Looking for a NAS with newbie-friendly GUI

BusyBeaverHP

Limp Gawd
upload_2018-11-6_8-32-23-png.png

Additional information:

I'm a Windows PC builder for 18 years.
I mostly edit 1080p footage with a 1TB SSD.
My footage archive currently sits in an 8TB MyBook, so I'm trying to move it to a more robust storage solution, mitigating single point of failure.
My experience with command lines is limited to Windows command lines, but even then it's more like copy-paste.

New to NAS hardware but not new to the hardware scene, seeking guidance.

While not a perfect fit for your requirements FreeNas does prioritize reliability/redundancy and I've only had to use the command line once to reseed a drive after I changed my data layout. I could have put the two computers together and let them sync but moving an external drive was easier than the whole machine.

The only issue that FreeNas won't do is the two way sync but I get around that by always using mine as the master and allowing changes to be copied to the backup. I have it set to copy every 15 minutes so its never very far behind.

If the two way sync is a requirement then there is a program called Syncthing I use to send changes from parents machines to my FreeNas machine. It will handle two way syncing so it could fill that need if need be but would "break" the master slave design of FreeNas.

https://www.freenas.org/
https://syncthing.net/

PS I left it kinda light on details because I don't think this is exactly what you were looking for but wanted to share it with you as this is what I ended up with after doing the same search a year ago.

Last edited:
Synology, done.

Get two, perhaps even older models, as performance with spinners has more or less peaked.

[you could easily use QNAP or ASUS units, or build a FreeNAS machine among others- but Synology is going to get you that confluence of ease of use, reliability options, and performance up front]