Lost access to Seagate BlackArmor NAS 220

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by SBMongoos, Jan 1, 2020.

  1. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,131
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    I've been using this thing for years with virtually no issues. Recently I hit a 90% limit I had set so I used Windows Explorer (late version of Windows 10) to remove old backup archives and free up space. After doing this I spotted what looked like a HDD error reported form the NAS OS and then I completely lost access. I cannot ping this NAS. I've since removed the drives and connected them to my PC and they power up and sound like they spin up fine. I'm not hearing any typical drive sound indicators. I tried logging into the NAS without the drives but no access.

    I'm wondering if the mboard on this thing is shot. Maybe just the ethernet, not sure. If it's a reasonable fix I'd like to get it back up and running as it stores my software and backups. It doesn't get heavy use and I haven't done any steaming from it in years. If not then how can I copy the data off of one of these mirrored drives to another backup drive until I can migrate it to another NAS.

    Thanks!
     
  2. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,618
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Boot your PC into linux and see if you can mount the drives. The NAS was likely a linux based device using OS based raid and filesystems.
     
  3. Zedicus

    Zedicus Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    it is a linux box and uses mdadm as a software raid operator. the GPARTED boot CD has everything you need to boot a computer and copy that data off. and maybe a small computer tucked somewhere in your house as a nas would be a fine replacement also. or now you may be better off with an 8tb USB3 drive that you use for storage as needed?
     
  4. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,148
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Anything to do with SMB1.0 going byebye?

    I decommissioned about half a dozen of those Blackarmors a couple of years ago. They were the only game in town for simple encrypted NAS box about 10 years ago. But that came at a price of 12MBps transfer speed at best.

    They kept dropping off the network cos Windows was dropping SMB1.0. It may have finally been taken away.

    I spent a few hours playing around with a mint 2TB Apple Time machine someone gave me. Finally worked out how to set it up for Windows then saw...SMB1.0!

    My heart sank, I removed the 2TB drive and threw the Time machine in the trash.
     
  5. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,131
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    I forgot this NAS can be finicky. After letting it set for about a day off of power (and ordering a power supply I didn't end up needing - but it is a really nice universal unit I can keep) and then pulling both drives I could login to the NAS. It seemed a bit tricky getting back online. I then powered down and installed one HDD at a time and determined one of the HDDs was bad as the NAS simply wouldn't boot with it installed but would with the other. Cannot complain as I've had this NAS for years and believe this is the second time I've needed to replace an HDD (so both drives have needed to be replace - last one was two years ago - not bad!). The NAS is back up and running and accessible. Since I'm only using it for backups now (mirrored) I opted to replace the bad disc.

    My desktop sees the NAS as always in Windows Explorer but the only way I can see it on my laptop (very recently re-imaged it with factory out of box image - could see it before re-imaged) is using the Seagate Discovery Tool. Works fine but has extra steps. Apparently because of SMB1.0 I cannot get to it via Windows Explorer? But it doesn't explain why I can on my desktop. Pretty sure I lost access at one point and resolved it a while back but don't remember what I did.

    Considering the Synology 2 bay NAS DiskStation DS718+ when the price comes down. More than I need (good reviews and probably last me a long time and if I go back to streaming from a NAS) and I may just go to using an external USB drive as I'm getting rid of my desktop and have a dock for my laptop.
     
  6. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,148
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Just dump it. I'm all for keeping 'good' old kit going but these are now junk status. It's only going to get worse if the ones I had to remove are anything to go by. Up and down like a brides nighty.

    The cheapest NAS you can buy on Amazon will run rings round it.

    You can switch SMB1.0 on or off in Programs & Features. One of your machines might have it enabled and the other not.
     
  7. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,131
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Lol. I went ahead and snagged a 1 terabyte drive that matches. $29 with a three year warranty. I figured for 30 bucks and i/the NAS is working I'm going to ride with it for now. I didn't want to invest $300 or $500 right now with other things going on. Although I am really interested in the one I previously mentioned.