MacBook Air 11" with 27" TFT as workstation?

Discussion in 'Apple Products' started by cv643d, Nov 16, 2010.

1. cv643d

cv643d Limp Gawd

Hi guys,

Thinking about getting the MB Air 11" with 4GB mem, 1.4 GHz and using it as a workstation with the 27" screen. So small I can take it to bed or couch for browsing when I do not work.

I mostly browse the web, running Spotify, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, sometimes Flash, I am a web developer so need XAMPP like package, text editor etc. Nothing heavy I guess.

Need to run XP to get IE6/7/8 but maybe not all day long.

But I really like to be able to run Photoshop and DW (I dont run DW often these days though) in the background all day long on my quad core system without performance penalty. These Q6600 4 core CPU's are awesome, I never felt the system slowed down no matter how hard I pushed it in Windows apps other than harddrive slowing some things down.

So I am a bit afraid 11" Air is going to feel slow when running many applications, should I be that afraid when I experienced elite four quad experience?

Last edited: Nov 16, 2010
  2. silentcoercion

silentcoercion Limp Gawd

3. cv643d

cv643d Limp Gawd

I dont do video editing, if uploading a video from my x10 mini to YouTube does not count?

Only PS work I do is web-stuff, and throwing like 40 3MB files inside PS at once to adjust lightning etc. Nothing too heavy, talk me out of it please :)

4. jrdonnaruma

jrdonnaruma Gawd

Photoshop is one of the few apps that is very processor intensive, the 1.4 Ghz processor is going to choke on that many images. One, maybe two at a time, might not be a problem, but much more than that will be a PITA to handle. You would be better off looking into a 13" Macbook Pro.

For the rest of your work though, the MBA would be fine.

5. Verge

Verge [H]ardness Supreme

The 11 MBA is for itunes and web browsing.... ONLY.

Everything is slow on those 1.4 processors.... a workstation, you have to be kidding.

6. KaosDG