Low Port Royal score with RTX 3070

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
880
I was just testing out some overclocking on my card and noticed the score was low at only 8029. That is lower than even a stock FE 3070 card gets in reviews so I tested my card stock and got only 7611. For reference the stock FE card gets 8145 in the guru3d reviews. My card performs like it should in other synthetic and game benchmarks so not really worried about it being defective just wondering why this one test would be off. I am using 471.41 drivers if that matters so if anybody else has ran that benchmark lately you could maybe share your results.
 

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
880
Good grief it was the Epic games launcher using 50% of one of my cpu cores and 22% of my gpu. I closed that and my stock score went from 7611 to 8148 and my oced (1950/7500) score went from 8029 to 8546 which is about right... :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

learners permit

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
1,169
Yea that was supposed to be fixed by an update awhile back. Not so much I think. When running fraps if you hover the launcher icon you get an fps readout lol.
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
And even their damn overlay can cause problems. https://hardforum.com/threads/low-g...o-enhacement-edition.2012977/#post-1045107653

I guess the people developing the launcher would be the same clowns who cant even figure out how to make a game engine that does not stutter...
Epic know about that issue and while ago they updated launcher, and its not necesary to delete 2 files from overlay folder now :)


ps:
I reinstalled from start epic launcher but didnt run metro to see if issue with usage exists or not. I will check...
 

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
880
Epic know about that issue and while ago they updated launcher, and its not necesary to delete 2 files from overlay folder now :)


ps:
I reinstalled from start epic launcher but didnt run metro to see if issue with usage exists or not. I will check...
Updated the launcher a while ago? Um you know that was less than 2 weeks ago we had that issue?
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Updated the launcher a while ago? Um you know that was less than 2 weeks ago we had that issue?
I know but somebody on steam forum said that ,epic updated something and should be fine without deleting that 2 overlay files.
I am downloading again Metro Exodus and i will check if really usage is solved.


RodroG 21 August o 21:41

"Hi there. I have good news on this topic. I contacted Epic Games Player Support, and they just confirmed that the issue is finally solved."
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,664
Ok thanks. Why would anyone care about linking to a Steam forum thread?

Anyway Epic will probably break it again at some point as this is not the first time. There really should be a way to turn it off as I have no need for it anyway.
Yeah definitely you re right.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
6
I was just testing out some overclocking on my card and noticed the score was low at only 8029. That is lower than even a stock FE 3070 card gets in reviews so I tested my card stock and got only 7611. For reference the stock FE card gets 8145 in the guru3d reviews. My card performs like it should in other synthetic and game benchmarks so not really worried about it being defective just wondering why this one test would be off. I am using 471.41 drivers if that matters so if anybody else has ran that benchmark lately you could maybe share your results.
noticed the dame thing, but now everything is ok
 
Top