MSI GTX 2070 Gaming Z PCB quality - Skeptical

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,464
Looking at the card I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me. I just can't grasp, how the hell do you have a variable thickness of a PCB throughout the same PCB. It seems the board shaves off a layer from front to back. Towards the end, you can visibly see the PCB is THINNER toward the power connectors.

So I whipped out my digital caliper to confirm this since it was driving me nuts.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20181206_083147439.jpg
    IMG_20181206_083147439.jpg
    396.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20181206_083233952.jpg
    IMG_20181206_083233952.jpg
    365.7 KB · Views: 0

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,464
Why would the PCB get thinner at the PCI-E Power, where it actually needs current. This card runs hot at times and when you can see that your PCB looks thinner in areas (which honestly never seen with any other card I have owned.) I just checked an R9 Fury Nitro and it is uniform.
 

Puterguru

2[H]4U
Joined
May 21, 2001
Messages
3,410
I'm not certain that I would call a well known brand names PCB Quality "Skeptical" because of thickness, unless of course you have some knowledge of PCB thickness standards that are implemented across the board of all card makers and the reasoning for those standard thicknesses. Otherwise it sounds like you are just guessing that it is somehow affecting performance/temps.
 

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,464
I would think if it's an 8 layer PCB, it should be 8 layers across a single PCB. Not 8 layers and somehow 6 layers throughout the PCB. The inconsistences somehow make me skeptical that this card has a PCB that is not up to standard. If it lights on fire I will be sure to let you all know. ;)
 

Nolan7689

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Messages
1,694

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,464
Thanks for that. I will read into it.

I have had a TON of graphics cards and this one was the only card that I noticed that the front is thicker than the back (that's what she said?? :p ) by looking at the damn thing. The card runs good so far, backplate gets a little roasty at times at idle.
 

Lastan010

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
211
I would think if it's an 8 layer PCB, it should be 8 layers across a single PCB. Not 8 layers and somehow 6 layers throughout the PCB. The inconsistences somehow make me skeptical that this card has a PCB that is not up to standard. If it lights on fire I will be sure to let you all know. ;)

if that was the case then it is the opposite, thinner layer around the PCB will allow the heat to dissipate much quicker then having the heat trapped inside the middle of a thicker PCB.
 

rob2000

Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
970
no clue, but working with many pc boards some have a thermal layer added in some spots. sometimes its on the outside as well and sometimes not. they also might cut them closer and being a manufacturer they can recoat the green or whatever color the pcb is. I would ask them directly if you really want to know, but odds are they will never ask a person who could actually tell you why.
 

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,464
It works great so I just didn't see the variances with other models. I am sure MSI has some kind of reason for it.
 

rob2000

Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
970
what card did you upgrade from? I had just bought a 1070 a month or two before these came out, but I had no choice as my older 460gtx both decided to die within a few days of each other. I still get some lag in pubg and just wondering if the newer card is the ticket or my cpu and ram just too slow to worry about it.. read the shootout review of the 1070-1080 vs the 2070 -2080 but this game was not listed.
 

CAD4466HK

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
1,275
what card did you upgrade from? I had just bought a 1070 a month or two before these came out, but I had no choice as my older 460gtx both decided to die within a few days of each other. I still get some lag in pubg and just wondering if the newer card is the ticket or my cpu and ram just too slow to worry about it.. read the shootout review of the 1070-1080 vs the 2070 -2080 but this game was not listed.

Are you OC'ing your Ivy? PUBG is merciless on a quad, and going by that monitor in your sig, 1080p/60 with a 1070 is recipe for a CPU bottleneck in that game. Have you tried running it with DSR to alleviate the CPU bottleneck for better frames?
 

rob2000

Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
970
Are you OC'ing your Ivy? PUBG is merciless on a quad, and going by that monitor in your sig, 1080p/60 with a 1070 is recipe for a CPU bottleneck in that game. Have you tried running it with DSR to alleviate the CPU bottleneck for better frames?

i have a 1440p 34inch now. one minute its fine one minute it sucks. pubg used to run like butter with lower settings on my pc in the sig but after several game updates no more. Not changed my sig yet because its says its too big when I try to replace what is there. go figure.

as for dsr nope, because no idea what it is. started looking it up.
 

CAD4466HK

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
1,275
i have a 1440p 34inch now. one minute its fine one minute it sucks. pubg used to run like butter with lower settings on my pc in the sig but after several game updates no more. Not changed my sig yet because its says its too big when I try to replace what is there. go figure.

as for dsr nope, because no idea what it is. started looking it up.

DSR isn't really needed @ 1440p unless you want to play @ 4K. 1080p is a different story. https://www.geforce.com/hardware/technology/dsr/technology

PUBG has been a shit show for me as well lately. Do you still have the 3570?
The reason you can't change your sig is because you have 10 lines, I had the same problem a year or 2 ago, redo your sig like mine and it should work.
 

rob2000

Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
970
PUBG has been a shit show for me as well lately. Do you still have the 3570?

yes, I am on windows 10 now, and disconnected the 7200rpm drives and added a western digital ssd. and while boot times are quicker I don't notice any more speed with it really. getting the same long load times in pubg and stuttering. the game feels choppy. tried all kinds of settings changes. lowered effects, post processing and shadows last night. so far nothing seems to help. guessing will build a new system or splurge for a 2070 or a deal on a 1080ti if i see one. unless I can tweak the game so its more playable. lately I only play killing floor 2 or quake champions if pubg is down. killing floor 2 runs fine but chapions has some choppiness too. guess I will try to oc the cpu a bit.
 

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,288
DSR isn't really needed @ 1440p unless you want to play @ 4K. 1080p is a different story. https://www.geforce.com/hardware/technology/dsr/technology

PUBG has been a shit show for me as well lately. Do you still have the 3570?
The reason you can't change your sig is because you have 10 lines, I had the same problem a year or 2 ago, redo your sig like mine and it should work.

DSR helps my 34” 21:9 1440p up to 4x the pixels. I play a lot of games at 6880x2880.
 

CAD4466HK

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
1,275
yes, I am on windows 10 now, and disconnected the 7200rpm drives and added a western digital ssd. and while boot times are quicker I don't notice any more speed with it really. getting the same long load times in pubg and stuttering. the game feels choppy. tried all kinds of settings changes. lowered effects, post processing and shadows last night. so far nothing seems to help. guessing will build a new system or splurge for a 2070 or a deal on a 1080ti if i see one. unless I can tweak the game so its more playable. lately I only play killing floor 2 or quake champions if pubg is down. killing floor 2 runs fine but chapions has some choppiness too. guess I will try to oc the cpu a bit.

It does sound like your CPU bottlenecked. What kind of CPU usage are you seeing in PUBG? That Ivy should be good for 4.5GHz-4.7GHz with that H100, some golden samples will do 5GHz.

DSR helps my 34” 21:9 1440p up to 4x the pixels. I play a lot of games at 6880x2880.

Yeah but not everyone has a 2080Ti either my man. But you make a valid point.
 
Top