Looking to go to 10gb at home; should I do multi-gig switch?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by RavinDJ, Oct 7, 2019.

  1. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,959
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    I'm looking to get 10gb running at home. I'm confused whether I should get one of those multi-gig switches that does 1/2.5/5/10 or just a full-blown 10gb switch.

    Which way do you guys go and what do you recommend?

    Probably looking 8-12 port; probably through Amazon (or is there a better retailer/e-tailer?).

    Backbone is Cat6 cabling throughout the house.
     
  2. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,959
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    That's awesome!!! Thanks for the info! Sick speeds!! :D
     
  3. ComputerBox34

    ComputerBox34 Right in the Box

    Messages:
    11,047
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    How long are your cat6 runs?

    10G is not rated to work over cat6 at 100 meters. I think it will only work at 40 meters, tops. If you need to go longer, you need to upgrade to CAT6a.
     
    RavinDJ likes this.
  4. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,959
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    It's a 2-story townhouse... at most, maybe 100-120 feet, which is at most 30 meters. But good call!! Definitely will keep in mind for future runs.
     
  5. Ranulfo

    Ranulfo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
  6. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,866
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    You might as well do the 10g switch instead of multi-gig, better support, more options
     
  7. robvas

    robvas Gawd

    Messages:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Netgear and FS have 'cheap' 10GB switches

    You could pull armored fiber

    Are you going to need 10GB everywhere or just between a few machines?
     
  8. Machupo

    Machupo Gravity Tester

    Messages:
    4,914
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    I was going to snag one of those 16-port managed netgear 10GbE switches but am vacillating on whether to stay cat 6a or just go fiber in the walls.
     
  9. AeonF1

    AeonF1 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,926
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Fiber is nice if every device has SFP+ ports which isn’t the case in the consumer world. I would stick to 1/10G-baseT for the home devices. I would save the fiber for switch uplinks, server stuff ( Twinax for sub-7m Connections is nice too), although you can run fiber to a desktop if you have a NIC with SFP+ plus ports in it, but I wouldn’t bother if you can get a mobo with a 10G port already. If you want to do it the right way, have your wall runs terminate at a patch panel, which you can patch your switch to.