Monster Banana Plugs won't fit

Oohah

Weaksauce
Hello,

I'm a complete audio/ht noob so please bare with me :eek:

I tried to hook up some speakers (POLK AUDIO RTi5) to my receiver (DENON AVR-591) using 16gauge wires and MONSTER banana plugs,,, but guess what? the banana plugs won't fit into my receiver! They are just too big. Do banana plugs come in different sizes? If so, what size would work with my receiver?

Or would I just be better off using regular speaker wiring? I was told that there is no difference between banana plugs and regular speaker wiring as far as sound quality.

Thanks for replying!

Yea there can be different size banana plugs.

The only real advantage to banana plugs in convenient. Makes plugging in and swapping speaker wires, etc much much easier since you don't have to twist caps, etc.

And you can definitely find cheaper stuff than Monster...it's all hype and very rarely delivers anything special.

They should fit, just know they they are going to be a very snug fit. So the first time you plug them into something it might take a little more force. Although use some caution, if you have to brace yourself to try to plug it in, it's probably not going in. When I got my new Monster component cables I remember having to use a big more push than normal to get them in but they weren't going to accidentally fall out. Another option, if your speakers have banana terminals on the back, plug them in and take them out of those a couple times to work the banana plug tips in a little bit. Speaker terminals are a little more sturdy than receiver terminals.

And yes, Monster is a lot of hype at least to the eye. On specialized meters and instruments they might show the difference, but the eyes can't see it. At least in my opinion and I used to use nothing but monster, now I use nothing but monoprice. Usually like 1/10th the price and 100 percent of the visual and audio quality that I can notice. Audio/videophiles might say differently.