Liquid cooling in a NZXT H2

Jaymzkerten

Limp Gawd
So I'm new to liquid cooling, I've wanted to mess around with it for awhile but didn't have the budget for it. I recently pulled the stock cooler off of my i7-2600K and put an H55 on it and so far I'm loving the noise reduction on that alone, but now I'm wanting to take it a step further and liquid cool my R9 290, ideally in a single system with the CPU (I still have time to return the H55). I've been starting to look around but one of the biggest limiting factors now seems to be my NZXT H2 mid-tower case. I don't know how big of a rad I would need for both the CPU and the video card (I was planning to do the full card and not just the GPU), is it pretty much guaranteed I would need a 120.2 or would I be able to get by with a smaller rad? The only options I appear to have without modding the case are a 120 like the H55 or a 140 on the top vent.

Last edited:
So I'm assuming by the complete radio silence and from the research I've done so far that it won't be ideal to stick with the H2 if I want a custom setup. I've started looking around at other cases and so far I'm leaning toward a Corsair 760T or 780T (760 I was able to look at at a local Fry's). I figure if I'm going to be tacking on a new case to this build I might as well pick one that gives me room to expand the system later if need be. Does anyone have experience with a custom loop in either of these cases? Would you recommend it or something else if so?

I built my own custom system about 8 months ago. I used a NZXT Switch 810 for my case and I am cooling a 290x with a full coverage block and my overclocked 8350 which is at 4.7 ghz. I used a ut60 360 and a 240 for radiators. That keeps my gpu at 56 C and my cpu at 60 C under full load. It would likely do a bit better but I keep my house a bit warmer than most at 78 F. I love the case as it has tons of room for water cooling and was not horribly expensive. Anyway I hope that helps you out a bit.