LGA 775 mobo with SATA 3

Sn0_Man

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
778
Do any LGA 775 motherboards exist that support SATA 3?

I have an old Q9550 that I am thinking about building a system for. The mobo that I have for it is an ASUS P5Q-E which only supports DDR2 ram so I was looking at maybe getting a newer one that I could use with a spare M4 SSD that I have floating around. However, it seems kinda pointless if I would be stuck at SATA 2 speeds.
 

QKSILVR73

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
393
I am runnin an m4 on Sata 2 775 and it runs pretty good faster than my sata2 SSD OCZ vertex turbo. You may may not see its full potential, but it is still fast. Not worth buying a more expensive Mobo.
 

Sn0_Man

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
778
I am runnin an m4 on Sata 2 775 and it runs pretty good faster than my sata2 SSD OCZ vertex turbo. You may may not see its full potential, but it is still fast. Not worth buying a more expensive Mobo.

Thanks!

I still will probably get a new mobo for DDR3 (especially since I'm considering working in a mATX form factor) but it's good to hear that SATA2 should work OK
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Messages
722
The RF X48 has six SATA II (3gb/s) ports.
No 6 gb/s SATA III ports.

If I recall correctly, SATA III debuted on the socket 1366/X58 platform.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
27,486
You could always get an add-on card. A 2-port card can't be more than $30 or so.
 

Jorona

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
3,534
Just use Sata 2. No point wasting the PCI-E lanes for a controller card that may not end up being bootable.
 

JRS

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
371
... However, it seems kinda pointless if I would be stuck at SATA 2 speeds.

No, it wouldn't. I'm running a Samsung 830 on a P5Q Deluxe and it still is a much better experience for me than a pair of stripped velociraptors.

For most operations you'd never be able to appreciate the difference. Improved access times and reduced latency is where SSDs shine and sata bandwidth has no impact on that. Most people would not notice if you throttled their SSD to Sata II. In fact, most people would not notice their spinner being throttled back to Sata I either.
 
Top