M2 sooner than we think(Jan/Feb 2006)?

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by BrainDanceR, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
  2. FreiDOg

    FreiDOg [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,456
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Yea but one board can run a 3800+ NewCastle or a 4800+ X2.
    1 board, ~20 months on top, you'd be hard pressed to find a socket in the last 6 years or so that did any better.
     
  3. Rabidfox

    Rabidfox Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    282
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    I never understood why people whine about buying a $100 ~ $150 mobo when buying a $500 ~ $1000 chip. Same thing with ultra high end vid cards, if you want the best, you're probably going to have to pay for it. It's a whole new memory standard, of course it'll need a new mobo, same thing with PCI-X and AGP, there were architectural changes made to vid cards and they required more power.

    I don't even know how many times I've had to swap out faulty mobos because of shitty leaky capacitors, they weren't made to last, they were made to work with ONE(1) generation of chips, that AMD was gratious enough to make dual core chips available on the same socket was amazing. Don't expect that every time.
     
  4. Chickan

    Chickan Gawd

    Messages:
    912
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    I completely agree. And since I'm always about a year or two behind the times, I think I'll finally ditch my 2600xp-m system and go s939 in about March, just after m2 hits the stands :)
     
  5. Highendtoys

    Highendtoys Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    152
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
  6. afropuff

    afropuff Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    448
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Until dual cores show major gains in games over single cores at same speeds, I won't bother with them.

    -fro
     
  7. brycejones

    brycejones [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,372
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    But they kick butt for folding. ;) And for doing more than one thing at time.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  8. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    interesting how the fx-60 is the same price as the 57. makes me think the 60 is 2.6ghz dual core while the 5000+ will be a 2x512kb part. dunno what would be the main incentive to go fx over the 5000+ then. :confused:
     
  9. Rabidfox

    Rabidfox Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    282
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    You have a point on the pricing issue, it might make sense, seeing that the FX series has always advanced by two's on odd numbers, 53/55/57. Throwing a 60 into the mix doesn't make sense, unless they're dual core with unlocked multi's like the rest of the FX line....hold up....I just got a [H]ard-on over a dual core FX chip, does that make me a silicosexual?
     
  10. HighwayAssassins

    HighwayAssassins [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,210
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    that sucks...i wanted to have 939 be the top dog for at least 8-9 more mos!.
     
  11. Obi_Kwiet

    Obi_Kwiet 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,858
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Intel tried to do that with the 3.2 GHz P4. Look what happend to them.
     
  12. afropuff

    afropuff Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    448
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    hmmmm..

    That is odd...

    How do they OC on stock air? and how do the Opterons compare to the AMD64 939's?

    -fro
     
  13. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
  14. MC FLMJIG

    MC FLMJIG [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,480
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    I see a lot of ppl using this smartguardian... is that a DFI thing? I can't find it.
     
  15. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    yeah, it's a dfi program that works with their mobo's, kinda like asusprobe
     
  16. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,561
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    You just want DDR2 admit it!
     
  17. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    i will admit it because it's true. i could have a lot of fun playing with ddr2 with a proper rig ;)
     
  18. MC FLMJIG

    MC FLMJIG [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,480
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Heh heh, new memory guide ;)
     
  19. aldamon

    aldamon [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,502
    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    I want M2 just so I can be as obnoxious to 939 owners as they've been to 754 owners. EOL. POS. Mainstream garbage. That kind of thing. That and I want to play with DDR2 just like (cf)Eclipse before something happens in the RAM market and it gets expensive.
     
  20. RaphaelVinceti

    RaphaelVinceti Gawd

    Messages:
    600
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    I hope thats not a bad thing.. I get [H]ard-on over the thought of that damn PhysX chip thats supposed to be coming out... and the 7800GTX... and the thought of a DC FX... damn.. maybe i should just marry my computer...
     
  21. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,561
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    I'm a sadistic PC lover, DIE IHS! DIE!
     
  22. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    It's actually a winbond program that's compatible with any board using that ITE chip.
     
  23. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,561
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    I couldn't see it only working on DFI boards a feasable answer, but I didn't want to look like an idiot if it was true :)
     
  24. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    You have to have balls to disagree with Ozzi.

    Here is a page with info on the chip and program
    http://www.ite.com.tw/product_info/PC/Brief-IT8712_2.asp
     
  25. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,561
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    I concur..

    Anyways, back on topic!
     
  26. FirePhoenixctk

    FirePhoenixctk n00b

    Messages:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    wow its definately good news that it will be coming out sooner rather than later. Hopefully it will outperform 939 by a large bit so that i can justify myself to go m2 rather than 939 and stick out for ddr3.
     
  27. Josh_B

    Josh_B [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,954
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2000
    I beg your pardon? :D
     
  28. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    that made me make waffles ;)
    having used it, assprobe would be a good description for that damn program :(

    however, i'm not seeing much more than a 10% increase in performance from ddr400 to ddr2-667 at best, unless something unexpected happens ;)
    however, with increased clockspeed and increased # of cores, bandwidth and low latency is even more important. hopefully ddr2 will end up being able to fullfill the latter requirement more than it has been lately.
     
  29. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,561
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    I predict better multitasking ;)
     
  30. awdark

    awdark [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,630
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    To M2 or not to M2. (To be honest, I only read the topic)
    Im seriously looking at the 939 A64s but seeing this is on the horizon that probably means I shouldnt go for it. My main thing is Axp->939 I can at least recycle my ram (PC3200) but with the M2, I would have to jump to DDR2... Will there be a significant jump in speeds due to the switch (theoretical one I know its not out) and will it make me feel obsolete the way these A64s make me feel already?
     
  31. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,561
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Will you notice the difference of DDR->DDR2? Probably not.

    But if you're on an Athlon XP.. go for an Opteron 144 and overclock, it's cheap and damn well worth it if you get the CABNE Week 30 stepping, lots are getting 3ghz.
     
  32. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    got you covered ;)
     
  33. Rabidfox

    Rabidfox Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    282
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    I don't think you'll see a performance increase with just the DDR2, not many things (read: realworld apps) are bandwidth bound on the A64. That all changes when you start adding cores to the package. There might be an advantage when A64 dual cores start hitting 3ghz, ddr400 might bottleneck it. DDR2 667 should be good until the jump to quad cores, then I'm assuming they'll use DDR3 whateverspeedtheyneed.
     
  34. MC FLMJIG

    MC FLMJIG [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,480
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Just curious, since I wasn't really around when the 754 1st came out... what was the concensus when socket A was around and 754 was coming out???

    Similar like 939 to m2?


    What about 754-939?
     
  35. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    we loved s754 cause it could hold a64's. 939 was kinda unheard of at the time. ;)
     
  36. needmorecarnitine

    needmorecarnitine [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,604
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    its very different

    The A64s perform a lot better than Athlons. This time the major difference is ddr to ddr2 which should show a small improvement in some applications and probably none (that are noticeable without benchmarking) in lots of them
     
  37. needmorecarnitine

    needmorecarnitine [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,604
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    I agree 100%

    I have never come across someone on the internet (not forums though) that is as wrong as ed. He ends up with the dumbest conclusions from the same info everyone else gets. The logic is missing
     
  38. needmorecarnitine

    needmorecarnitine [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,604
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    I agree with starsfan

    The will make minor revisions and not necessarily even publicize those. I don't know how large the errata list is for the current cpus but thats one good place to start
     
  39. needmorecarnitine

    needmorecarnitine [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,604
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    they aren't changing the process for teh M2s unless they come out towards the end of 2006
     
  40. Chris_Morley

    Chris_Morley Former [H] Consumer Managing Ed.

    Messages:
    3,611
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    I have a strong feeling that we'll see a dual core FX-60.