Motorola SURFboard Gateway SBG6580

Cod

Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2003
Messages
642
Since the new cable company won't let me use my SB6141, I need to pick up a new cable modem. One that works with Oceanic TWC is the new SBG6580. It has wireless built-in; however, I don't want to use it. Is it possible to use this modem and leave the wireless off? Or does the wireless automatically turn-on whenever the modem is on?

With all that said, is the built-in wireless any good? I recently purchased an ASUS RT-56 and would prefer using it to some built-in system.
 

Ehren8879

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
4,385
Does a SB6121 work?

Or Arris CM820 ?


But to answer your question the wireless isn't terrible and can be disabled in the SB6580 admin gui
 

SirMaster

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
2,122
I have a SBG6580 on TWC as well. It's a solid modem. It's great at well, being a modem. I haven't really used the wireless or internal routing.

You can go into the admin page and turn off the wireless and set the SBG6580 to "Rg Passthrough" and connect one of it's 4 ports into the WAN port on your router and use the SBG6580 as just a modem.
 
Last edited:

Skripka

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
10,792
The wireless on TWC isn't turned on, on TWC, unless you pay TWC a monthly wifi fee. IME.

You can't turn the wifi in the modem on for love or money unless you're paying TWC a few bucks a month extra.
 

Ehren8879

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
4,385
The wireless on TWC isn't turned on, on TWC, unless you pay TWC a monthly wifi fee. IME.

You can't turn the wifi in the modem on for love or money unless you're paying TWC a few bucks a month extra.

That's shady. I guess TWC locks you out of that part of the gui.

Lame.
 

SirMaster

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
2,122
That's shady. I guess TWC locks you out of that part of the gui.

Lame.

Hmm, they didn't lock me out of the UI. I can turn it on and off at will. I did use it for a couple days before I got my router and then I shut it off. They never charged me or anything.
 

Skripka

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
10,792
Hmm, they didn't lock me out of the UI. I can turn it on and off at will. I did use it for a couple days before I got my router and then I shut it off. They never charged me or anything.

I'm not entirely locked out of the UI in the config page of the modem...but I'm Unable to enable the "Primary Network" in the Wireless>Primary Network page of the config settings (the "disabled" is greyed out). My local TWC is happy to turn on the WiFi in the modem for $2-3/month. I'd like to have one less box on my desk, but not for $2-3/month when I already have other wifi hardware....if anyone knows how to turn on the wifi I'm all ears, but with the "Primary Network" disabled it is a no-go within my knowledge.

New SBG6580 hardware v2 from TWC
 

SirMaster

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
2,122
I'm not entirely locked out of the UI in the config page of the modem...but I'm Unable to enable the "Primary Network" in the Wireless>Primary Network page of the config settings (the "disabled" is greyed out). My local TWC is happy to turn on the WiFi in the modem for $2-3/month. I'd like to have one less box on my desk, but not for $2-3/month when I already have other wifi hardware....if anyone knows how to turn on the wifi I'm all ears, but with the "Primary Network" disabled it is a no-go within my knowledge.

New SBG6580 hardware v2 from TWC

Try factory resetting the modem :p I think I had done that in the past and that might be why my options aren't locked out.
 

Skripka

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
10,792
Try factory resetting the modem :p I think I had done that in the past and that might be why my options aren't locked out.

Factory reset does nada. TBH I gave up on it and just use my old Wifi router anyway.
 

Ehren8879

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
4,385
The gui is either locked down via firmware or the config file pushed to the modem from your isp. If it's config file based, youre not gonna get around it. Firmware is pretty much unable to be altered as well.
 

Cod

Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2003
Messages
642
Thanks for all the feedback. So, in the end, is the SBG6580 a worthwhile upgrade over the standard TWC loner modems? BTW, I cannot get a SB6121 since its not compatible with the "speed plan" I purchased. I was informed only the SB6141 and SGB6580 would be compatible.

Any of y'all using Oceanic TWC in Hawaii?
 
Top