Longest range wireless router?

narsbars

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
2,243
I live in the country, no one anywhere but me and family living 300 feet away. I am trying to share my broadband but the signal is only sometimes barely useable at that distance. It has gone through three or four walls before it gets there.
I have tried external antennas at the far end, DD-WRT and maxing the output of a router short of melting it.
I have a half dozen N or B units, a Rangemax boosted to 140 MW was the only one to stay on for any length of time but I think the boost may have toasted it and it was only on 2 bars anyway, not very useable.

Is there anything you guys can suggest that won't break the bank?
 

/usr/home

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
6,160
2 Ubiquiti NS locos. Mount them on the outside of each house and then have another access point in the other house. I believe they are about 60 a piece. This is assuming you have a clear line of sight between houses.
 

Mackintire

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
2,923
I can second that suggestion.

2.4Ghz NS loco's can do a 1/4 a mile if you have no obstructions and a completely clear fresnel zone.

300' should be relatively easy.
 

bds1904

Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
1,007
You could also use 2 Rotuerboard SXT Lite5's. 5GHz point-to-point and then a 2.4ghz wap inside the other house.

Very easy to set up and pretty fast, plus less chance of interference on the 5ghz band.
 

narsbars

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
2,243
Thanks guys. While I agree that these would probably work, I live in Maine and anything I put outside ends up smoked inside of six months. Ice, wind, rain, more ice, also to be honest the total price for those rigs is past what I can spend.

Any chance of just finding one kick butt broadcaster or a much better receiving antenna? I am ready to try the chicken place and "New from Asia".
 

bds1904

Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
1,007
2x RouterBOARD Groove 52HPn

2x ITelite 5GHz 23dBi Panel Antenna

2x UniMount's

You will also need 2 cables, just the normal n-male to n-male.

You could also use a 6 foot cable and mount the AP inside.

Pack the antenna connector and the ethernet connector with dielectric grease before connecting and zip tie the Groove52 to the mast ethernet side down.

You won't have any problems with that in the harshest weather.

Set up with NV2 enabled you will have a 100mbit link easy.
 
Last edited:

narsbars

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
2,243
I appreciate the help. I think at my price point the term is S.O.L. but thanks for the conversation, I have learned a bit from listening.
 

wizdum

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
1,943
I appreciate the help. I think at my price point the term is S.O.L. but thanks for the conversation, I have learned a bit from listening.

Whats your price? You should be able to get a pair of NS Locos on eBay for less than $80.
 

Mackintire

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
2,923
agreed those Loco's are weathertight, and you could always add sealent if you felt it was needed. We purchased a pair for $80 off of amazon.
 
Last edited:

tazeat

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
1,268
Run ethernet between the buildings, bury it if need be with appropriate rated cable, and add another AP in their place? 300 ft is roughly the limit of wired ethernet for gigabit speeds, but with quality copper cable it shouldn't be too much of an issue.
 

/usr/home

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
6,160
Run ethernet between the buildings, bury it if need be with appropriate rated cable, and add another AP in their place? 300 ft is roughly the limit of wired ethernet for gigabit speeds, but with quality copper cable it shouldn't be too much of an issue.

That would cost the same if not more than the Nanostations. You also have the grounding issues with copper.
 

bds1904

Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
1,007
That would cost more than the Nanostations considering flooded cat5e rated for burial is about $120 for 300 ft. You also have the bonding and protection issues with copper and addressing that will cost you about $60.

Fixed it for you.:D
 

Shadowspawn

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
1,870
Well if you want to be all technical about it :p

I hate posting big long responses on my phone. Even on a computer is a PITA with only one hand ATM.

I wouldn't recommend responding to technical questions while watching pron.
 

Sasiki

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 10, 2005
Messages
2,819
Ubiquiti equipment is solid. Make a backup of your config in case you have to replace it after a year or whatever. Replacing one after a while is a lot cheaper than paying for a second internet connection.
 

narsbars

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
2,243
Ended up with an old Wrt Linksys with the antenna kit, bought on the H for $25.00, added DDWRT and then found an Alfa 1000mw antenna for the PC at the far end.
Everything started running perfectly. No drops, good speed, Thanks for all the advice, it got me thinking.
 
Top