Microsoft Office 2013 Joke

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Wrench00, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. Wrench00

    Wrench00 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,423
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Nickel and diming our way to the cloud

    Office retail licenses could... up until 2013 ... be moved from computer to computer.

    Apparently...not any more. Check out the 2013 retail EULA:

    Office 2013 Software License Agreement - Office Watch:
    http://news.office-watch.com/t/n.aspx?a=1782
    Under our license we grant you the right to install and run that one
    copy on one computer (the licensed computer) for use by one person at a
    time, but only if you comply with all the terms of this agreement. Our
    software license is permanently assigned to the licensed computer
    You may not transfer the software to another computer or user.



    No point in retail just buy OEM. MS is really desperate for people to sign up for their cloud dream.
     
  2. Chrisroman

    Chrisroman Gawd

    Messages:
    692
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    I think retail still gives you 1 computer + 1 laptop install (in practice at least). And of course you can change hardware as much as you want. OEM is more restrictive, but I understand your point.
     
  3. Globox

    Globox Gawd

    Messages:
    1,013
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    the cloud seems rather stormy as of late... this is doomed to fail
    we don't even have the bandwidth for this BS
     
  4. Ticker305

    Ticker305 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,077
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    fiber optic cable, your our only hope
     
  5. Globox

    Globox Gawd

    Messages:
    1,013
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    good thing google is actually working on this
     
  6. SheHateMe

    SheHateMe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Meh, I'll stick to Office 2010 until the wheels fall off.
     
  7. scaarbelly

    scaarbelly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,462
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    This.

    Someday there might actually be enough bandwidth for the cloud, but there sure as hell isn't the bandwidth or isp reliability yet.
     
  8. Spades45

    Spades45 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    139
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    people still upgrade MS office?
     
  9. Monkey34

    Monkey34 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,031
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Nope. Depending on the rig, I'm still using 2002, 2003, 2007, Kingsoft, or Open Office.

    I think they're pretty much only getting new buyers who have never had it before. I can't see any reason to need an upgrade.
     
  10. Darq

    Darq n00b

    Messages:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Powerpoint is what keeps people upgrading. 2010 was the first powerpoint that supported video backgrounds, for instance. But yea...this is stupid. I understand 1 concurrent user...but why lock it to a single machine?
     
  11. collegeboy69us

    collegeboy69us [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,257
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Great so instead of 600 dollars -- we get to pay what? 100 bucks a year or some crap like that?

    I've never paid for a version of office because you can find so many alternatives that don't cost an arm and a leg. Besides, why shell out 600 dollars every 3 years when the older versions work just fine?

    You could do everything you need in any office environment on Office 2007, I'll be rocking Office 2010 for quite some time since I rarely use it as it is.
     
  12. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,803
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    I had office 2013 installed for a few days, then installed it.

    Visio 2013 is horrible, all flat graphics like metro, don't like it at all right now
     
  13. d.v.

    d.v. Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    219
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    i'm in the IT field and it's so funny how people jump to the newest version so quickly when from what i've seen people doing in these office applications, openoffice would suffice and it's free. i'm pretty sure at least 95% of the users barely use more than 10% of what the software can truly do. the worse excuse i've heard from moving to 2013: "i like the new look"... goodness?!
     
  14. mls1995

    mls1995 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,272
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Doing the same, except with 2007 (which works fine in Win 8 by the way)
     
  15. mls1995

    mls1995 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,272
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Good to hear it, just installed Open Office for my Dad's work computer
     
  16. d.v.

    d.v. Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    219
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    you're welcome, openoffice is pretty awesome on its own. i use it wherever i don't have ms office.
     
  17. Quicksilver_

    Quicksilver_ Gawd

    Messages:
    988
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Office is an absolute pain to deal with for licensing. Trying to remember how many licenses are required for Office itself per computer, with Exchange and the extra licenses required to run it on a remote desktop environment :S
     
  18. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,803
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    You need one license per user for Office
    If using exchange you need one Exchange user CAL per user
    For RDP you need one RDP Service CAL
    For the user to begin with you need one Windows CAL

    Not that hard really, try getting into SPLA and Citrix CSP and VMWare service provider licensing, then it gets confusing, Office is the easiest to license lol
     
  19. RandemTox

    RandemTox Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Oh ... the Visio 2013 changes are far worse than just having moved to flat graphics ... at least if you ever use Visio for UML or Data modeling; those features have been completely deprecated.

    Oddly, they tout that the UML diagrams are now UML 2.4 compliant ... great ... shame there's no intelligence or semantic awareness behind any of the shapes anymore. You can't even meaningfully work with 2010 UML/Data model documents you already have.

    So in addition to a 20% price hike, much of the functionality of the "Pro" version has been downgraded to be equivalent to Visio 2010 Standard. Nice!
     
  20. 4Strings

    4Strings n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    I still use Office 2003 on my Win7 desktop, on my Win8 Laptop, and I will be using it on the new Win8 desktop that I'm building next week... :)
    Upgrading Office = :(
     
  21. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,803
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    I didn't even get that far with it. I loaded it, did one detailed network drawing which was a pain with the new graphics and connectors. Then found out I could not open some 2010 visio's I had and it got uninstalled. Thank goodness it was action pack and not purchased lol
     
  22. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,780
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    It specifically says under "Retail License" that you cannot transfer.

    Also, the portable computer +computer deal was specifically pointed out in the license agreement that you could do that. It no longer is.
     
  23. D-EJ915

    D-EJ915 Gawd

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Been using 2013 for a bit and the biggest annoyance is Word opens attachments or docs opened by other users in that terrible read-only view. I haven't bothered to see if you can disable it though.

    I like the Outlook interface a lot more and my friend likes that it now spell checks the subject line automatically.


    Sucks about the licensing but I'm not the one paying for it.
     
  24. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,780
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Try File->Options->Trust Center->Trust Center Settings->Protected View ... uncheck everything.
     
  25. zombielando

    zombielando Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    143
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    "You may not transfer the software to another computer or user."

    What do they define as "another computer"? I upgrade my computer failrly often - at what point does it stop being the original computer? When every part has been upgraded/changed?

    Really what a silly way to word things. Beyond ambiguous and undoubtably on purpose.
     
  26. athlon1.2

    athlon1.2 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,489
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    What they mean is you have two working computers and you uninstall it from one computer where it's currently installed and then install it on another.

    Or of your computer breaks and you go to the computer store and buy an entirely new computer and throw away the old one then you would also need to buy a new copy of Office.

    But if you upgrade your current computer, or if you repair your current computer then you do not have to buy a new copy of office, unless THE EULA AND NOT SOME OTHER DOCUMENT says that replacing a component such as the CPU or motherboard requires you to purchase a new copy.