Moving VMs from workstation 12 to vmware fusion on my macbook asks to reactivate

Discussion in 'Virtualized Computing' started by holden j caufield, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. holden j caufield

    holden j caufield Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Moving my vms win7 from my desktop to my laptop does not ask to reactivate. But if I move it from my desktop to my macbook vmware fusion it does ask to reactivate.

    Nevermind I accidentally clicked copy instead of moved. Funny is it changing the UID?
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  2. Dytralis

    Dytralis Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    358
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    the mac address changes if you copy and I'm pretty sure that's one of the triggers for reactivation
     
  3. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Also the hardware abstract layer is prob different between windows and MAC, so that's probably the primary reason,