Linksys WRT54GS

Suprnova04

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
439
Hey guys, I'm having a bit of trouble with this new router that I recently purchased. I just moved to a new town, and subscribed to a local ISP. They provided me with a static IP Address, subnet mask, gateway, and primary and secondary DNS servers.

I have this information plugged into the router, and everything will work perfectly--For a WHILE. I'm using the wireless connection right now while typing this. After a while though, the "WLAN" led on the front of the router will turn off, and the connection will fail. If I cycle the router (unplugging it), everything comes back to normal.

Do you guys know what is wrong/what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks!
Dan
 

gimp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,182
are any computers hardwired to the router? do those also lose net access? or just the wireless?

when the wireless drops, is the SSID still broadcasting?
 

Suprnova04

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
439
I'll check on the firmware..
At the moment, I'm running basically no traffic. Just this laptop, no downloads/torrents/etc
 

Suprnova04

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
439
checked and upgraded the firmware.. I'll give it some time and let you know if this fixed my problem.. thanks guys :)
 

gimp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,182
FYI, just because your wireless has a hidden SSID, it is still broadcasting and can be found ;)
 

Suprnova04

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
439
perhaps I'm misunderstanding something, but I didn't say the SSID is hidden? I was referring to the question that asked if it is still broadcasting when the wireless drops.

Ok, so this happened again.. what is strange is that I was browsing, and the site I went to for some reason appeared in French (IP Issue?). I looked at the router and the power light is off, along with the WLAN light. The only thing on was the INTERNET light. I rebooted, and it came back on immediately. What's the Deal???
 
Last edited:

krupted

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 23, 2006
Messages
3,244
bad firmware or bad router it sounds like. i would do a hard reset, restore to defaults in the routers config page, then flash to the newest DDWRT and when thats done, do another hard reset and config to defaults to make sure its all clean and proper.
 

gimp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,182
perhaps I'm misunderstanding something, but I didn't say the SSID is hidden? I was referring to the question that asked if it is still broadcasting when the wireless drops.

Ok, so this happened again.. what is strange is that I was browsing, and the site I went to for some reason appeared in French (IP Issue?). I looked at the router and the power light is off, along with the WLAN light. The only thing on was the INTERNET light. I rebooted, and it came back on immediately. What's the Deal???

argh... sorry. Interpreted that incorrectly. :rolleyes:

sounds like the router is just dying. Especially if the power light went out.

or possibly a bad/incorrect power supply/transformer.
 

Suprnova04

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
439
RMAd for credit toward a different router.. went with a Rosewill product.. been working terrifically well.

Thanks guys.
 

Monkey34

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 11, 2003
Messages
5,128
RMAd for credit toward a different router.. went with a Rosewill product.. been working terrifically well.

Thanks guys.

Not my favorite, but the guts are sometimes more important than the name. Glad the issues resolved.
 

vkfu

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
262
You updated your thread almost an entire year after you first posted :). Better late than never!
 

dle1232003

n00b
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
38
least he's given it a good ammount of time testing wise before reporting back to us!!! haha
 
Top