Looking for 2990WX Answers

Seems like that would be a software issue not utilizing the cores available, should be a easy fix.

Seems like that would be a software issue not utilizing the cores available, should be a easy fix.
Well, I have been pointing this out for two months now. Premeire rolled out a new version this week, about to test it. However, it seemed to greatly hobble another CPU I happened to be reviewing at the moment.

It looks like the 2990WX seems to using be too much those cores that only access memory thru the infinity fabric. Can you try blocking it away from those cores (cores 8-15 & 24-31 appear to be those cores with no direct memory access) with process lasso' core affinity and giving it a shot?

It looks like the 2990WX seems to using be too much those cores that only access memory thru the infinity fabric. Can you try blocking it away from those cores (cores 8-15 & 24-31 appear to be those cores with no direct memory access) with process lasso' core affinity and giving it a shot?
I would think this is the problem or part of the problem since the 2950X does not exhibit this. You would think after a couple months AMD would have addressed the issue that is specific to workstation usage.

Just checked PP v13...it is even more broken. Actually all CPU encode times up from v12.1.2.

Reactions: N4CR
like this
Conspiracy or laziness? Or avoiding fix because of less market penetration?

Conspiracy or laziness? Or avoiding fix because of less market penetration?

I speculated before TR2 launch that there might be some workloads where there might be scaling issues due to way memory is accessed on the CCX's. Likely due to a scheduling issue being unaware of which CCX's have direct access.

I speculated before TR2 launch that there might be some workloads where there might be scaling issues due to way memory is accessed on the CCX's. Likely due to a scheduling issue being unaware of which CCX's have direct access.