Meraki MX64 or Sophos UTM9 or Pfsense

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Burner27, May 16, 2017 at 1:51 PM.

  1. Burner27

    Burner27 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,829
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Currently at the 300/20 level for internet speeds from Spectrum. I would like to use the best possible router I can. I have the current hardware available to me:

    Cisco Meraki MX64 (Got this free for attending a webinar) Yes, I know it is limited to 250Mbps download. Comes with 3yr advanced license - meaning everything is enabled

    Or use pfsense or Sophos UTM9 on the following hardware (yes i know it is overkill)

    I7-6700K
    Gigabyte GA-Z170N Gaming 5 mobo
    16GB DDR4-2400
    256GB Intel 6 m.2 SSD (yes I know it is NVMe)

    I want to use content filtering/IPS/Application filtering (probably eliminates pfsense just on that), and country blocking

    I think it would be between Sophos and the MX64 based on the above criteria but not sure if it is a colossal waste of resources running it on that hardware or not.


    Opinions/advice are welcome.

    Thank you!
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017 at 3:13 PM
  2. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,743
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I would use the Meraki, in my opinion. It's going to be perfectly quiet and not use much power and the management is awesome.
     
  3. 6foot4geek

    6foot4geek [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
  4. Burner27

    Burner27 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,829
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    I appreciate the votes but why the Meraki? The others arent good enough?
     
  5. 6foot4geek

    6foot4geek [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Because it will do what you are trying to do and do it well. The hardware you have is pretty overkill for a pfsense box and I think you'll run into things you want to do with a pfsense box that it 1. wont do 2. cant do very easily
    For Sophos, I just don't know too much about it. I have used Meraki for awhile so it's just a safe bet. All the things you want to do I know the Meraki does well.

    Also I'm assuming you wont miss that 50mbps too much :)
     
  6. Burner27

    Burner27 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,829
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000

    I can hit 350Mbps with the Pfsense box though. So I'll be missing that 100Mbps........

    I agree with you regarding pfsense. Although very stable, if I want to do certain things--like you said, it cant do or wont do easily.

    If i could get Sophos to run on that HW that would be sweet....
     
  7. 6foot4geek

    6foot4geek [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    but you only have 300mbps currently? or are you talking about throughput vs download speeds?

    I'd be willing to bet that Sophos will run on that hardware, I think they have a trial you can give a shot if you are that interested in checking it out. also something to consider, how much is the licensing for Sophos UTM?
     
  8. Burner27

    Burner27 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,829
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Sorry, I meant download speeds. I exceed the rate i pay for. Sophos gets stuck at 66% on that hardware and never completes the install. It has to do with a VGA port not being present.
     
  9. Burner27

    Burner27 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,829
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Did a test. Installed pfsense on the hardware I have above and i get 350 down/23 up.
    Installed the Meraki, and got 250 down/23 up.

    Default settings used for both. No content filter/bandwidth shaping/Application control was enabled.

    Overall experience so far......

    Family complained that Netflix and other channels on the Roku loaded steams slower when the Meraki was in place.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2017 at 12:40 PM
  10. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,743
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    That wouldn't really make sense - 1080p streams on Netflix are 3mbps. If you had success with the pfSense and you are getting what you want out of it, then I would just run with that.
     
  11. VRT

    VRT Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    +1 for the Meraki, we use their products extensively and they perform flawlessly and you aren't going to have problems with it.
     
    Cmustang87 likes this.
  12. Burner27

    Burner27 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,829
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000

    Let me clarify the Netflix comment. Family states it takes longer for Netflix to start up and movies to play using the Meraki vs using pfSense. I would continue to use pfSense, but am not sure if I could do better (Sophos UTM/Meraki)??
     
  13. sybreeder

    sybreeder Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    For Meraki to work you need always to have active subscription. If you decide no to pay - all your meraki devices will become useless.
    So..The technology is generally nice but if you want to have set it and forget it setup - it's not for you.

    You could use Sophos UTM 9 Home - free version. Lacks some settings. I've tested it myself. definitely more difficult to setup.
     
  14. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,743
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    This is a fair, quick rundown.
     
  15. Burner27

    Burner27 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,829
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    If I could get it to install on the hardware i listed above I'd be all over it. pfSense is the only one of those 2 that'll run on it. Perhaps the Sophos guys can update their code to make it work.