lost data, any possibility of recovery

Discussion in 'General Software' started by xFuryofFivex, Aug 9, 2005.

  1. xFuryofFivex

    xFuryofFivex [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,696
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    I recently had some trouble with flashing my bios.. and my harddrive got erased... is there anyway i can get my data back if i have already formated that partition
     
  2. Zidoas

    Zidoas [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,090
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    yes and no depending if you've written OVER the sectors of your data. Go get yourself a program that reads the sectors on the harddrive. A simple search on www.downloads.com will show some results. I believe I used a program called GetDataBack awhile ago. Worked like a charm.
     
  3. TheMostWantedPolishTwin

    TheMostWantedPolishTwin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,206
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2000
    Ontrack EasyRecovery is a pretty neat app...
     
  4. dirtydr

    dirtydr Gawd

    Messages:
    536
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    I've had good luck recovering data from a formatted hdd with phoenix http://www.stellarinfo.com/partition-recovery.htm

    If at all possible you want to use another drive to boot/install the software/recover to so you dont overwrite the data your trying to save as zidoas mentioned.
     
  5. xFuryofFivex

    xFuryofFivex [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,696
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    alright, im tryin the suggestion that Zdioas mentioned... hopefully that will work...
     
  6. Carnival Forces

    Carnival Forces [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,301
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    this isn't my speciality, but i've heard that there's a Norton app that can help with this...

    someone explain, i think it's if you've low-level formatted (i understand that to mean written over w/ 00000's) then you can't recover, but if you've pseudo-random overwritten you can recover?
     
  7. Zidoas

    Zidoas [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,090
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Basically as long as the sectors on your harddrive that previously stored information haven't been written over it yet, you can recover.

    Formatting eliminates the partitions and boot records on your harddrive. Therefore, if the sectors on the harddrive aren't written over, whatever that were previously stored in those sectors can be recovered.

    I am no Harddrive wiz but that's pretty much all I know how to explain :)
     
  8. xFuryofFivex

    xFuryofFivex [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,696
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Zdioas... that program worked like a charm... retrieved all my lost information.... i give u a golden star for effor...

    im show this to my teacher 2morrow at school.. its a really good program.. wish i had it before this problem

    thanks bro
     
  9. Zidoas

    Zidoas [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,090
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    how come no one ever spells my name right? :p

    Glad I can help and that it worked out well for you :)
     
  10. xFuryofFivex

    xFuryofFivex [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,696
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    sorry... typed it fast
     
  11. three_sixteen

    three_sixteen Gawd

    Messages:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Just for the hell of it, I used to use GetDataBack for FAT or NTFS at my old job. :p
     
  12. Ice Czar

    Ice Czar Inscrutable

    Messages:
    27,191
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    formatting simply rewrites the Metadata
    all the rest of your data is in plain sight for recovery by a direct sector scan, however you need somewhere to recover that data to.

    Id recommend Filescavenger in the paidware category (about $40 a single license)
    PC Inspector File Recovery in freeware
    (there is a difference, verify the files before proceeding youll get alot more usable files first time out with Filescavenger, files that dont work need to be targeted again for recovery)

    to attampt to repair the damage in place and reconstruct the partition and MFS
    Id recommend DIY Data Recovery's Diskpatch (again about $40)

    for a good idea of how ntfs works from a recovery point of view
    http://www.ntfs.com/

    best proceedure is 1st recovery and then repair
    cheap seats recovery is to do a sector by sector clone of the drive (switch in Ghost) and then attempt a repair on it or the old drive, meaning you have a spare in need, that is if you have Ghost already
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/ghost.nsf/pfdocs/1998082612540625
    if needed suppress errors

    -FRO
    Bad disk
    Forces Ghost to continue cloning even if the source contains bad clusters.
    Symantec Ghost 8.0
    Norton Ghost 2003

    -IA
    Clone
    The Image All switch forces Ghost to perform a sector-by-sector copy of all partitions. By default, when copying a partition from a disk to an image file or to another disk, Ghost examines the source partition and decides whether to copy just the files and directory structure, or to do a sector-by-sector copy. If it understands the internal format of the partition, it defaults to copying the files and directory structure.
    Generally this is the best option. However, if a disk has been set up with special hidden security files that are in specific positions on the partition, the only way to reproduce them accurately on the target partition is through a sector-by-sector copy. If you use this switch to create an image of a dynamic disk, then the image must be restored to a disk with identical geometry.

    Symantec Ghost 8.0
    Norton Ghost 2003

    (those are for the version I have)
     
  13. The Bryophyte

    The Bryophyte Gawd

    Messages:
    974
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    That switch to make it copy even with bad clusters will come in awfully handy. I never really poked around too much in Ghost....
     
  14. Ice Czar

    Ice Czar Inscrutable

    Messages:
    27,191
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    alot of enthusiasts perfer other clone utilities
    and if the basics are all you employ I can see that
    but when you need something a little unusual thats where Ghost generally has a switch for it
    in DOS of course :p I dont like cloning at too high a software level, just another level of something to go wrong, I find DOS no great inconvience

    but then for the last several weeks Ive killed my W2K shell so I have to employ the commandline :p
    good practice