Linksys WRT54G alternative firmware

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by carl67lp, Feb 14, 2005.

  1. carl67lp

    carl67lp [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,559
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    The other day I bought the WRT54G to use in my apartment, sharing the connection amongst four of us. I'm the only one who doesn't use my cell as my primary phone; instead, I use Vonage. I bought the WRT54G to be able to use QoS features, since my roomies aren't always good about keeping the cable line de-saturated with their downloads.

    I know about the Sveasoft firmware, but after doing some reading I'm hearing some bad things about their business practices (GPL and whatnot). I don't mind paying $20 to get the good stuff, but I don't want to pay it if I can otherwise legally aquire the same thing.

    I do not want to get into even somewhat gray areas here, since I'd rather get good quality advice. Please don't tell me to look on P2P sites or the like. (That's what PMs are for. ;)) But seriously, what are my options to enable QoS, and make use of some other cool options on my new router?

    Oh yes, almost forgot: Some instructions on what I need to do would also be helpful. I've done firmware upgrades, of course, but if there's some esoteric method for doing things, please let me know that, too.
     
  2. pennhunter

    pennhunter n00b

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
  3. JBark

    JBark [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
  4. carl67lp

    carl67lp [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,559
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Hm...so some of the alternative firmware lacks the stability of the official? That would be a big concern, since I'm not too keen on letting the other roomies in to make modifications, since they're not as skilled in these things as I am. (Not to slight them; more like, protect them from themselves. ;))

    To those who have mentioned various firmware sources, is there a reason to pick one over another?
     
  5. k1114

    k1114 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,154
    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    I'm using the DD-WRT, but I may just have to flash to that... I like the idea of being close to stock.
     
  6. MrSmegzabush

    MrSmegzabush Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    434
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Will flash to HyperWRT delete all my MAC permissions, Port forwards, Triggers etc. This is so i dont have to take 30 min writing all my settings down..
     
  7. carl67lp

    carl67lp [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,559
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Well, I'm home now, and have just opened up the router's box. I think I'll go with the HyperWRT to start, and see if that works out for me. Thanks for the tips, and keep 'em coming!
     
  8. draconius

    draconius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    I just flashed my router in my dorm room to the hyperwrt.....and boosted the wireless strength...sweet deal :D I used to not be able to get good wireless outside of my dorm room...now I can walk all the way down the hallway on my floor (prolly 60 feet through heavy concrete walls) and get good reception so thats cool


    :cool:
     
  9. StickyLoad

    StickyLoad Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Could you post a screen capture of the place you increased the range on? I'm interested in doing this.
     
  10. MrSmegzabush

    MrSmegzabush Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    434
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    I am going to install the other firmware ass soon as i get home from class, i will let netstumbler run and see how big the change is after I the router is reset. Hopefully I will see a "Real time" change.
     
  11. swalve

    swalve n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    The most recent firmware does QoS natively and worked well for my Vonage.

    For what its worth, I have Sveasoft's Satori firmware on mine now, I wanted to use pptp VPN. It doesn't work. It connects, but I think there's something wrong with the routhing. The QoS in this version also works, but it was harder to setup.
     
  12. Comics

    Comics n00b

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    The newest Linksys router wasn't working with encryption for me, but the Sveasoft one works fine.