MSI X570 Tomahawk review: possibly the best $200 X570

ronan_zj

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
69
I am just waiting for ComboAM4PIV2 1.2.0.0 to be released. I am still on the old FW and PBO with Curve Optimizer still don't work and I am getting blue screen all the time.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
19,552
AGESA 1.1.9.0 BIOS coming soon...key feature- improved stability for 1800- 2000Mhz Infinity Fabric...time-stamped video below...

 

Skull_Angel

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2010
Messages
1,628
AGESA 1.1.9.0 BIOS coming soon...key feature- improved stability for 1800- 2000Mhz Infinity Fabric...time-stamped video below...

Ah, if Microsoft is messing with low-power states and AMD is trying to conform, that would help explain why the bios settings have been unstable. I never got them to work proper on Haswell with a good overclock, so I'm not above disabling them for now.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
19,552
MSI & ASUS Prep Up AMD AGESA 1.2.0.0 BIOS Firmware For 500 & 400 Series Motherboards

Both MSI & ASUS have announced that their AGESA 1.2.0.0 BIOS Firmware for AMD 500 & 400 lines of motherboards will be out soon...the improvements both have listed mentions optimized support and compatibility for Ryzen 5000 Desktop CPUs and added Resizable-BAR functionality with NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 & AMD Radeon RX 6000 series processors...

The AMD Curve Optimizer support will be carried over from AGESA 1.1.9.0 BIOS Firmware...

https://wccftech.com/msi-asus-amd-agesa-1-2-0-0-bios-firmware-for-500-400-series-motherboards/
 

Spartacus

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
2,122
Nice they must have just posted that this morning. They also got rid of the beta bios from 1/4. Anyone try it yet?

The new v1.50 works fine for me. Looks like better XMP memory timings too!

ETA: Did have one issue.... this new BIOS killed my MS Office activation, not Win-10 though.
Never had that happen before. Will have to buy another cheap Office key.

.
 
Last edited:

ziggo0

Black Mesa Download Gawd
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
585
Just updated to 7C84v15 from 7C84v151 and my memory overclock is no longer stable, at all. Was previously running 3800/1900 with CL14 timings (Samsung b die). I've lowered the RAM down to so far 3400 and still not stable....BSOD with any benchmark. this is annoying..

Edit: Another observation. I tried to use the XMP Profile to see if that would work, and it does however it's not reading the timings right at all. This memory is 3600MHz 17-18-18-38 out the box, but it's giving me 18-18-18-38. If I stick CL 17 in there it BSODs. Not to mention my memory benchmarks are wayyyyy down. I think I'm going back to the previous bios

Edit 2: I think I've narrowed it down to Command Rate. Entirely unstable at 1T, 2T works fine (and explains why the odd number CL 17 gets moved to CL 18).

Something else I'm seeing is the older bios I was on has a newer bios version number than current. 1.51 (old one) vs 1.5 (newest)
 
Last edited:

Spartacus

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
2,122
They changed the memory timings so it's very likely that some people will have to use different settings.
Use the beta 1.51 if that worked better for you.

On the version numbers.... 1.51 was a beta version that they did not elect to make into a release version.
The beta versions do not count if they were not released.

The release versions were 1.4 and then 1.5.

.
 

ziggo0

Black Mesa Download Gawd
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
585
They changed the memory timings so it's very likely that some people will have to use different settings.
Use the beta 1.51 if that worked better for you.

On the version numbers.... 1.51 was a beta version that they did not elect to make into a release version.
The beta versions do not count if they were not released.

The release versions were 1.4 and then 1.5.

.

After reverting my bios back to 1.51 I was still crashing. I missed 1 single setting...completely forgot I had to use Geardown Mode to achieve those clocks. After this - 1.5 is working great. There goes this evening lol.

I wish I didn't have to use Geardown Mode - hurts the memory bandwidth. Posts in 1T it just doesn't like to be stressed

gp9tBP7.png
 
Last edited:
Top