting a new one (annoying/expensive) is about all you can do at this point.
 

Michael Daly

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
1,212
Don't CPUs cool down in a matter of seconds?
I was afraid of that.

I have a temperature sensor gadget for my computer with two thermocouples. I suppose something like that could be set temporarily against the CPU on both sides (assuming the wire can be squeezed under the cpu somehow - any holes in the side of the 775 socket? Somehow I doubt it and I'm not gonna pull things apart to look.)

A thermal imaging camera? they're only a few tens of thousands of dollars last I checked. :D

There are thermal strips that are used in shipping to detect overtemp conditions. They are stuck on something and if the temp exceeds some value (fixed for the strip), it changes colour. temp sensing strips

It certainly seems like the problem is the heat transfer to the top of the CPU.

I think you should contact Intel and ask if they can accept a return without going through your annoying retailer. Or perhaps they can convince the retailer to accept the return and give you a new one.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
2,501
Xschtar, since you're experiencing throttling, it's probably safe to assume that the CPU is actually reaching these said temperatures. If there was a way you could borrow another Core 2 Duo chip and try it out in your system, that would be a pretty descent way to find out if the CPU is the culprit. Unless, of course, your current processor is concave; but you would have noticed this when lapping etc.
 

Xschtar

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
103
I e-mailed Intel 3 times and never got a reply. I don't think they like foreigners.
 

gepetto

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
451
it could be airflow through the case. I recently got a new case with 2x120mm fans in the rear and 1 80mm fan in the front and it knocked my temps down 10C under load.
 

seanmcd

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
1,433
* I've remounted 27 times
* I've applied AS5 in 10 different ways
* I've grinded down parts of the Ninja pressing against kondensors.
* I've throuroughly lapped the IHS and the Ninja.
There's only one way to apply thermal paste. Perhaps you are putting too much on? Maybe stop grinding and sanding your computer parts? Have you tried it without any thermal paste?
 

Durandal

n00b
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
27
Time to go back to basics here me thinks...........

  • First of all, post a full list of your hardware and pictures of it in its current state, including how your applying the thermal compound.
  • Software: check for any BIOS updates for your motherboard.
  • Get the main components out of the case and set them up on a nice flat surface (with suitable insulation in the form of cardboard etc between motherboard and desk). Mount the heatsink and just have a look to see if it is sitting correctly.

Ignore any overclocking whatsoever at this stage, get it stable and cool at stock speed and volts and then worry about overclocking.
 

seanmcd

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
1,433
Isn't that a really bad idea?
No. As long as the heatsink is properly sitting on the CPU, you are going to get proper heat transfer. Metal on metal is ideal. The paste is just filling the minute areas that metal is not touching metal. Thats why you always want as little as possible. I've seen several people put so much on that it's not properly cooling. If he's already fucking sanded his CPU and heatsink (plus "grinded" - whatever that was for) - I don't think a brief test minus thermal paste is going to hurt anything.
 

seanmcd

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
1,433
how much paste is too much ?
Well if it's pouring out over the sides once you put the heatsink on - it's a good sign you have too much. You want to have as little as possible. Rather than me explain it - search around for pictures and how-to's. It's possible that you are putting so much of it on, that you are defeating the purpose. Other than that - I'd have to agree with some others that the top of the CPU core may not be making good contact with the heatspreader.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
538
I am also not satisfied with my temps of the Scyth Infinety maybe gonna try the cheap Arctic Freezer Pro which I used on a AMD processor (the Arctic Freezer 64 Pro variant).

Max Temp on CPU 65 after 30 min ORTHOS.

read: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1159066

The way the heatsink is connected stinks....I had to put some small rubber rings under the legs of the mounting on the mobo to get it tight on the CPU.

Use Arctic Silver 5 or GeiL copper are both very good.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
538
I am not sure if the Voltages you mentioned earlier are that outragious?

So here are mine from the BIOS on the E6600 running 3,33GHz (Got it also on 3,6 before)

DDR 1080

MemV_2,30
CPUV_1,6625
FSB_1,450
NBVCore_1,450
SBVCore_AUTO
ICH ChipV_1,215

I must say that the way the heatsink has to be attached to the mobo is NOT GOOD!

I had to put some rubber rings in between to get it realy not moving.....when i first put the Scyth on it wiggeled all around and wasn't tight on the CPU at all.

So the way it's mounted is very delicate cause the pins are not the best tightening a heatsink....hope they change that.

Temp 26 Celsius IDLE 45 Celsius Load with the Scyth Infinity with two 12cm fans on each side running 1100 RPM constantly.

The temps where much higher running 3,6 GHz 45 Celius Idle 65 on load .

Strange that my temps where much higher when earlier running 3,24 Idle 44- Load 65? can't explain that right now even when the CPUv was 1.35 v?
Maybe the extra 12 cm fan I added later on the Scyth?
 

ranthum

n00b
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
12
I am not sure if the Voltages you mentioned earlier are that outragious?

So here are mine from the BIOS on the E6600 running 3,33GHz (Got it also on 3,6 before)

DDR 1080

MemV_2,30
CPUV_1,6625
FSB_1,450
NBVCore_1,450
SBVCore_AUTO
ICH ChipV_1,215

I must say that the way the heatsink has to be attached to the mobo is NOT GOOD!

I had to put some rubber rings in between to get it realy not moving.....when i first put the Scyth on it wiggeled all around and wasn't tight on the CPU at all.

So the way it's mounted is very delicate cause the pins are not the best tightening a heatsink....hope they change that.

Temp 26 Celsius IDLE 45 Celsius Load with the Scyth Infinity with two 12cm fans on each side running 1100 RPM constantly.

The temps where much higher running 3,6 GHz 45 Celius Idle 65 on load .

Strange that my temps where much higher when earlier running 3,24 Idle 44- Load 65? can't explain that right now even when the CPUv was 1.35 v?
Maybe the extra 12 cm fan I added later on the Scyth?
Your CPU voltage seems quite high. I don't think it should have to be that high to get 3.33 Ghz. Right now I'm at 1.35v for 3.2 and I can get 3.4 if I bump it up to 1.5v but I'd rather have a much lower voltage than a slightly higher clock.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
538
Your absolutely right actually I made a little mistake it was on 1,45 v but even that can be lowered.....bussy with that right now.
What I do no is that the CPU Voltage can be quiet High without any troubles except the temps ofcouse.
Test your RAM seperate from the CPU test (With ORTHOS recommand that prog highly) cause I know that if your RAM voltage or speed settings are not good the CPU can be fine.
Put the CPU on 1,35v in BIOS setting and works fine in Orthos. See if I can get any lower
Lowest I can get at the moment is 1,3375 Volts in the CPU Bios setting (1,3250 got stuck in windows startup).
Test 1,3375 Volts in Orthos not fully stable go higher now.
Put it back on 1,35v in the BIOS and it is fully stable....so 1,35v on 3,33 GHz is the lowest I can get.
That explains my high temp in an earlier OC to 3,24 GHz .....I had my CPU volts much to high.
Funny only it says in Orthos 3,329.....first 3,33 with the higher voltage.
Temp CPU at load with Orthos "Stress CPU - Stress CPU with Gromacs core" after 12 minuts 41 Celsius about the same as my MB Temp 40 Celsius.
Scyth Infinity with 2x 12cm Fan on each side running 1100 RPM constantly.
Leave the OC for now incredible CPU this E6600 at such low temps (and it can sustain much higher temps I know).
Maybe do the latest OC to 3,4 or 3,5 (Already did 3,6) to find the ideal working level with low temps on load and subsecuently low voltage on the CPU.

Not to make you guys more frustrated with this high temps cause the Ninja should defenitely perform better.......here a little update:

3,33 GHz - 1,3500v In BIOS setting - max. temp load: 41 Celsius in Probe II
Fully stable after 12 min ORTHOS

3,51 GHz - 1,4125v In Bios setting - max. temp load: 43 Celsius in Probe II
Fully stable after 16 min ORTHOS
 

rschissler

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
125
I still think there is something wrong with the mounting.

I just built a new system yesterday with the stock heatsink cooler, and on startup the BIOS showed a CPU temp of 86 degrees C. The heatsink looked and felt secure but I was still getting temps of 86 degrees C. I finally removed the motherboard from the case and saw that a couple of the mounting pins were not entirely in. I remounted the pins, put the motherboard back in, and now my CPU temp is 37 degrees.

I suggest you remove the motherboard, remove the heatsink and play with the mounting pins to the heatsink awhile, so you can see how they are supposed to go when installed correctly. Once you are sure how the pins extrude from the motherboard when secured correctly, reinstall the heatsink, reinstall the motherboard and check your temps.

I have a Scythe Infinity cooler that I plan to install and it has the same mounting system as the stock cooler. I thought I could easily install it with the motherboard in place, but now, based on my earlier problems, I know I'll have to remove the motherboard again to make sure this cooler is installed correctly too.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
538
Yep, I know this 4x pin push construction is bit hazardous.

When I mounted my Scyth Infinity the heatsink wasn't tight at all on the CPU in the beginning.

I have an Acrylic case so I can see if the pins realy went far enough.
 

BillParrish

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
7,520
CPUV_1,6625 :eek: JEEEZUSSSS !!!!

You cant run that Vcore and expect low temps.

Time to go back to basics here me thinks...........

First of all, post a full list of your hardware and pictures of it in its current state, including how your applying the thermal compound.
Software: check for any BIOS updates for your motherboard.
Get the main components out of the case and set them up on a nice flat surface (with suitable insulation in the form of cardboard etc between motherboard and desk). Mount the heatsink and just have a look to see if it is sitting correctly.

Ignore any overclocking whatsoever at this stage, get it stable and cool at stock speed and volts and then worry about overclocking.
yep yep yep.
 

Shlomo

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 8, 2006
Messages
2,969
If they still won't take the CPU back, you can always de-lid the puppy and see if that helps...
 
Top