Looking for project dual cpu/sli motherboard

128MB

n00b
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Messages
15
New on this forum yes and i have looked around and been googling for a few days now but im looking for experience on a dual cpu and sli motherboard and capability to overclock as workstation/gaming. Other parts will come i just need a starting point. I have experience in norman and gaming pc builds but not yet xeon and servers.

So far i have narrowed down to these :

Gigabyte GA-7PESH3

Gigabyte MW70-3S0

Asus Z9PE-D8 WS

Asus Z10PE-D8 WS Personally in love with this one.

Supermicro x10dax

Maybe i can get a dell precision, iv seen multiple gpu but no confirmation of sli
 
Last edited:

D-EJ915

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
1,201
LGA 2011 and newer dual boards are mostly limited to BCLK overclocking or the Haswell-E bug which lets you all core turbo (never tried it personally).
 
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
Why do you think you need 2 CPUs? Why do you think you need 2 (or more) GPUs?
 

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,200
I get this question every forum. Nobody has any humor anymore. I just want to build one.
The thing is, if you run most general software there is absolutely no point anymore in doing 2 physical processors. 15-20 years ago it made more sense, these days though you have 8 or more cores on the desktop so you are generally better off just ploughing the money into something that has more cores such as a 32 core thread ripper or something then water cooling.
 
  • Like
Reactions: x509
like this

128MB

n00b
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Messages
15
The thing is, if you run most general software there is absolutely no point anymore in doing 2 physical processors. 15-20 years ago it made more sense, these days though you have 8 or more cores on the desktop so you are generally better off just ploughing the money into something that has more cores such as a 32 core thread ripper or something.
Same reply i got a dozen times. Forget i asked.
 

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,643
New on this forum yes and i have looked around and been googling for a few days now but im looking for experience on a dual cpu and sli motherboard and capability to overclock as workstation/gaming. Other parts will come i just need a starting point. I have experience in norman and gaming pc builds but not yet xeon and servers.

So far i have narrowed down to these :

Gigabyte GA-7PESH3

Gigabyte MW70-3S0

Asus Z9PE-D8 WS

Asus Z10PE-D8 WS Personally in love with this one.

Supermicro x10dax

Maybe i can get a dell precision, iv seen multiple gpu but no confirmation of sli
I would not go to workstation hardware and dual CPU's with the intent to overclock/game, that's why there is the HEDT segment. Other then my 2 cents there I can't realy help you as I don't have any experience with WS hardware.
 

FlawleZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
1,083
If you're dead set on dual CPU and SLI/Crossfire, I would look at the EVGA SR-2 and SR-X. They're the only 2 boards off the top of my head that support all of what you're looking for. Just keep in mind they're old, expensive, and generally hard to find. The SR-2 isn't too bad Ebay typically has a few. The SR-X is very difficult to find for sale.
 

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,273
New on this forum yes and i have looked around and been googling for a few days now but im looking for experience on a dual cpu and sli motherboard and capability to overclock as workstation/gaming.
Multi socket server and workstation boards aren't really targeted to overclockers. While some like a few of the models you listed allow it, it also requires a CPU which allows it, which are few and far between. About the only thing you can do is a bclk overclock, which isn't going to net you any high overclocks. Not that you'd want to anyway, dual socket boards can consume a massive amount of power and heat can get out of hand real quick.

Other parts will come i just need a starting point. I have experience in norman and gaming pc builds but not yet xeon and servers.
I would say if you don't have experience with workstation or server class multi socket boards, you'd be better off starting with used older gear, like dual 604 or LGA771. This will net you the experience needed to build a modern multi socket system and a bit of intuition of what will work and what won't. I've built several dual and quad socket systems over the years, and it can be very challenging to make them work reliably.
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
887
If you're dead set on dual CPU and SLI/Crossfire, I would look at the EVGA SR-2 and SR-X. They're the only 2 boards off the top of my head that support all of what you're looking for. Just keep in mind they're old, expensive, and generally hard to find. The SR-2 isn't too bad Ebay typically has a few. The SR-X is very difficult to find for sale.
I may have my EVGA e758 x58 3way Sli Rev 1.2 ( no MOD needed) A1 board buried with me as it's 10 years old now and still never have put the water blocks on it yet I have had those since 2011 !!
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,085
I run a Dell R710 (old server, dual 6core/12thread xeon's with 96GB ram). Sadly, not much going on for overclocking. Not sure why everyone is getting so bent on questioning what you want to do, it was pretty obvious this was just a project for fun/learning/tinkering from your post. That said, I honestly haven't kept up with recent servers/workstation chips with overclocking, but good luck with the build and post it up when you figure it out so we can check it out.
 

Kirika

Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Messages
624
I have a EVGA SR-2 and that thing was the biggest pain to get working reliably with over clock. From having to drill and tap holes for stand offs to over clocking tweaking to get a stable system was a huge headache. Thing would seem stable in prime 95 overnight but then reboot itself when I was doing a render or freeze in games. I did eventually get two 5650s 2.66 stock overclocked at 3.8 ghz on air cooling but I never tried SLI since I used it for video editing. I hear you can get 4.2 ghz - 4.3 ghz on water cooling.

Friend has a Asus Z10PE-D8 with xeon v3s that had a bios unlock turbo mod with titan xp sli achieved an over clock from 3.1 to 3.6.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
744
Perhaps you should get some common sense and not try to do a disservice to the op by pushing him towards a poor solution? Get off your high horse, you're about to fall off of it anyways.
The op wants to build a dual CPU/gpu setup because...he just wants to. The op knows of modern CPUs with 64 cores, diminishing returns, etc. He wants to tinker. He wants to play. He wants to get [H]ard. Ok, I may have gone too far with the last one but the point is he's made his decision and is asking for suggestions on hardware, not for people to change his mind.

To the op, I wish I had some suggestions in hardware for you but now that I think about it, I don't believe I've ever built a dual CPU system and now I'm kinda sad...anywho, best of luck on your journey, someone here will be [H]ard enough for you and have some good input!

Damnit, I did it again...
 

128MB

n00b
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Messages
15
If anyone cares i got a supermicro board and a couple hd 7990.
stupidest thing ever but i love it.
now seriously modding a thermaltake mozart tx to fit it all in.

happy new year.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
744
If anyone cares i got a supermicro board and a couple hd 7990.
stupidest thing ever but i love it.
now seriously modding a thermaltake mozart tx to fit it all in.

happy new year.
Glad to hear you found something to your liking! Feel free to share pics, we all love hardware porn here! (y)(y)
 

x509

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
2,181
Glad to hear you found something to your liking! Feel free to share pics, we all love hardware porn here! (y)(y)
If anyone is interested, I have an old ASUS A7M266D board. I forget the RAM but it is probably 4 GB. (I'm actually travelling right now for work, so I can't check for several weeks or more.) it's got dual AMD Athlon 2000 (IIRC) CPUs with the "pencil trick" to make them work in MP mode. Also has dual heatsinks. I actually have two of these boards. Plus in my "stuff box" I have some old cables for floppy drives and IDE drives. I ran Win XP on this system. I have no idea if Win 10 32 could run, but who knows.

Rather than recycle these boards, I would be happy to let them go for the cost of shipping, which I'm going to guess at between $25 and $40 by UPS, depending on where you live.

PM me if you're interested.

I hope this post doesn't get me in trouble. :)
 

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,273
I have no idea if Win 10 32 could run, but who knows.
Windows 10 32 bit won't work on any Athlon XP or older AMD CPU because it requires PAE, SSE2 and NX. While it has PAE/PSE, it doesn't have the latter two. The oldest AMD CPU that can run Windows 10 is an Athlon 64.

The most recent version of Windows it can run is Windows 7, but you'd probably want to stick with Windows 2003 Server or Windows XP for best performance and compatibility.

I had one of those boards years ago and it was fun to mod it to support dual Athlon XP 2800s. I eventually had to get rid of it because it was a heat monster, now I just have my P3TDDE with dual PIII-S 1400s.
 

x509

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
2,181
Windows 10 32 bit won't work on any Athlon XP or older AMD CPU because it requires PAE, SSE2 and NX. While it has PAE/PSE, it doesn't have the latter two. The oldest AMD CPU that can run Windows 10 is an Athlon 64.

The most recent version of Windows it can run is Windows 7, but you'd probably want to stick with Windows 2003 Server or Windows XP for best performance and compatibility.

I had one of those boards years ago and it was fun to mod it to support dual Athlon XP 2800s. I eventually had to get rid of it because it was a heat monster, now I just have my P3TDDE with dual PIII-S 1400s.
Once I finish my special project the system with that old board gets recycled, unless someone PMs me based on message #21 in this thread.
 

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,273
Once I finish my special project the system with that old board gets recycled, unless someone PMs me based on message #21 in this thread.
You could try offering it over at Vogons or VCFed, someone may take it.

I have too many toys myself and I'm trying to get rid of a bunch of it currently.
 

x509

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
2,181
You could try offering it over at Vogons or VCFed, someone may take it.

I have too many toys myself and I'm trying to get rid of a bunch of it currently.
Sounds good. These boards are so old now, and so out of date, that I thought they may be of value to someone. I'm not looking to make a buck here, just help out my fellow enthusiasts.
 

D-EJ915

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
1,201
Sounds good. These boards are so old now, and so out of date, that I thought they may be of value to someone. I'm not looking to make a buck here, just help out my fellow enthusiasts.
If somebody there doesn't want them I'll take them, could slap one in my old Athlon XP box lol.
 

Starfalcon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
334
Wow blast from the past, I still have my old AMD duallie Asus board in occasional use. I used it for a sever for a long time, although it is too much of a power hog to do so now. I have a ton of old Socket A kit and other vintage computer stuff I tinker with.
 
Top