Lock Vista & Start Screensaver At Same Time?

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
Basically, I have some people that would jump at the chance to hop onto an Administrator's account due to the restrictions they have. That being said, even if I leave my notebook alone for 5 minutes, I want the darn thing locked.

Just due to the fact I personally like a couple of the new Vista screensavers, is there a way to both lock and immediately start the screensaver?
 

bbz_Ghost

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2006
Messages
3,548
Not sure why the screensaver would play into it, but whatever.

Set the screensaver to require a password on resume (even if the screensaver doesn't kick in automagically this is the proper setting), and press Windows+L anytime to lock the workstation immediately.

Hope this helps...
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
Not sure why the screensaver would play into it, but whatever.
Yea, I know. Just one of those stupid things I have no explanation for why I want it... I just do.

Set the screensaver to require a password on resume (even if the screensaver doesn't kick in automagically this is the proper setting), and press Windows+L anytime to lock the workstation immediately.
Kindof cancels each other out. The Windows+L would require a password- no need for the screensaver to. I know the whole Windows+L trick- it is what I used to do with XP (and what I am currently doing with Vista til I get this figured out).

I guess another way of putting it... How do I tell Vista to start the screensaver? If I can create myself a little icon in the Quick Launch or somewhere that starts the screensaver, I can then rely upon the "Require Password on Resume" and not have to worry about locking the computer. Any idea of how to do it (if it can be done)?
 

TheGamerZ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
5,217
Screensavers are their own file in the system directory. Just double clicking one will start it.
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
Screensavers are their own file in the system directory. Just double clicking one will start it.
Never thought of that... Next time I am not in the middle of extracting a 20GB zip archive, I'll see if I can't make a shortcut to it and do it that way.

Just set the SS timeout to 5min....

-bZj

My OP:
even if I leave my notebook alone for 5 minutes, I want the darn thing locked.
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
Alright so I thought of a brilliant idea to just create a batch file, right? Well, it doesn't work.

Code:
C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe user32.dll,LockWorkStation
C:\Windows\System32\ssBranded.scr
That's my code. The first line locks it, the second is the path to the screen saver file.

I can create a link to that screen saver file as a shortcut, and it can run just fine. However, even with the "show welcome screen on resume" all it is doing is giving me the screensaver as like a "preview mode" rather than locking it.

But when I run that batch file, the machine can lock just fine. Its just the screensaver keeps coming up with an error, saying "this screensavor has no options you can set" and never runs. Any ideas?
 

PigCorpse

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
1,115
Wait, isn't there an option in the screensaver settings to password protect on resume?
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
Wait, isn't there an option in the screensaver settings to password protect on resume?
Yes, that's what I tried.

There is, but when you run a screensaver as a file it doesn't check that setting.
I guess it doesn't. Thats why I was thinking of a batch file that just locks the computer after starting the screensaver. The problem I am running into now, is how you start the screensaver from a batch file.
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
I found a completely unrelated thing on the Internet, but I saw this /s switch at the end of their screensaver location.

It actually runs the screensaver. My problem is the way the batch file is dealing with it.
Either I can specify to lock first, which results in the screensaver not running until you unlock the computer.
Or I can run the screensaver first, but when you move your mouse, you see the screen and THEN it locks... would really be a pain to use.

So if anyone knows... how can you specify to jobs to run at once in a batch file, instead of it running one at a time?
 

l3ender

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
5,338
Or I can run the screensaver first, but when you move your mouse, you see the screen and THEN it locks... would really be a pain to use.

Are you talking about the split second flash of the desktop before it locks? If so, is that really a big deal?
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
Are you talking about the split second flash of the desktop before it locks? If so, is that really a big deal?

Yep, sure am ;) Not that big of deal, really.

I was wondering if there was a way to work around that though...

Plus, I am not sure if someone would be able to stop it before it locks (CTL+C) or not.
 

arcsum68

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
403
I use an app to do that at work, I use the screensaver so people wont see that I dont have Novell installed and ask stupid questions.
I have it set to start when I press the lock button on my keyboard.
It was free, and when I get there I can test on Vista to make sure it works, but I cant see why it wouldnt.
If I dont post back, pm me. I might forget.
 

arcsum68

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
403
Ok

heres the link

http://www.fupload.com/download.php?file_id=sk5bv8dp6tn02xmy3f9r

download that, put it where you like
create a shortcut to it and make your own hotkey, or a key on your keyboard if you have a multimedia keyboard
set your screensaver to lock
it will give you a few seconds to cancel, but about 3 secs after the screensaver starts it will be locked with the screensaver running, and no waiting for time out

let me know how that works for you
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
If you combine your OP with the advice already offered, my solution is correct.

Set SS timeout to 5min, and check "require pwd from SS". Done.

-bZj
My point was, when I re-quoted my original post, I cannot leave the PC left open for those 5 minutes waiting for it to lock.

download that, put it where you like
create a shortcut to it and make your own hotkey, or a key on your keyboard if you have a multimedia keyboard
set your screensaver to lock
it will give you a few seconds to cancel, but about 3 secs after the screensaver starts it will be locked with the screensaver running, and no waiting for time out

Cool, I'll give that a try here in a second and see how it works.
 

TheGamerZ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
5,217
You really really need the screensaver to be on? If your batch file locks the computer, what difference would it make? Locked is locked :confused:
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
You really really need the screensaver to be on? If your batch file locks the computer, what difference would it make? Locked is locked :confused:
To look at :)

I know, pretty stupid... just one of those things I don't know why I want it- I just do.
 

arcsum68

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
403
You really really need the screensaver to be on? If your batch file locks the computer, what difference would it make? Locked is locked :confused:

Maybe he loves his screensaver, or maybe he has another reason, doesnt really matter though, its easily solved.
 

zacdl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,012
Alright that program seem to haved worked!

It seems similar to the batch file, but transitioning from the screensaver to locking the computer is better (it doesnt seem to return back to the desktop for a second).
 

arcsum68

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
403
Yeah, super simple solution, but it was really hard to find something that worked the way I wanted it to initially.
 
Top