Looking to go to 10gb at home; should I do multi-gig switch?

RavinDJ

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
4,066
I'm looking to get 10gb running at home. I'm confused whether I should get one of those multi-gig switches that does 1/2.5/5/10 or just a full-blown 10gb switch.

Which way do you guys go and what do you recommend?

Probably looking 8-12 port; probably through Amazon (or is there a better retailer/e-tailer?).

Backbone is Cat6 cabling throughout the house.
 

notarat

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
2,124

ComputerBox34

Right in the Box
Joined
Nov 12, 2003
Messages
11,384
How long are your cat6 runs?

10G is not rated to work over cat6 at 100 meters. I think it will only work at 40 meters, tops. If you need to go longer, you need to upgrade to CAT6a.
 

RavinDJ

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
4,066
How long are your cat6 runs?

10G is not rated to work over cat6 at 100 meters. I think it will only work at 40 meters, tops. If you need to go longer, you need to upgrade to CAT6a.
It's a 2-story townhouse... at most, maybe 100-120 feet, which is at most 30 meters. But good call!! Definitely will keep in mind for future runs.
 

Eickst

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2005
Messages
1,866
You might as well do the 10g switch instead of multi-gig, better support, more options
 

robvas

Gawd
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
626
Netgear and FS have 'cheap' 10GB switches

You could pull armored fiber

Are you going to need 10GB everywhere or just between a few machines?
 

Machupo

Gravity Tester
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
5,084
I was going to snag one of those 16-port managed netgear 10GbE switches but am vacillating on whether to stay cat 6a or just go fiber in the walls.
 

AeonF1

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 25, 2002
Messages
1,934
I was going to snag one of those 16-port managed netgear 10GbE switches but am vacillating on whether to stay cat 6a or just go fiber in the walls.
Fiber is nice if every device has SFP+ ports which isn’t the case in the consumer world. I would stick to 1/10G-baseT for the home devices. I would save the fiber for switch uplinks, server stuff ( Twinax for sub-7m Connections is nice too), although you can run fiber to a desktop if you have a NIC with SFP+ plus ports in it, but I wouldn’t bother if you can get a mobo with a 10G port already. If you want to do it the right way, have your wall runs terminate at a patch panel, which you can patch your switch to.
 
Top