More Ryzen Motherboards On Display at CES 2017

Discussion in 'AMD MoBos' started by HardOCP News, Jan 5, 2017.

  1. HardOCP News

    HardOCP News [H] News

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Ron Perillo over at Modders Inc. snapped a handful of pictures of these MSI Ryzen motherboards on display while wandering the floor at CES 2017. According to Ron, there is a lot of excitement around these boards at the event.
     
    razor1 and MikeTrike like this.
  2. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,633
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    First pic is all ASRock boards
     
  3. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Looks like they voided the warrantee- on their website that is. Couldn't find much on the link. Well, it;s official, I'm blind.
     
  4. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,237
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    So Ryzen must be in the hands of the motherboard manufacturers which means an imminent launch, right?
     
  5. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    What's the ETA for getting these with appropriate CPU's on [H] benches? Any word?
     
  6. Burticus

    Burticus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,104
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    What are we looking at, like another 6 months until mainstream availability?
     
  7. wirerogue

    wirerogue Circle Jerkin'

    Messages:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    the white and black board appears to have an intel logo on it. hmmm....
     
    schlitzbull likes this.
  8. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,191
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Nice, a Taichi version of the Asrock AM4 board. I will be sure to buy that one when it comes available. It may replace my X99 Taichi.
     
  9. Formula.350

    Formula.350 Gawd

    Messages:
    666
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    lol Damn... I wanted to be the one to point out that curious tidbit! :(


    And yea, I also couldn't find a single thing on their website regarding these pics, so who knows what's going on.
     
  10. Teenyman45

    Teenyman45 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,612
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Needs "moar" SATA on those boards. The amount of of more will really depend in the number of PCIe lane that can be sacrificed to the M.2 slots.

    With 4 SSDs, a RAID 1 general backup, and a blu ray drive I'm already over the 6 SATA limit.
     
  11. thefordmccord

    thefordmccord [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,054
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    I'm hoping it has an Intel network chipset. That would make me happy.
     
    MikeTrike likes this.
  12. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    That's generally an easy fix though...

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,237
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    These boards are about as useful as a chocolate teapot without a Ryzen chip.
     
  14. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    I thought the AM3+ chip would work on these boards.
     
  15. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,237
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    But who's going to be so foolish as to buy an AM3+ chip?
     
  16. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    I'd consider it... As a temporary/transitional CPU...

    upload_2017-1-5_17-35-2.png

    That TDP though... I'm no longer considering it.

    I'll wait...

    upload_2017-1-5_17-36-35.png
     
  17. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    19,334
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    soon tm... in the other motherboard article kyle said he already has his water cooling setup ready to go if/when he gets a ryzen chip so probably a month or two maybe??

    AM4 is dual channel DDR4 so am3+ will not work on it since the cpu's only support DDR3. consider AM3+ chips officially retired as the mistake AMD wants to forget they ever made.

    i think the standard for years from AMD has been to only have 6 sata ports. although since they'll still have legacy PCI support at least i can still use my pci sata card which will had 4 more ports for things i don't care about raw performance on.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
  18. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    I am using a 6300 as we speak. 80 bucks last year.
     
  19. rezerekted

    rezerekted 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
  20. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News

    Messages:
    15,766
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
  21. Formula.350

    Formula.350 Gawd

    Messages:
    666
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Not as far as I know, just Carrizo (Bristol-Ridge) was going to be, as a stop-gap, since it has a DDR4 controller. (Which is how AM4 systems through vendors like Dell and HP have been available for a few months already.)

    Naw. My MSI A88X-G45-GAMING has 8 ports and it isn't through an add-on chip (at least I'm 99% sure it isn't, the website doesn't state it as being)
    From what I'm seeing, none of the X370 boards have PCI, and I don't believe any of the X350s did either. Though, I think one of the 320/300 models did, but given as they lack overclocking, that sorta kills it for most of us :p
     
  22. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    19,334
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    it's really going to depend on the market they're being sold in but we'll probably see more with pci slots, although every amd board i've had that has had more than 6 sata ports has always had the extra ports on a seperate sata controller but i completely skipped the bulldozer fiasco so i don't know how it was done on those boards.
     
  23. TheLAWNoob

    TheLAWNoob Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    I clicked on the pic on the mobile news page. The ad was clearer than the pic of the mobos.

    Zooming in made it worse.