Linux Mint Won't Instal

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RocketPenguin, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. RocketPenguin

    RocketPenguin n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    I am completely new to this forum, so if I did something wrong (posted in the wrong area etc...) please let me know.
    Anyway I tried to instal Linux Mint on a very old computer and when I got to the part "instal Linux Mint" icon, I would click on it and after five minutes, the computer froze. I would wait a hour and nothing would happen. I then would restart it, and vola! It would work, until I click it again. Please help me find a way to get the computer to work!




    P.S. I almost forgot to say, before I got it, the hard drive was wiped.
     
  2. Namakan

    Namakan Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Does Mint have a alternative text based installer? I know some distros do and those tend to work better for older computers in my experiences
     
  3. RocketPenguin

    RocketPenguin n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    I would have no clue. I know little about computers. If you tell my how to figure out, I'll tell you;)
     
  4. RocketPenguin

    RocketPenguin n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Oh, and My brother gave me the disk, helped me through half of it and told me to figure the rest out.
     
  5. DJ_007

    DJ_007 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    265
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    machine specs? mint 11 is really picky and wants newer hardware for a full install..
     
  6. tel1jag

    tel1jag Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Yes, let us know the specs....could me a memory issue or video card issue...

    Also, as an earlier post stated, you might want to make sure you install just via text and not run the graphical piece.

    Once we have the specs, we can possibly offer some suggestions...


    --Jeff
     
  7. RocketPenguin

    RocketPenguin n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    how do I find the specs????
     
  8. tel1jag

    tel1jag Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Well, if it's a Dell or HP and has a model number, you should be able to go to their site or Google and get what was supplied with that computer. If that's not possible or it's a non-named brand you can open it and look...


    Otherwise it's hard to pinpoint what could be causing the installation to stop.

    I found the following link at Linux Mint's forum...it could be that the amount of memory is an issue...
    http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=82027

    It states in there that you might want to download Mint LXDE and burn that to a disc or thumb drive and use that on older systems.

    Hopefully this is helpful to you.
     
  9. RocketPenguin

    RocketPenguin n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    The computer might have been home build and I opened it up, were do I look? ( I know parts of a computer, just don't know were to look. :eek:)
     
  10. DJ_007

    DJ_007 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    265
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    just turn it on, go into the bios and it should tell the processor, ammount of ram, and hdd size.. that information would be helpfull enough
     
  11. RocketPenguin

    RocketPenguin n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    HDD= 8gb
    processor= 450mhz





    no clue what this is= BIOS (p2-99)


    P.S. I got to the bios and all I can do is change settings It doesn't show me anything else. Do you want a picture of it?
     
  12. robscomputer

    robscomputer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    159
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Hello,

    I've installed Mint across a handful of systems and haven't had any major issues. You might want to confirm that your disk is ok. In most cases of OS install failures, it's been a faulty disk that was the problem and not the actual OS.

    You can download the new ISO from here.

    http://www.linuxmint.com/

    Then you can burn the ISO using a blank CD or DVD depending on the ISO you download.

    If you need a ISO burner you can use www.imgburn.com for one, it's free and works well.
     
  13. RocketPenguin

    RocketPenguin n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    For some reason it only boots withe a floppy, every time I try with a cd, it says "disk boot failure, try again and press enter" or something like that.
     
  14. RocketPenguin

    RocketPenguin n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011