Lian Li PC- Q7 itx case.

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by j1979, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. cyberkost

    cyberkost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    ... but does Lian-Li say that the thing that the fan is mounted on is a HDD cage? It looks to me that it is just an air intake ... two-sided BS-03 of sorts
     
  2. seismicshift

    seismicshift n00b

    Messages:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Based on the pictures the fan is mounted on an intake duct. The hard drive holder on the bottom seems to be able to hold two(2) HDDs.
     
  3. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    looks like it can hold 2 2.5" drives. Problem is though that assumeing the depth is the same as the original q07 this just screwed using a 5750 or one of the short 5770's due to the fan up front..

    ok maybe it diddnt. Looks like the fan cage is high enough. also looks like they may have made it just a hair deeper which would be awesome.
     
  4. cyberkost

    cyberkost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    I think the bottom "shelf" can actually hold two 3.5" HDDs. The case must be a bit more than just "a hair" deeper than the earlier version, b/c if it isn't, the PSU would bump into the fan, especially if the PSU wires aren't the most flexible (as they are on some Corsair models)
     
  5. Jen

    Jen 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,177
    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    the case i say is 1.5 inchs deeper at least this is how i planned my case and it looks very similar to what i am building. lian li must been reading the forums and seen what needed to be done. if they did make this case deeper than a regular 5770 will now fit which would be perfect for most users for this size case



    Jen
     
  6. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    yea if that tray does hole 2x 3.5" drives its deffinitly deeper.. a little taller to. Although I love the size of the original as an enthusiast I would appreciate the little extra space both ways. & yea if it could hold a standard 5770 that would elevate it to being an awesome lan box.
     
  7. emax

    emax [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Hi,

    The Gainward’s GS-GLH is long only 188mm and the power connection are are placed on the upper side of the card :

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    someone has tried this card on PC-Q07 ?

    :D
     
  8. huguberhart

    huguberhart [H]Lite

    Messages:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Front USB ports are in the way of the cooler cover. Besides it is double slot width card. Palit has similiar card that doesnt have second port on second slot. Its easier because it doesnt require cutting the second slot. You can just replace the bracket.
     
  9. juden666

    juden666 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,463
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    So has anyone managed to stick a 460 in one yet?
     
  10. juden666

    juden666 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,463
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    This
     
  11. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Yes.. There is a Gainward model that is short as hell & fits just fine. I think its the "golden sample"

    I believe there is also a Palit that is the same length (there the same company)
     
  12. juden666

    juden666 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,463
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Yeah I saw the Palit one not really a brand Im super keen on though. I still have this damn case I bought from you that I havent used. I just got a my Gigabyte H55 but none of the video cards I have fit in the case. Trying to decide if I should do a sideways trade for a smaller 5770 or move up and get a small 460. Anyone of you gents get the Palit/Gain?
     
  13. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    There is a 3rd brand that is also the same company that may sway you. Thats Galaxy.. & its been a while, but I had a gainward card once before.. & it was a reliable card & never had any problems at all. I kept it till upgrading so thats all I can ask of a card (also this was quite some time ago as I believe it was a GeForce 256).

    As far as side tracking goes I wouldnt.. Either find something uber cheap to get by for a while & hope that you can get that performance out of the low end AMD 6k series or get one of the little 460's.

    Plus the only 5770's that fit (at least that I have ever seen) are PowerColor units & I wouldn't exactly put them above, well anyone..
     
  14. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Thank you. It is a great help for checking for GPU's being able to fit. It did take me a few minutes (or maybe a bit longer) to figure out how to make a box the size of a GPU then move into the case, but better than buying a part that wont fit!
     
  15. huguberhart

    huguberhart [H]Lite

    Messages:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    No problem. That is from before I bought it. Do research by reading this thread. One thing I can add: the front USB bracket cable is very short. I have Intel DG45FC motherboard installed and the internal USB port is by the rear IO. NZXT just released its extension cables. I'll have to try them. BTW I dont think that Cycylone is going to fit (MSI.com error). Do check before buying!
     
  16. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    performance pcs also has a usb extension cable.. I ordered it & ended up not even using it as I instead just detached the bracket from the backplate on a spare set that I had laying around & they were a direct replacement for the factory usb ports on this case. It was a free alternative & gave a much cleaner install in the end.
     
  17. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Mind telling me whose USB header you did use? I have been looking for alternatives but must be using wrong terminology as I can only find other Lian Li products.
     
  18. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    The one I used came with either a Asus or Abit Motherboard.. I cant remember which.. At the time I had like 3 or 4 laying around & they all had cables like 4" longer then what came in the lian li..
     
  19. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    I may be asking for a leftover :)
     
  20. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    lol.. If I had anymore I would send you one.. But I ended up throwing them away a while back along with a crapton of other small parts..
     
  21. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Thats my life, day late dollar short. :)
     
  22. aznever

    aznever Gawd

    Messages:
    574
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
  23. forumator

    forumator [H]Lite

    Messages:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Anyone know where to get more of the small black screws that hold the panels into the chassis?
     
  24. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Home Depot.. Take one with you & go to the bins in the fasteners section..
     
  25. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Well, build is now starting as I just bought a Q07R and a SeaSonic 520 PSU. Not modular, but thats ok. Price was right and I can solder if wires need removal/shortening. Now need to get a board-waiting for more info on SB or will just get AMD.
     
  26. huguberhart

    huguberhart [H]Lite

    Messages:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    I'm not in reach of performacepcs. I bought parts to solder it myself. I think this is going to do just fine.
     
  27. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    It seems that there are now a few more options for GPUs that fit. Powercolor is making a few different styles, Biostar is now making an HD 5770 and Sapphire's Vapor X fits. Dont believe me? Look here. http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=dsc_1815gpfb.jpg#

    And of course the GTX 460s from Palit and Gainward.

    Wish my case would get here so I could start measuring and just plain ol get started!
     
  28. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Still remains that the best is the 460's.. As for that pic of the Saphire Vapor X, I wouldnt call that fitting. Its not mounted in place & could not be without tearing the case down. The narrowest part of the case is the edge & to get past that the GPU could not go in straight. It would then be impossible to straighten the card out without loosening either the front or rear panel. At the very least bending one.
     
  29. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    I agree that the 460s are the best choice, I just wanted to show other options. As for the Sapphire, all he would need to do is trim down the overhang of the cooler cover. The newer PCB is about the same as the Powercolor version.
     
  30. bastage

    bastage Pics of your wife?

    Messages:
    12,786
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    still not that simple with a 2 slot design.. Would have to modify the case 1st The problem is that if you take the length at a diagonal at its longest point its going to be quite a bit longer overall then the original length. So to get it in place you have to bend the case jsut about. Hell It was a pain getting the asus 5750 in which is short, without 2 pci slots & the power connector on the side.
     
  31. investinwaffles

    investinwaffles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    So I am wondering how a "largish" sound card would fit into this case?
    For example, the Xonar D2X or X-Meridian 2G??
    http://www.auzentech.com/site/products/x-meridian2g.php

    I want to build an super clean SFF machine for my dad, but he uses his computer to listen to high-quality lossless files through his receiver/speaker setup (dont really know much about audio myself).
    He has a 2.5" SSD and a 1TB WD Green 3.5" hdd.

    I feel like it would be a tight fit, but doable. If onboard graphics are fine playing 1080p video, I feel like the sound card is a lot thinner and would fit in the case with enough room to spare. Is there room for those HDD's though? I guess putting it in an enclosure is always an option (not ideal though).

    I love this case though, What do you guys think would be an OK but quiet build for him?
    I was thinking i3 560 would be fine, but an i5 would be optimal IMO (he will probably keep it for 3 or 4 years).
    Could I use an i5 in a quiet build, or will it run too hot? Im not planning to overclock (will most likely undervolt at stock speeds).
     
  32. cyberkost

    cyberkost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    i3 should be plenty good ... especially if you're trying to reduce the noise much of which is likely come from the aging/dusty (gotta be the case after couple of years) CPU cooler.
     
  33. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    There is room for both the HDDs, as long as the sound card is only single slot. I cant imagine a sound card being longer than GPU cards, so shouldnt be a problem. And I agree that an i3 would be plenty especially if were planning to undervolt an i5.
    A quick check and I didnt see any sound card that looked too big and all were single slot. Enjoy yourself!
     
  34. investinwaffles

    investinwaffles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Sweet, I was pretty sure it would all fit well.
    I think the I3 is a better option for him because he doesnt do much "intensive" stuff (not sure if lossless listening is intensive, im not sure if he encodes them himself though?).
    Regardless, I think an I3 clocked around 3.4ghz w/ igp would be snappy enough for daily use (90% of his computing is basic web browsing, probably 10% listening to music).

    What PSU's work well with this case? I would go with a Pico PSU but I am afraid of instability (same reason why I dont want a massive overclock). And same reason why I wont use an H50 or watercooling setup (in-case it fails, I live in CO and he lives in FL).
    What heatsinks would you recommended with this CPU (probably i3 550)? Lowest noise is a huge plus, but I am afraid of running passive and would still like to keep reasonable temps.
    I was looking at the Slverstone NT-06, or the Scythe Shurkiyan but I dont think I can run that passive.

    I assume this would be waay too tall, right?
    http://www.xoxide.com/scythe-orochi-cpucooler.html
     
  35. steve_huck513

    steve_huck513 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    I am also planning on a build like yours, an i3 with a little OC. But if I could get it to 4ghz that would be awesome. I plan on trying out the big shuriken. Also I had the same questions about the pico psu
     
  36. wonSR4

    wonSR4 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Scythe Shuriken would be fine and that Orochi looks a little too tall.
     
  37. wwischerath

    wwischerath Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    As for the PSU, almost any would work. GPUs are the main reason for big PSU. Since youre not using one I would just use any quality PSU with under 300W. Cheap and lots of choices. Find one with a 120mm fan and you have a nice exhaust fan as well. you will get lots of opinions on this so use what you like. It most likely will be fine.
    The Orochi is about 120mm too tall :) the shuriken fits and I believe the Samuel 17 fits (but is more expensive and need to get a fan) With stock speeds the stock cooler works as well, just maybe a little noisier.
     
  38. cyberkost

    cyberkost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    You can try Thermalright AXP-140 for passive cooling. It fits height-wise, probably need a layer of insulating tape to make sure the heatpipes don't touch the sound card.
     
  39. wonSR4

    wonSR4 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    If only you could find the AXP-140! It's like out of stock everywhere! I'm thinking of possibly getting a GPU down the line so I'll have to replace my Big Shuriken and thought about the AXP-140. The Samuel 17 was also an option but it doesn't do that much better than the stock cooler (which I don't have anymore).
     
  40. investinwaffles

    investinwaffles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    What kind of clearance is there between the mobo and PSU?
    Im looking at heatsinks here - http://www.frostytech.com/top5_lowprofile_heatsinks.cfm
    I assume its similar to 3U clearance (110mm or so)

    I was looking at this PSU but it doesnt look like the fan would be enough to run any cooler passive :(
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...cm_re=silverstone_450w-_-17-256-063-_-Product

    How are PCIO PSU's reliability? This isnt going to be a crazy power hungry build or anything. Most demanding thing he will be doing is 1080p playback.