Motherboard for Ryzen 5 3400g? B450 or X370?

Valeny

n00b
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
5
Hi, i am building my first pc. Which of these two motherboards should i get for Ryzen 5 3400g? (Don't recommend me another brand or model, these are the two available in my country, because of warranty, price, etc)
My PC: Ryzen 5 3400g, 2x8 RAM 3200MHz, 1 TB HDD.

The options:
I don't have dedicated GPU for the moment. I pretend in the future do OC, put a dedicated GPU, maybe add RAM, upgrade the processor, put a SSD, etc.

The X370 has better OC than the B450, right? is worth it buy the x370 only for this?
The B450 "get older better" than the x370? I want to upgrade as late as possible
Aclaration: I think the BIOS won't be a problem, because the store update it to me, so...
What do you think? The price is pretty the same.
I am a little bit more on B450, but i am pretty noob in this, so..

Thanks!
 
Last edited:

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,717
Me personally if I had to choose between those 2 boards, I would opt for the B450, it's the newer board, and makers have leanred from the initial 300 series board launch issues.
 

HAL_404

Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Messages
961
Me personally if I had to choose between those 2 boards, I would opt for the B450, it's the newer board, and makers have leanred from the initial 300 series board launch issues.

yup ... unless you plan to run two graphics cards (SLI / Crossfire) then get a X470
 
Last edited:

lukart

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
200
Me personally if I had to choose between those 2 boards, I would opt for the B450, it's the newer board, and makers have leanred from the initial 300 series board launch issues.

Not only that, the B450 offers the new AMD boost that is missing on the 300 series.
Check the B450 Pro4, is already pretty good mobo and reasonably priced.
 

p05ta1

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
348
make sure the cpu will work on the motherboard.
I am building my dad new pc . He got a B450-plus and a Ryzen 5 3600x.
Only way to get system to boot is wait for a boot recovery kit from AMD.
we are lacking a older Ryzen chip in house to flash bios.
 

Wooshoo

Weaksauce
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
107
make sure the cpu will work on the motherboard.
I am building my dad new pc . He got a B450-plus and a Ryzen 5 3600x.
Only way to get system to boot is wait for a boot recovery kit from AMD.
we are lacking a older Ryzen chip in house to flash bios.
This might not be a problem since the 3400g is the Zen+ architecture. But it is something to keep in mind. As far as boards go the b450 motherboards do have a lot of bugs worked out compared to the x370s.
 

p05ta1

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
348
i have a prime x370 pro running with rayen 7 1700..at my kids apartment 1 hour from here,
works well, but i see no point stripping it down to see if it will work when AMD will send a A6 apu free to get it to fully boot free.
It will save me a large trip and his works great!
 

pitingres

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2018
Messages
144
Definitely B450. The X370 has no real advantage, it's a low end board with the same number of slots and ports as the B450.

Unless you get an updated board, you'll have to do the BIOS update even though 3400G is Zen+; I doubt that the older BIOSes will recognize the CPU ID.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
23,474
Definitely B450. The X370 has no real advantage, it's a low end board with the same number of slots and ports as the B450.

Unless you get an updated board, you'll have to do the BIOS update even though 3400G is Zen+; I doubt that the older BIOSes will recognize the CPU ID.
yup. according to their site the 3400g require bios v F40 and it only 4 versions old.

if op is buying local, they dont say, they should ask them to update it for them.
 

xrc

n00b
Joined
Apr 5, 2020
Messages
4
Hi, i am building my first pc. Which of these two motherboards should i get for Ryzen 5 3400g? (Don't recommend me another brand or model, these are the two available in my country, because of warranty, price, etc)
My PC: Ryzen 5 3400g, 2x8 RAM 3200MHz, 1 TB HDD.

The options:
I don't have dedicated GPU for the moment. I pretend in the future do OC, put a dedicated GPU, maybe add RAM, upgrade the processor, put a SSD, etc.

The X370 has better OC than the B450, right? is worth it buy the x370 only for this?
The B450 "get older better" than the x370? I want to upgrade as late as possible
Aclaration: I think the BIOS won't be a problem, because the store update it to me, so...
What do you think? The price is pretty the same.
I am a little bit more on B450, but i am pretty noob in this, so..

Thanks!
+1 for the B450M
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
922
I have a Gigabyte AB350M - DS3H which has an x370 chipset , I flashed the board to run 3000 series and it has a water cooled Ryzen 5 3600 in auto overclock mode and it clocks like a 3600x on that x370 chipset .
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,231
Not only that, the B450 offers the new AMD boost that is missing on the 300 series.
Check the B450 Pro4, is already pretty good mobo and reasonably priced.

all of them support the updated boost functions. it's part of the agesa code.


either way i'd go with the b450 over the x370.. some of the teething issues x370 had still were never completely fixable but don't exist with b450 and for the price b450's hard to beat when you get 95% of the same functions as x370 without some of the headaches. just remember to do your research on the VRM's for that board in case you plan to upgrade the cpu to something more high end later on down the road. it's possible you might run into power limit/temp issues on the vrm's with something like the 3900x or what ever ends up replacing it in the zen 3(ryzen 4000) lineup of cpu's. also recommend researching whether or not gigabyte or that retailer is shipping that board ryzen 3000 ready. gigabyte switched over most of their board manufacturing to the new bios about 6 months ago but possible that could be older stock and not be updated.
 

p05ta1

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
348
AMD bootkit so far has been a easy process.
Took maybe 4 days to set up , emailed copy of recipt, pic of cpu and motherboard.
Shipped to me FEdEX and free shipping back.
still waiting for it to arrive.
 
Top