Mowing over high PPD folders from yesteryear

Agent_N

Gawd
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
607
W.Feather and lassiterb , I'm steaming full speed at you! I can't seem to shake Choder and Xilikon though...If only I could afford a new GPU, and find one in stock!

Screenshot 2020-12-21 191740.png
 

jfb9301

[H]ard DCOTM February 2016
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,652
My lord there are some names from the past in this one..... (I suppose mine too) fired up my GTX1080 SLI rig today.... needed a space heater... Time will tell how long it stays on

Started out with Dual P3 1GHz @ 1.1 and a Couple C2 600s @900 (under rated overclocker that one as good as the venerable Celery 300 @ 450)

I should probably update my sig, 2 of those 3 boxen are DOA, killed by years of overclocking and folding. I got tired of the big electric bills, an air conditioner that couldn't keep up, and stacks of dead hardware.
 
Last edited:

jfb9301

[H]ard DCOTM February 2016
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,652
I still haven't heard anyone bring up some of the other whacko stuff we did..... along with that dual P3, I had two Athlon "pizza boxen" running under my bed. Some of us got around the breaker limitation by having a box or two in every room of our house.

http://www.technovelgy.com/graphics/content07/pizza-computer.jpg This is merely an example, not mine. I usually would skip the CD rom except for windows install, the PSU was outside the box, and I would cut a vent for the CPU cooler, and maybe, maybe if I had a spare, put in a fan to ventilate the box. No power switch, two wires to jumper a couple pins with a screwdriver as a power switch.... these things would get me something under 100 PPD, but at the time it was worth it.
pizza-computer.jpg
 

bman212121

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
1,815
I remember Marty. What a guy!

I bought two complete boxen from Marty ready to plug in and start folding. They had everything except for a keyboard, mouse, and monitor.

Both caught fire and let out the magic smoke within 10 minutes of folding at home.

Not sure how old you're talking, but it's possible those were non active PFC PSUs and he flipped the switches to 220V to get around breaker limitations and sent them to you like that. I've never attempted that but it's possible that would work temporarily before the "undervoltage" caused them to flake out.
 

jebo_4jc

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
14,555
I still haven't heard anyone bring up some of the other whacko stuff we did..... along with that dual P3, I had two Athlon "pizza boxen" running under my bed. Some of us got around the breaker limitation by having a box or two in every room of our house.

http://www.technovelgy.com/graphics/content07/pizza-computer.jpg This is merely an example, not mine. I usually would skip the CD rom except for windows install, the PSU was outside the box, and I would cut a vent for the CPU cooler, and maybe, maybe if I had a spare, put in a fan to ventilate the box. No power switch, two wires to jumper a couple pins with a screwdriver as a power switch.... these things would get me something under 100 PPD, but at the time it was worth it.View attachment 317368
Ah. The pizza boxen. Legendary.

I still spread boxen around the house. HTPC, gaming pc, server, all in different rooms with multi core CPUs and gaming GPUs. For the pernts.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x4
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,350
I also have rigs spread around the house. 2 in the entryway where i have the front door cracked. 4 in my main living space (window in kitchen cracked) and 1 that i keep in the bedroom. This makes my place nice and toasty all winter.

Speaking of "mowing down high ppd folders" I don't run F@home very often in favor of doing other boinc, but I see that I have slipped to the second page of stats. I will be recitfying that this month with the upcoming contest, so those that passed me will have to watch their 6 ;)
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,455
I've consolidated to 2 rigs each with 2 gpu's. While I don't need to run air con to cool the house in summer, electric costs where I live are really steep and the house is till on its original 1960's wiring, having a couple of kilowatts coming out of one double socket is probably not a good idea :eek::eek:.

As soon as gpu's become availabe there will be some upgrades as I notice I have slipped down the top 20 daily production chart
 

Toconator

Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
736
Ah yes, the pizza boxen. I never had one but I did have an AMD X4 mounted on a mobo tray (removed from a case I junked) perched precariously on a stack of cardboard boxes in the corner of my office. Naked and headless with the 2.5" HDD hanging by its wires over the side, it folded until the mobo went flaky. I used to have rigs all over like you motqalden but I had to consolidate MYSELF into a tiny 3 room place in late '18. BR, 1/2 bath with shower and a 'main' room with kitchenette in one corner, my computer desk in next corner and on wall opposite my home theatre setup. With all 3 rigs now in this small space AND a 60" wall of plasma it gets plenty toasty in here while folding. The Server is always running CPU boinc projects and all are GPU folding at present, at least until I reach 1B and probably mow over rhavern in a coupla weeks. Then I'll prob take the 1070Ti off constant folding and steer the Server at GPUGrid again. I can have the small slider window with Alberta winter ice coating one side wide open just to keep from sweating in my chair. It's hitting the $$ too and we've been in lockdown for weeks again so i'm gonna have to cut back soon. Happy New Year [H]orde !
 

Endgame

Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
789
I've consolidated to 2 rigs each with 2 gpu's. While I don't need to run air con to cool the house in summer, electric costs where I live are really steep and the house is till on its original 1960's wiring, having a couple of kilowatts coming out of one double socket is probably not a good idea :eek::eek:.

As soon as gpu's become availabe there will be some upgrades as I notice I have slipped down the top 20 daily production chart
60s wiring is probably ok - my house was built in 64 and it all checked out via electrician. What you really need to watch out for is wiring from the early 40s - copper rations mean aluminum wiring with cloth wrapping at some points. I skipped putting an offer on a house due to this very reason - it needed to be entirely rewired and it had plaster walls...
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x4
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,350
Ah yes, the pizza boxen. I never had one but I did have an AMD X4 mounted on a mobo tray (removed from a case I junked) perched precariously on a stack of cardboard boxes in the corner of my office. Naked and headless with the 2.5" HDD hanging by its wires over the side, it folded until the mobo went flaky. I used to have rigs all over like you motqalden but I had to consolidate MYSELF into a tiny 3 room place in late '18. BR, 1/2 bath with shower and a 'main' room with kitchenette in one corner, my computer desk in next corner and on wall opposite my home theatre setup. With all 3 rigs now in this small space AND a 60" wall of plasma it gets plenty toasty in here while folding. The Server is always running CPU boinc projects and all are GPU folding at present, at least until I reach 1B and probably mow over rhavern in a coupla weeks. Then I'll prob take the 1070Ti off constant folding and steer the Server at GPUGrid again. I can have the small slider window with Alberta winter ice coating one side wide open just to keep from sweating in my chair. It's hitting the $$ too and we've been in lockdown for weeks again so i'm gonna have to cut back soon. Happy New Year [H]orde !

Lol don't' assume just because i "spread out" in different rooms that i have a lot of space. I have a basement suite which is around 400sq feet. I can reach out from my desk chair and turn off the stove and if i back up my chair too far i hit my couch! Shit gets really warm fast. Pretty much entry hallway, Main area which is kitchen / office / Livingroom , then a small bathroom and bedroom. I have 2200w of computers sitting in 4 boxes to my right so having the air moving around in here is key!
 

Toconator

Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
736
Lol don't' assume just because i "spread out" in different rooms that i have a lot of space. I have a basement suite which is around 400sq feet. I can reach out from my desk chair and turn off the stove and if i back up my chair too far i hit my couch! Shit gets really warm fast. Pretty much entry hallway, Main area which is kitchen / office / Livingroom , then a small bathroom and bedroom. I have 2200w of computers sitting in 4 boxes to my right so having the air moving around in here is key!
Ha! Well I'm not close enuff to the stove for that but it'd be nice if I was from the fridge - easier to get beer. Eh maybe not, wouldn't get as much exercise if it wasn't for coffee and beer fetching during these lockdowns. I do however just swivel my gaming chair 135 degrees and move about 2 feet and I'm smack-dab in the sweet spot for my home theater. Couldn't fit my couch down the stairwell and around and thru the hall door and ceilings too low to do the tilt-swivel. Even if I could I'd have to put it so close to the TV that I'd be getting a tan in the glow of the plasma. Love the plasmas for sports (am I glad the Steelers lost!) but damn they put out the heat. 2 weeks out from mowing rhavern and I remember him mowing me back in the day. Just under 2 weeks for 1B pernts.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,455
60s wiring is probably ok - my house was built in 64 and it all checked out via electrician. What you really need to watch out for is wiring from the early 40s - copper rations mean aluminum wiring with cloth wrapping at some points. I skipped putting an offer on a house due to this very reason - it needed to be entirely rewired and it had plaster walls...
Well, I'm in the UK so all sorts of shenanigans were going on, houses were built on the cheap and as quickly as possible. I had a pipe go on the heating system a couple of years ago. It turns out all the heating pipes were made out of mild steel so they all need to come out and be replaced!

The whole house is getting rewired either later this year or early next as soon as funds are there and the asbestos has been removed from the ceilings :mad:
 
Top