Lock Vista & Start Screensaver At Same Time?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by zacdl, Mar 27, 2007.

  1. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Basically, I have some people that would jump at the chance to hop onto an Administrator's account due to the restrictions they have. That being said, even if I leave my notebook alone for 5 minutes, I want the darn thing locked.

    Just due to the fact I personally like a couple of the new Vista screensavers, is there a way to both lock and immediately start the screensaver?
     
  2. bbz_Ghost

    bbz_Ghost 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Not sure why the screensaver would play into it, but whatever.

    Set the screensaver to require a password on resume (even if the screensaver doesn't kick in automagically this is the proper setting), and press Windows+L anytime to lock the workstation immediately.

    Hope this helps...
     
  3. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Yea, I know. Just one of those stupid things I have no explanation for why I want it... I just do.

    Kindof cancels each other out. The Windows+L would require a password- no need for the screensaver to. I know the whole Windows+L trick- it is what I used to do with XP (and what I am currently doing with Vista til I get this figured out).

    I guess another way of putting it... How do I tell Vista to start the screensaver? If I can create myself a little icon in the Quick Launch or somewhere that starts the screensaver, I can then rely upon the "Require Password on Resume" and not have to worry about locking the computer. Any idea of how to do it (if it can be done)?
     
  4. TheGamerZ

    TheGamerZ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,220
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Screensavers are their own file in the system directory. Just double clicking one will start it.
     
  5. Down8

    Down8 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,049
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Just set the SS timeout to 5min....

    -bZj
     
  6. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Never thought of that... Next time I am not in the middle of extracting a 20GB zip archive, I'll see if I can't make a shortcut to it and do it that way.

    My OP:
     
  7. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Alright so I thought of a brilliant idea to just create a batch file, right? Well, it doesn't work.

    Code:
    C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe user32.dll,LockWorkStation
    C:\Windows\System32\ssBranded.scr
    That's my code. The first line locks it, the second is the path to the screen saver file.

    I can create a link to that screen saver file as a shortcut, and it can run just fine. However, even with the "show welcome screen on resume" all it is doing is giving me the screensaver as like a "preview mode" rather than locking it.

    But when I run that batch file, the machine can lock just fine. Its just the screensaver keeps coming up with an error, saying "this screensavor has no options you can set" and never runs. Any ideas?
     
  8. PigCorpse

    PigCorpse [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,116
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Wait, isn't there an option in the screensaver settings to password protect on resume?
     
  9. devman

    devman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,399
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    There is, but when you run a screensaver as a file it doesn't check that setting.
     
  10. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Yes, that's what I tried.

    I guess it doesn't. Thats why I was thinking of a batch file that just locks the computer after starting the screensaver. The problem I am running into now, is how you start the screensaver from a batch file.
     
  11. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    I found a completely unrelated thing on the Internet, but I saw this /s switch at the end of their screensaver location.

    It actually runs the screensaver. My problem is the way the batch file is dealing with it.
    Either I can specify to lock first, which results in the screensaver not running until you unlock the computer.
    Or I can run the screensaver first, but when you move your mouse, you see the screen and THEN it locks... would really be a pain to use.

    So if anyone knows... how can you specify to jobs to run at once in a batch file, instead of it running one at a time?
     
  12. l3ender

    l3ender [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,379
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Are you talking about the split second flash of the desktop before it locks? If so, is that really a big deal?
     
  13. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Yep, sure am ;) Not that big of deal, really.

    I was wondering if there was a way to work around that though...

    Plus, I am not sure if someone would be able to stop it before it locks (CTL+C) or not.
     
  14. arcsum68

    arcsum68 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    403
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    I use an app to do that at work, I use the screensaver so people wont see that I dont have Novell installed and ask stupid questions.
    I have it set to start when I press the lock button on my keyboard.
    It was free, and when I get there I can test on Vista to make sure it works, but I cant see why it wouldnt.
    If I dont post back, pm me. I might forget.
     
  15. Down8

    Down8 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,049
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    If you combine your OP with the advice already offered, my solution is correct.

    Set SS timeout to 5min, and check "require pwd from SS". Done.

    -bZj
     
  16. arcsum68

    arcsum68 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    403
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Ok

    heres the link

    http://www.fupload.com/download.php?file_id=sk5bv8dp6tn02xmy3f9r

    download that, put it where you like
    create a shortcut to it and make your own hotkey, or a key on your keyboard if you have a multimedia keyboard
    set your screensaver to lock
    it will give you a few seconds to cancel, but about 3 secs after the screensaver starts it will be locked with the screensaver running, and no waiting for time out

    let me know how that works for you
     
  17. arcsum68

    arcsum68 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    403
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
  18. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    My point was, when I re-quoted my original post, I cannot leave the PC left open for those 5 minutes waiting for it to lock.

    Cool, I'll give that a try here in a second and see how it works.
     
  19. TheGamerZ

    TheGamerZ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,220
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    You really really need the screensaver to be on? If your batch file locks the computer, what difference would it make? Locked is locked :confused:
     
  20. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    To look at :)

    I know, pretty stupid... just one of those things I don't know why I want it- I just do.
     
  21. arcsum68

    arcsum68 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    403
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Maybe he loves his screensaver, or maybe he has another reason, doesnt really matter though, its easily solved.
     
  22. zacdl

    zacdl [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Alright that program seem to haved worked!

    It seems similar to the batch file, but transitioning from the screensaver to locking the computer is better (it doesnt seem to return back to the desktop for a second).
     
  23. arcsum68

    arcsum68 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    403
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Yeah, super simple solution, but it was really hard to find something that worked the way I wanted it to initially.