Lian Li 011 Dynamic Razer Edition case fan attachment

kamikazi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
564
I don't think this mod is worthy of it's own thread, so here's what I did to the bottom of my case yesterday.

20191014_163446.jpg


20191014_163452.jpg


Shouldn't have any airflow problems from the bottom 3 fans anymore. I didn't actually take anything out of the case before hitting it with the dremel. I unscrewed the fans and cut some cardboard to fit, then covered it with plastic to keep the metal dust out. I haven't fired it back up yet.
 

notarat

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
2,109
I don't think this mod is worthy of it's own thread, so here's what I did to the bottom of my case yesterday.

View attachment 193097

View attachment 193098

Shouldn't have any airflow problems from the bottom 3 fans anymore. I didn't actually take anything out of the case before hitting it with the dremel. I unscrewed the fans and cut some cardboard to fit, then covered it with plastic to keep the metal dust out. I haven't fired it back up yet.
And sweet baby Jesus wept.
 

notarat

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
2,109
Hey, if it works, it works!
Only if you're trying to simulate the damage caused by your forum name. ;)

It's all good...I have to cut mine this week and do some grinding on it as well (no. not that kind of grinding.)
 

kamikazi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
564
I just reconfigured my case as I'm thinking of going to water cooling on the cpu.

Before:

20191107_184822.jpg

After:

20200218_212409.jpg

If I go with the Lian Li distribution block, looking at the second picture, I'll lose all the side fans and replace the top AIO with a 360 radiator. If I get a regular reservoir, looking at the first picture, the Radiator for the gpu will stay where it is and the reservoir for the CPU would go where the third fan on the bottom right is and a 360 radiator would replace the AIO on top.

Thoughts? GPU cooler too close to gpu blowing it's own hot air on it in second picture?
 

Smoked Brisket

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
441
I disagree, from the looks of your setup I now believe that I can install my GPU vertically with the 3 lower fans in place. Thanks!

Also, which vertical mount are you using? Lian Li's or someone elses?
If you use Lian Li's vertical mount you will lose the bottom 2 fans, you have to use an aftermarket like Phanteks to keep the fans. Lian Li's looks much better, though. It is flush to the back of the case and much less bulky. All you see is the card and it looks like part of the case.
 

daphatgrant

Fi-yah!
Staff member
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
18,445
If you use Lian Li's vertical mount you will lose the bottom 2 fans, you have to use an aftermarket like Phanteks to keep the fans. Lian Li's looks much better, though. It is flush to the back of the case and much less bulky. All you see is the card and it looks like part of the case.
I ended up going Phanteks. I'm pretty happy with it in the end. I've considered trimming the side of the bottom of the rise bracket but haven't yet. I'll probably leave it as is but like you said the bracket is noticeable.
235971_20190827_113420.jpg
235885_20190827_113230.jpg
 

notarat

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
2,109
Hey, if it works, it works! You can't tell unless you turn the computer on it's side and look up from the bottom.
I lost track of this post in response to mine about Sweet Babay Jesus crying.

Turns out I cut the bottom out of mine as well, lol.
 

Wooshoo

Weaksauce
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
107
Has anyone used the 011 dynamic xl? That’s the one I’m looking at but its a little bigger and I’m not so sure it will fit where I want it and get as good airflow
 

kamikazi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
564
Has anyone used the 011 dynamic xl? That’s the one I’m looking at but its a little bigger and I’m not so sure it will fit where I want it and get as good airflow
Haven't used it, but now that I'm getting ready to assemble a loop, I wish I had it. Lots more room at the bottom than the standard O11.
 

Wooshoo

Weaksauce
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
107
Haven't used it, but now that I'm getting ready to assemble a loop, I wish I had it. Lots more room at the bottom than the standard O11.
it’s a lot more expensive but then again loops are wayyy expensive so I guess no big huh?
 

BlackDragon1971

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
95
Well.... in the short term future my case is going to get a [H]ardware upgrade. I believe I can retain most of the parts in my Sig including the Corsair Hydro H115i.
-Arrived a month ago is:
Intel Core i7 6800k Broadwell -E 6 Core 12 Thread CPU

-Waiting to be Shipped from Asia, but ordered from Aliexpress :
ASUS x99 Deluxe motherboard and backplate. Gen I (not Gen II)

-Still to save up funds to purchase in next 2-3 months:
CMK64GX4M4A2666C16 Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB (4 x16GB ) kit DDR4 2666 Mhz. Happens to be on the QVL List and Newegg.ca has at a fair price currently.

-Optional / Secondary parts to obtain later
NVMe Drive 1TB (thinking WD Black- happy with the WD Blue SSDs I have) + source an ASUS x99 Deluxe vertical NVMe SSD drive bracket
ASUS Thunderbolt expansion card and a USB C expansion card
ASUS WiFi antenna for the motherboard

- I am happy with the SATA III 1TB WD Blue SSD I have on hand and the 2x HGST 6 TB NAS drives. They will be transferred over.
- Same with the EVGA RTX 2070 Gaming GFX card
-The Corsair RM1000i 1000 Watt PSU should be sound enough to use on the build.

I am hoping the BIOS on the ASUS x99 Deluxe mobo is updated enough that I can drop in the CPU and it will be recognized right off. The board was initially released for Haswell -E 58xx CPUs. As I recall dropping in a 6800k will require the BIOS to have been updated.

There are newer hardware upgrades I could have done, but this will provide me with a best Bang For Buck for a while to come. Also it is a rig I've wanted to build for a while... I've wanted a i7 6800k build for a few years.

BlackDragon
 

Braidster

n00b
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
1
I ended up going Phanteks. I'm pretty happy with it in the end. I've considered trimming the side of the bottom of the rise bracket but haven't yet. I'll probably leave it as is but like you said the bracket is noticeable.
View attachment 224679
View attachment 224681
Curious did you have any gpu hang with that bracket? I also wonder if you could install a small pci Capture card still as to my understanding you couldn't, but a builder using this mount said you can tuck it under and behind the mount and it barely fits. Looking for a good mount to use in the XL version of the case which will allow me to use this small card, and not have to do any modifying.
 

daphatgrant

Fi-yah!
Staff member
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
18,445
Curious did you have any gpu hang with that bracket? I also wonder if you could install a small pci Capture card still as to my understanding you couldn't, but a builder using this mount said you can tuck it under and behind the mount and it barely fits. Looking for a good mount to use in the XL version of the case which will allow me to use this small card, and not have to do any modifying.
If you're talking sagging its perfectly level as far as I can tell and the 1080ti FTW3 is a hefty card. As far as room behind the card? There isn't much, I can try to get a measurement for you if you'd like.

The only thing that I'd mention is that I do get occasional "hiccups" in the form of the screen going black and some pixels turning red. The only thing that I can come up with is that there may be a compatibility issue with the pci gen4 slot and the riser cable. Compatibility issues with pci gen4 and riser cables have been noted by Wendel from Level1Techs. This occurs every month to two months. A full shutdown always remedies it. I did try setting the pci slot to gen3 and immediately the screen was flashing on and off. Setting it back to pci gen4 brought it back to only flashing occasionally. The immediate flashing when I changed it to gen3 makes me feel like it's a rise cable compatibility issue.

In the end the need to do a shutdown every month or two hasn't been enough of an annoyance to merit looking for another gpu mounting solution, for me anyways.
 

BlackDragon1971

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
95
Good to see my Post still going. The Lian Li 011 Dynamic is a nice case to work with.
I have to Dremel my front aluminum panel just below the I/O ports to fit a Bulgin type anti vandal switch. My external HDD Activity LED and Reset are being handle by the switch right now... but it's wired out the back of the PCI expansion brackets for now. Will have to strip the case and break out my Dremel Advantage 9000, and do some modifying.
Other than that, I have to cable manage the case.
 

scoobert

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
342
If you're talking sagging its perfectly level as far as I can tell and the 1080ti FTW3 is a hefty card. As far as room behind the card? There isn't much, I can try to get a measurement for you if you'd like.

The only thing that I'd mention is that I do get occasional "hiccups" in the form of the screen going black and some pixels turning red. The only thing that I can come up with is that there may be a compatibility issue with the pci gen4 slot and the riser cable. Compatibility issues with pci gen4 and riser cables have been noted by Wendel from Level1Techs. This occurs every month to two months. A full shutdown always remedies it. I did try setting the pci slot to gen3 and immediately the screen was flashing on and off. Setting it back to pci gen4 brought it back to only flashing occasionally. The immediate flashing when I changed it to gen3 makes me feel like it's a rise cable compatibility issue.

In the end the need to do a shutdown every month or two hasn't been enough of an annoyance to merit looking for another gpu mounting solution, for me anyways.
Have you tried the newest bios ?
I am running the x570 Strix-e with the same GPU and set it to gen 3 in the top pcie slot with no problems. Also running a Pcie to M.2 adapter in slot 2 with no issues, although I have it set auto in the bios. But since I just got the board it came with the newest bios and I havent had it running long enough to know if it will get "hiccups" next week :)
 

kamikazi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
564
Good to see my Post still going. The Lian Li 011 Dynamic is a nice case to work with.
I have to Dremel my front aluminum panel just below the I/O ports to fit a Bulgin type anti vandal switch. My external HDD Activity LED and Reset are being handle by the switch right now... but it's wired out the back of the PCI expansion brackets for now. Will have to strip the case and break out my Dremel Advantage 9000, and do some modifying.
Other than that, I have to cable manage the case.
Here is the latest butchering of my case.

20200507_004650.jpg

20200507_004630.jpg


I installed a fill port. The Distro-plateis a pain to fill without it. I had to slowly fill it will turning the power to the pump on and off to get to a point where I could run it constantly while holding the case up at a 45 degree angle while adding more fluid to fill it. Now, it doesn't require that much tipping to fill it. I'd say I'm pretty much done with the build and I need to get pictures together for the water cooled gallery.
 

daphatgrant

Fi-yah!
Staff member
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
18,445
Have you tried the newest bios ?
I am running the x570 Strix-e with the same GPU and set it to gen 3 in the top pcie slot with no problems. Also running a Pcie to M.2 adapter in slot 2 with no issues, although I have it set auto in the bios. But since I just got the board it came with the newest bios and I havent had it running long enough to know if it will get "hiccups" next week :)
Yeah, it's got the most recent bios, I guess it could be the riser cable? As long as it doesn't start happening weekly or daily I'll probably just leave it be.
Here is the latest butchering of my case.

I installed a fill port. The Distro-plateis a pain to fill without it. I had to slowly fill it will turning the power to the pump on and off to get to a point where I could run it constantly while holding the case up at a 45 degree angle while adding more fluid to fill it. Now, it doesn't require that much tipping to fill it. I'd say I'm pretty much done with the build and I need to get pictures together for the water cooled gallery.
Looks good to me 👍
 

scoobert

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
342
Yeah, it's got the most recent bios, I guess it could be the riser cable? As long as it doesn't start happening weekly or daily I'll probably just leave it be.
OK thought I would check since we are running the same card on the same riser on a board with the same chipset in a case that is almost identical :)

Still working on mine though, hope to be done next week.

IMG_20200505_072953.jpg
 

BlackDragon1971

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
95
So many fans! How noisy is it?
With 4x Corsair HD120 RGB 120mm fans and the 2x Corsair ML Series 140mm on my Hydro H115i cooler I can sleep in the same room as the computer... if it is set to silent / PWM mode in the BIOS settings. My case moves a lot of air. Others have more fans installed than I do, though.
 

scoobert

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
342
So many fans! How noisy is it?
Not very noisy at all. I am running 7 of the deepcool fans which even at max speed they are only 27 dba but they spend a large majority of the time @600 rpm. The other 3 are the Corsair ML120's on the rad which with a 360 rad they dont ever spin up very fast.

2.jpg
 
Top