LG 43UD79 Information?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by burburbur, Apr 11, 2017.

  1. Bob123

    Bob123 n00b

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    I've seen the Acer at the Microcenter - it was $400 at that time. One thing that I noticed right away was backlight that was not uniform (though LG is not either - it's much more pronounced on the Acer). Also do not forget that some reviewers report screen retention on the Acer and Phillips but not on the LG.

    Split screen on LG works well, however, keep in mind that your work will never be in front of you but rather to the left or right and much further away due to screen size.

    Overall, if flicker does not bother you get LG over Acer, however, do consider a TV for a monitor - like 40" Samsung UN40MU7000FXZA for under $400 at Walmart (reportedly).
     
  2. JMCB

    JMCB Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    405
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    I purchased this today, took it home, and have a question. Does this thing actually support Freesync? I don't see any monitor settings for it...
     
  3. SKill

    SKill n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Technically the specification sheet says 56-61Hz, the range is quite small anyway there is not a big difference whether it's supported or is not.
     
    JMCB likes this.
  4. JMCB

    JMCB Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    405
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Excellent point! Thank you!
     
  5. acrata

    acrata n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    I'm getting headaches with this monitor. I've been trying to measure PWM with by moving a camera horizontally when a vertical line is showing. I think I found both 60 Hz and 480 Hz oscillation in the display. Do you know what the 60 Hz could come from? Is it likely to cause headaches?

    First image: 1/10 second shutter, showing the 60 Hz
    Second image: 1/25 second shutter, showing the 480 Hz
     

    Attached Files:

  6. cornbreadDelish

    cornbreadDelish n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Had similar issues. Adjust monitor settings to these calibrated values: https://www.prad.de/testberichte/test-monitor-lg-43ud79-b/5/. Make sure you are running latest firmware. If you are still experiencing headaches, reduce brightness until they go away.
     
  7. acrata

    acrata n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Thanks. I took the settings from page 4 of that review (basically just changing the RGB settings to 50/34/9). I will experiment with brightness too.

    Stil curious--does anybody know what would cause 60 Hz oscillation?
     
  8. Bob123

    Bob123 n00b

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    When you lower brightness you lower PWM duty cycle so screen will flicker more. Dell recommends brightness 70 and above, IIRC. 60Hz could be the artifact from turning LEDs sequentially, see the slow mo here.

    When I had the monitor I found both - flicker and brightness tired my eyes. Therefore, as you increase brightness to decrease flicker try lowering color temperature. Windows 10 has this feature build in (night mode) or use utilities like f.lux, etc.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2018
  9. acrata

    acrata n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Anything you think I can do to get rid of the 60 Hz oscillation? I'm on the latest firmware, latest video card drivers, tried both DisplayPort and HDMI. Tried multiple computers, multiple HDMI cables. Happens at all brightness settings.
     
  10. JohnnyCashout

    JohnnyCashout n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    well I've been using this monitor since it came out with no serious complaints, 4k @ 60hz in Windows and Mac OS X. However I just downgraded my video card from 1080ti to 1050ti (the 1080ti is being moved to a mining rig in garage to reduce heat inside house)

    anyway 1050ti should be more than enough to push 4k60hz from what I am reading.. I am indeed getting a 4k picture at 60hz but its 'glitching' out here and there (in windows, havent tested mac yet). like every 10-30 seconds I will get some graphical glitches or flickers on the screen :( reinstalled latest Nvidia driver it did not help.

    I also have a 1080p secondary display connected to the DVI port on the gpu. Is a 1050ti just insufficient to push 4k60hz plus a 1080p secondary?


    *EDIT* Well after jiggling some cables, re-installing driver, rebooting, unplugging the secondary monitor etc. the problem seems to have completely gone away for now, knock on wood. even if I stress the 1050ti at 100% mining equihash it is still pushing 4k60hz no problem. DON'T. TOUCH. ANYTHING.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2018
  11. agentk7

    agentk7 n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    I've had this monitor for about a week now. It's taken some getting used to but I don't think I could go back to my 27" WQHD at this point.

    Anyway, anyone have any tips on using the PiP feature? I can get it to work, but no matter what I do I can't get clean resolution out of the smaller window. I've played around with the "large" and "medium" window settings and have an approximate idea of the resolution those mode sizes are using but I can't it to cleanly display. When I say that, I mean the resolution is clearly not matched up, the text is blocky/blurry.

    Also, the manual doesn't make this explicitly clear, but I'm assuming the 4k/30Hz ports 1 and 2 can still display up through 2560x1440 at 60Hz right?
     
  12. Burticus

    Burticus [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,121
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Interesting. What is the source resolution and input type (I'm assuming HDMI) ?
     
  13. agentk7

    agentk7 n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    My main display/pc uses the displayport. I have a couple other computers hooked up through the HDMI ports. HDMI 1 and 3 is what I've tried so far. Using my photoshop ruler, I figured out the large PIP screen measures 1920x1080 pixels. The medium screen is 1366x768 pixels and the small screen is 848x478 pixels. The small screen would make sense if it was 854x480 but it's definitely under 850 pixels and while it looks like 480, I would error on it being smaller.

    I kind of see what LG was going for with the window sizes, FHD, 720p-ish (although why not make it a clean 1280x720?) and 480p-ish (again, why not a clean 854x480?) but this means custom resolution settings for the medium and small window....and I still can't get the screen to appear cleanly at the large setting which should be a simple 1920x1080.

    I'm sure at some point I'll use the true split screen options but the PIP setting is what really sold me on the multiple inputs aspect of this monitor. Anyone with any ideas or can confirm they have a clear picture with PIP?
     
  14. gggbills

    gggbills n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    I just got a good deal on this monitor. At Fry's with promotion code for $447. It was $452 out the door and Fry's paid the tax. I actually went into Fry's to see if they would match Costco's sale price of $500, (good until 3/10). I had no idea it was on sale at Fry's for that price. It does not say that on there web site.

    Anyway, just set it up but have not run a lot test yet. I am not as experienced with this stuff as some of you folks. I can say that it looks great, I am sitting about 40 inches from the monitor. I have a pretty deep U-Shaped desk, and a retractable keyboard so I can put a little distance between me and the screen. Will play with it for the next few days and see how things turn out.
     
  15. Reanimation_LP

    Reanimation_LP Gawd

    Messages:
    779
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Is this worth moving to from the Samsung KU6300 43" TV? I'm considering it since Fry's has such a great price 447 shipped to my door, and I could re-purpose the Samsung 43" to replace my Panasonic 1080P 50" TV. Also been considering just buying a new 4K TV to replace the Panasonic... unsure.
     
  16. Bob123

    Bob123 n00b

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Yes, considering that Samsung 43" is IPS - LG would be a better unit as long as you can stand (480HZ) flicker and ok with loosing 10pixels around border.
     
  17. agentk7

    agentk7 n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Thanks for mentioning that Costco has this on sale for $500. I just received mine from Costco on February 26th. Prior to this new sale they had it on sale for $549.99. Costco.com has a 30 day price match policy so I can get a credit for the difference in price. I would have likely not rechecked Costco's website figuring they wouldn't go any lower so quickly. I don't have any Fry's near me, but I liked Costco's 90 day return policy and extended warranty.
     
  18. gggbills

    gggbills n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Your welcome, no problem at all. Yeah, I do like that 90 day return policy from Costco, I think Fry's is only 30 days.
     
  19. Burticus

    Burticus [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,121
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    It's on sale today at Fry's for $447. Tempting, but with all I've read about it, I dunno.
     
  20. acrata

    acrata n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Does anybody else have a 60 Hz flicker/oscillation on this display? I do and it's bothering me a bit. (Pictures in my earlier post.) I don't want to return it but I'm considering.
     
  21. brianbrook

    brianbrook n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    $447 is a STEAL for this monitor....no flicker on my model whatsoever...in fact no issues at all, I would buy this again in a heartbeat at what I paid, and that was more than $447!!
     
  22. tomhayes

    tomhayes n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    I bought one too, but I'm getting a blank screen every so often. Had it for 1 day and have had it happen using DisplayPort (with a new cable I bought last week - and the one in the box) and HDMI.
     
  23. agentk7

    agentk7 n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Did you install the LG software and connect your monitor via the usb-c port to your computer to check the firmware it is on? I think 3.20 is the latest. Anyway, at least up until now, I haven't had a problem with the screen blanking out, I'm hoping it was fixed in a firmware update.
     
  24. AORUS

    AORUS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    413
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    There is two versions of this LG monitor 1. LG 43UD79-T & LG 43UD79-B but -B is UK, it's not a true 4k monitor it's a 4k UHD only in marketing crap in other words UHD and also it's a 8-bit panel using A-FRC to achieve a 10-bit colour depth. but it dose have a HDCP 2.2 & HDMI 2.0 for UHD players for movies or 4K streaming without (HDR) is good to know. plus @60hz for gaming.
     
  25. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    584
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Could someone please tell me the length of the HDMI cable that ships with this monitor? I would REALLY appreciate it!
     
  26. agentk7

    agentk7 n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    The HDMI cable and the Displayport cable that ship with the 43UD79-B (at least the U.S. version) are approximately 6 feet (1.83m) long.

    I measured the HDMI cable, now I have to try to reconnect it (anyone else find it's a pain to connect these without being directly behind the monitor?). I was fairly confident it was around 6 feet long but I figured I'd measure it before posting.
     
  27. QuantumBraced

    QuantumBraced Gawd

    Messages:
    584
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Thank you so much, I appreciate you going thru the trouble of checking!
     
  28. AORUS

    AORUS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    413
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    I wouldn't use the cheap HDMI cable that comes with the monitor it's just like PC case fans it's only a starter pack you can buy better one plus I don't have this monitor but I wish I did over the Acer S-sync crap I have now.
     
  29. celwin

    celwin Gawd

    Messages:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    That is bad advice. There is absolutely no need to not use the HDMI cable that comes with the monitor. Unless you want a slightly longer cable. Otherwise you'd be wasting your money buying a cable.
     
    levifig likes this.
  30. AORUS

    AORUS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    413
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Your telling me the cheap cables that come with all monitors are good quality as well as case fans!! how long have you been around computers?
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  31. celwin

    celwin Gawd

    Messages:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    I'm telling you specifically concerning this LG monitor. The HDMI cable it comes with is fine. I'm not commenting on any other monitor or case fans. I stick by my comment. I actually own the monitor you do not.
     
  32. AORUS

    AORUS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    413
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    True, but you do know it's not True 4k right and only UHD. has for cable is it High Speed HDMI Cable Gold? or silver? In fact most are cheap Silver to bring down the cost.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
  33. Bob123

    Bob123 n00b

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    I detect MONSTER cable fan...

    It stands to reason that LG would not include an HDMI cable that was out of specs as it's in their interest you keep the monitor past 30 day return window. In addition this LG monitor can detect out of specs cables and will display a notice if it senses an issue.
     
    Lateralus likes this.
  34. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,198
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    There's a difference between a cheap case fan that has moving parts riding on bearings made in the cheapest possible way and doesn't have to meet any licensing restrictions versus a simple HDMI cable that has to meet certain criteria to even have the HDMI logo on it and generally either works or doesn't. I have never had an HDMI cable that came with a monitor not work (that's not to say I've never had a crappy cable, or that an included cable would never be bad).
     
    Lateralus likes this.
  35. AORUS

    AORUS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    413
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    I know I was just making a point about the fans has for HDMI cable Been silver and not gold I didn't say it will not work/ crappy it's just cheap to buy over gold,
     
  36. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,198
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    A few mircons of gold plating on cable contacts make zero difference on digital signals. Hell, they hardly make any difference on analog signals signals.
     
  37. Skott

    Skott 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,986
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    What does the gold plating provide then? Just marketing hype?
     
  38. Bob123

    Bob123 n00b

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    At these frequencies, gold plating is used to prevent oxidation. Most oxides are good insulators and therefore cause signal degradation. You'll not notice any difference right away though - it takes time for oxidation to affect the connection and it depends on environment (heat, moisture and various catalysts).
     
  39. levifig

    levifig n00b

    Messages:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    So, anybody else getting super fuzzy text when splitting the screen with 2 inputs? I thought the issue was my 2 previous cards (770 and 970) but I just got a 1080Ti and I'm still getting super fuzzy text when I do a horizontal split with two 3840x1080 screens on top of each other. Individually, each input, gets me clear text when full sized (3840x2160).

    I bought this darn thing for this exact purpose and it's failing at it... :(

    EDIT: any horizontal screen split causes fuzzy text... Vertical split seems fine, but 2 inputs (3840x1080 x2) or 4 inputs (1920x1080 x4) causes fuzzy text. :(
     
  40. pillageplunder

    pillageplunder n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Can someone please describe exactly what they did to get the USB C port on the monitor to register that a computer was connected? I’ve tried USB C to USB 3 and USB C to HDMI. I’ve tried Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10 on two laptops. Plugging a computer into the monitor’s USB C port in any way I can think of just doesn’t work. The only thing I haven’t tried is USB C to USB C because my laptops don’t have USB C ports. I just want to upgrade the freaking firmware. The PWM is so irritating to my eyes.
     
    bello2185 likes this.