Live Video Streaming From Church

Obviously I have some how lost my google skills or something but I can not find anything for this situation so hopefully someone can help.

I'm trying to help my church get live video streaming of the sermons online but I'm not quite sure of the software I need. My church already records all the sermons and makes them available online so they already have the camera setup they need. I want something along the lines of like Shoutcast but for video. I want the source to send data to a higher bandwidth server that can then redistribute it to any viewers. I know uStream is available but we'd prefer to have something of our own setup. The computers in the booth run Windows XP and we have a co-located Linux server running CentOS. Can anyone help out?

I also hope this is the best forum area to post this in.

Well, I would really recommend uStream, but if you're dead set against it, check out VLC player. I'm no expert on it, but I think you could set it up on the WinXP system, then set it up on the CentOS server, and have CentOS re-broadcast the stream to your viewers. (setup the WinXP comp to stream, then tell the server to get it's source video from that stream)

How many people do you anticipate watching your stream?
If you're planning for anything for more than say 10 users, you'll want to look into paid streaming services.

How many people do you anticipate watching your stream?
If you're planning for anything for more than say 10 users, you'll want to look into paid streaming services.

Why? We expect maybe 15-30 users max at any time. The co-located server has the bandwidth. It has a 100mbit upstream connection if that is what you are worried about.

^Streaming video is a lot harder to pull off reliabily than it looks, but anyway... here's the free version of what you'll need.

Windows Media Encoder on the broadcasting machine
Darwin Streaming Server on the server