LG 38GL950G - 37.5" 3840x1600/G-Sync/175Hz

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,488
Your setup is impressively slick!

Few questions:
1. What amp/dac is that and what do you think of it with the KEF LS50 (or are they LS50W?)?
2. Can it switch between headphone/ speakers without needing to unplug the headphones?
3. Do you also use a sub?
4. What are those speaker stands and how do they attach to the desk?
5. What mic?

Thank you for sharing!
Thanks!

Someone else asked me in pm so I'll just post my reply since I'm on my phone at the moment:


0. Primary source is the PC Optical Out (Amazon Music HD)
1. The HPA is the Monolith 124459 https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07KQW1WFX/(this amp is overkill, but the clarity is incredible)
2. HPA lineout goes to the internal crossover in the SVS SB12-NSD 12" 400W
3. The High pass (80Hz) line out goes from the sub to the Emotiva A-100 (50W Class A/B) https://emotiva.com/products/a-100

It's an usual setup - I really wanted something that would roll off the lows so they are not going to the LS50s or the amp. Most preamps with real bass management start at $700-1200 and I wasn't excited about that.

The Monolith isn't the most ideal preamp, but it does work well for me. The input sequence to switch from the HPA to Lineout is a little cumbersome until you learn it (you can keep the headphones plugged in all the time). The Emotiva has it's own volume knob which is nice because without it, the relative volume of the speakers is much louder than the HPA - so -20dba is perfect for my VMODAs but a little loud on the speakers. Turning it down can also give you relatively more bass because the sub has it's own adjustment. I hope that makes sense

The sub is under my desk and the amp sits on top of it since its half width. Its a perfect fit

The stands are 24" adjustable height stands from Sound Anchors
http://soundanchors.com/products/2022/fstt

These are high enough to lift the speakers above the monitors. Mine are currently set to about half height. They're about 250 a pair and they will customize them for you if you ask. Takes about a month to get them but they are one of the best you can get.

Almost forgot: the mic is a Samson Meteor mic. I removed the folding tripod feet (they look weird to me) and got a desk clamp, goose neck and a little ball joint/swivel thingy. Its a great mic and I like the retro vibe.
 
Last edited:

fishcakes

n00b
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
6
Fantastic - thank you for sharing! You've managed to fit relatively large gear into a setup which looks streamlined. Even the top monitor has tiny bezels (what is it?)
 

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,488
Fantastic - thank you for sharing! You've managed to fit relatively large gear into a setup which looks streamlined. Even the top monitor has tiny bezels (what is it?)
Dell P2219HC - 21.5" IPS with USB-C power delivery. I don't really use it currently, but it's a great phone charger :)
 

skuko

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
150
got my unit yesterday and was very happy with it, until....

as i was going to bed, i noticed a weird sound coming out of the monitor, mostly because it was very quiet at night.

i think this is the dreaded coil whine.

https://clyp.it/3sea3pea

first 6 seconds are quiet, i plug the monitor in at the 7s mark. note, that this is coming out at all times, even when the screen is off and only goes away if i completely unplug the screen from the wall outlet. the mic was directly at the top grill of the screen, but the sounds pitch and frequency is so stupid that i can hear it every time i put down my headphones and it's especially anoying when i go to bed. i'm asking myself if i'm willing to unplug the screen every night for almost 2000 euro.

is this normal? do you guys have this sound? should i return this under DSR and try a different screen? i love it otherwise.
 

Vega

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
6,507
Sounds maybe more like the fan than "coil whine". Hard to tell though. I wouldn't be surprised if you gave it a good tap on the back while the fan is running would fix it/balance. Otherwise return.
 

skuko

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
150
Sounds maybe more like the fan than "coil whine". Hard to tell though. I wouldn't be surprised if you gave it a good tap on the back while the fan is running would fix it/balance. Otherwise return.
i thought this was the fan too at first, but this sound is totally constant, i have powered the screen down with the power button and the sound was there 7 hours later when i got up from bed. surely the fan would not be running 24/7 while the monitor is turned off?

edit: seems like the fan after all, thanks Vega. turning deep sleep on in OSD made the sound go away after turning the screen off with power button only.
 
Last edited:

thelead

2[H]4U
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
2,121
God... that would drive me nuts. Guess I can scratch this monitor off my list. Thanks skuko, you saved me a lot of grief.
 

phillyboy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,202
For what it's worth I don't really ever hear the fan on mine. Maybe if I am up close to the fan grill.
 

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,488
got my unit yesterday and was very happy with it, until....

as i was going to bed, i noticed a weird sound coming out of the monitor, mostly because it was very quiet at night.

i think this is the dreaded coil whine.

https://clyp.it/3sea3pea

first 6 seconds are quiet, i plug the monitor in at the 7s mark. note, that this is coming out at all times, even when the screen is off and only goes away if i completely unplug the screen from the wall outlet. the mic was directly at the top grill of the screen, but the sounds pitch and frequency is so stupid that i can hear it every time i put down my headphones and it's especially anoying when i go to bed. i'm asking myself if i'm willing to unplug the screen every night for almost 2000 euro.

is this normal? do you guys have this sound? should i return this under DSR and try a different screen? i love it otherwise.
Nothing like that.

If I listen very closely, I can hear the fan, but my work laptop is louder.

I prioritize silence and I'm always willing to put whatever I need to into a quieter computing experience and this monitor is not a noise problem for me.
 

Anemone

Gawd
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
902
Sorry to ask something so low on the features list but is the Sphere lighting any good?
 

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,488
Sorry to ask something so low on the features list but is the Sphere lighting any good?
I can't find the app to make it respond to the screen content - plus my room is painted aqua so I don't think it would work right anyway.

However, it does have some non reactive modes - the one I like is just a pretty bright, white ring - it's nice because it illuminates my desk and it's easy to dim with the selection wheel if I need to.
 

Iratus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
1,338
Sorry to ask something so low on the features list but is the Sphere lighting any good?
I was surprised but I actually like it, it works pretty well but the app is pretty bad and often loses the setting so I have to turn it back to get it working.

It’s not ever so bright so if your monitor is far away from the wall it won’t do much.

I can't find the app to make it respond to the screen content - plus my room is painted aqua so I don't think it would work right anyway.
http://gscs-b2c.lge.com/downloadFile?fileId=8Ru5WDlpXOTshU1ZJWg

from

https://www.lg.com/us/support/softw...US&category=CT10000030&subcategory=CT30013860
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
644
This is Monitor has basically become extinct with the pandemic :\

Can't find one anywhere.. Amazon had one "open box" selling over MSRP that sold out as soon as I went to check out.
 

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,488
This is Monitor has basically become extinct with the pandemic :\

Can't find one anywhere.. Amazon had one "open box" selling over MSRP that sold out as soon as I went to check out.
This is literally why I paid the 1799 on Amazon instead if holding out for the 1599 sale.

So happy I didnt wait, this monitor is perfect for me.
 

Vega

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
6,507
Sorry to ask something so low on the features list but is the Sphere lighting any good?
It's terrible. I've never seen a monitor with a decent bias light. You need to get the real thing.
 

phillyboy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,202
It's terrible. I've never seen a monitor with a decent bias light. You need to get the real thing.
Agreed, it’s not bright enough to use as bias lighting. I shut it off and repurposed the luminoodle led string that was on my old 32” monitor for this one. Much brighter
 

Iratus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
1,338
Well I had a very 'interesting' one today. I'm sure it's going to be one of those where someone just points out what a fuckwit I am, but still

Now being clear, this isn't anything to do with the monitor per se, but per my earlier frustrations over how slow DisplayPort 2 is at getting to market, and commensurate BS we have with the monitor bandwidth, it's in the ambit area and I thought I'd relay the problem for people googling.

Anyway, I've been having a couple of the blackout issues recently (ok this might be a problem) but saw it recommended to get better quality cables. Figured weird but why not. So I got some new Displayport 1.4 cables, both of them can drive the monitor at 'full' speed, i.e 3840*1600 160hz, 8bpc, Full Colour. Tested, all works fine.

Put my KVM in the mix though, shit gets weird.

Previously I had been using a Startech SV231DPDDUA2 KVM Switches, one of the few that can maintain G-Sync at Full Speed (not that you'd know it from the specs)
  • Using my old cables, which are the ones from the monitor box, plus the DP cable from my Caldigit TS3+ it all works fine.
  • If I use the new cables straight from my 1080Ti to my monitor. Works fine.
  • If I switch either PC > KVM or KVM > Monitor Display ports, I just get a black screen, as you do when using 1.2 cables. I have to lower the refresh to 85hz before it works.
  • Put the new cables direct again, everything works as expected.
  • Go back to the original cables on the KVM, everything works as expected.
Shit is f'ing weird.
 

Anemone

Gawd
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
902
My only thought is perhaps internal to the KVM it is switching (or extracting) the HDMI signal from the incoming DP and then pushing it back out to DP. That would be consistent behavior with slowing it down to 85hz and working on the 38GL950. This is the limit the monitor can accept from an HDMI signal.

Now aside from that (because I could be very wrong) I don't have better guesses.

From a noise perspective and from needing 1 more DP and 1 more HDMI than this one offers I really wish the follow on model would get here. Thanks to the stay at home orders and the need to keep working, I could really use the screen real estate now. Of course since need is almost always inversely proportional to how fast it comes to market it will end up taking the entire rest of the year to get here. Oh well.
 

x3sphere

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
2,704
Well I had a very 'interesting' one today. I'm sure it's going to be one of those where someone just points out what a fuckwit I am, but still

Now being clear, this isn't anything to do with the monitor per se, but per my earlier frustrations over how slow DisplayPort 2 is at getting to market, and commensurate BS we have with the monitor bandwidth, it's in the ambit area and I thought I'd relay the problem for people googling.

Anyway, I've been having a couple of the blackout issues recently (ok this might be a problem) but saw it recommended to get better quality cables. Figured weird but why not. So I got some new Displayport 1.4 cables, both of them can drive the monitor at 'full' speed, i.e 3840*1600 160hz, 8bpc, Full Colour. Tested, all works fine.

Put my KVM in the mix though, shit gets weird.

Previously I had been using a Startech SV231DPDDUA2 KVM Switches, one of the few that can maintain G-Sync at Full Speed (not that you'd know it from the specs)
  • Using my old cables, which are the ones from the monitor box, plus the DP cable from my Caldigit TS3+ it all works fine.
  • If I use the new cables straight from my 1080Ti to my monitor. Works fine.
  • If I switch either PC > KVM or KVM > Monitor Display ports, I just get a black screen, as you do when using 1.2 cables. I have to lower the refresh to 85hz before it works.
  • Put the new cables direct again, everything works as expected.
  • Go back to the original cables on the KVM, everything works as expected.
Shit is f'ing weird.
Are you sure the KVM can pass a DP 1.4 signal? Most of them, are limited to 1.2 speeds. I also have one, and it is limited to 85 Hz as well. Technically DP 1.2 should be able to do up to 100 Hz I believe, but that refresh rate isn't in the monitor's EDID, the next step up from 85 is 120 (which is out of reach for 1.2 speeds).

I only know of one DP 1.4 KVM: https://connectpro.com/product/udp-14ap-kit-4-port-usb-displayport-kvm/

I may eventually get that one, but for now, I'm not using my KVM for video output anymore (just use it for the USB toggle) and switch to using the HDMI input for my other computers.
 

Iratus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
1,338
Are you sure the KVM can pass a DP 1.4 signal?.
I absolutely am not, however the startech one had always been regarded as the only one that worked at high refresh and kept gsync, so it’s doing *something*. It breaks the video connection, when you switch (I.e lacks active ddc, which is annoying as fuck for some things) so I assume it’s not just retransmitting at a lower rate. Windows and the monitor both show 160hz going through it.

To the bandwidth, that’s the odd thing, it’s worked perfectly up until changing those cables and I’ve had this monitor for 4+ months. If it didn’t work I’d have just gotten rid of the kvm (it was for dual screen) and gotten a USB switch and displayport to hdmi cable for my Mac dock and use the monitor ports as you suggest. Would be nice if they just allowed gsync to have more ports though. Having pbp etc like the other ultrawides would be amazing.

Startech have always been a bit cagey about it as they say that it has lots of bandwidth and gsync works but never make it a formal spec thing. Makes me wonder if it just has a more capable chip than they admit to. Think I might just mail startech and ask, it doesn’t actually matter but it’s bugging the piss out of me.

All that aside, very strange that the new cables cause a problem I never had before. I’m pretty sure the current ones are 1.4 anyway, the caldigit one has a 5k label and the one that came with the monitor surely should be.

How annoying are connector and cabling standards :confused:

--
Edit, I had a look with monitor asset manager, didn't show any differences in EDID or anything so I'm pretty sure it's keeping the signal and the kvm doesn't do any funnies. Only difference is a very slight difference in horizontal scan rate.

You're right though that it's supporting 100hz as a custom resolution so it does seem to be dropping down to Displayport 1.2 speeds with those cables going to kvm. Even though they work fine direct.

So fucking random.
 
Last edited:

flint350

n00b
Joined
Feb 16, 2020
Messages
6
I've been using mine regularly for a couple of months now. Previously, I switched back and forth btwn the ultrawide Alienware 34" and a normal 2560X1440 depending on the game/program. I no longer find the need or desire to switch, no matter the use. The LG makes up for the deficiencies of either - it improves on the narrow top-to-bottom of the Alienware when used in flight sims and it also improves on the ultrawide experience that is lacking in the 2560X1440 monitors. The resolution of 3840X1600 seems to hit that perfect balance, though it is a bit more difficult to run at high settings. I'm using an RTX 2080ti and can get 120 - 144hz in most applications at high settings. YMMV.

For me, the decision facing most people will likely be cost. The performance, quality, features and stunning image are all there. But, is it worth such a high price? I bought mine during the brief period it was on sale for $1599 at Best Buy and even then I heavily debated the cost/value proposition. In the end, with the money already spent, I'm happy with my choice. But, if I were doing it again, I'd still have to debate with myself over the value. It wouldn't simply be a slam dunk based on my experience.
 

Sycraft

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
4,678
So for those of you with this I have a couple questions:

1) How's the sRGB mode? Do you find that videos and such look "right" when it is turned on? I'm not looking at anything for colour accurate work, just something that looks good and mostly correct.
2) How's the gradients/colour banding?
 

HellfireX

n00b
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
38
I've been using mine regularly for a couple of months now. Previously, I switched back and forth btwn the ultrawide Alienware 34" and a normal 2560X1440 depending on the game/program. I no longer find the need or desire to switch, no matter the use. The LG makes up for the deficiencies of either - it improves on the narrow top-to-bottom of the Alienware when used in flight sims and it also improves on the ultrawide experience that is lacking in the 2560X1440 monitors. The resolution of 3840X1600 seems to hit that perfect balance, though it is a bit more difficult to run at high settings. I'm using an RTX 2080ti and can get 120 - 144hz in most applications at high settings. YMMV.

For me, the decision facing most people will likely be cost. The performance, quality, features and stunning image are all there. But, is it worth such a high price? I bought mine during the brief period it was on sale for $1599 at Best Buy and even then I heavily debated the cost/value proposition. In the end, with the money already spent, I'm happy with my choice. But, if I were doing it again, I'd still have to debate with myself over the value. It wouldn't simply be a slam dunk based on my experience.
Thanks for the feedback. I went ahead and ordered one since my company gets discounts with LG, pricing was just under $1400.
I am also coming from the UW Alienware 34" and this looks to be a decent upgrade.
 

flint350

n00b
Joined
Feb 16, 2020
Messages
6
For anyone able to buy one of these for "just under $1400", it makes a lot more sense and would remove any hesitation that I had, even at $1599. Dell sells a similar 38" for about that much, but it is much less full featured and only 60Hz. I would argue that LG would certainly sell many more of these at that price point, however the apparent demand at the original price made them hard to get to the point of back-order. So, I guess there was little incentive to lower the price when you can't meet demand at current price. The overall performance of this superlative monitor always made it a terrific option - it was just the high price that put many of us off. The only real performance downside I see reported is the lackluster HDR. For me that's no big deal and LG is supposedly improving it with the next model - but who knows when that will release? I've never been part of the HDR fever (as it exists now) and don't miss it in the least. But, that's just me.
 

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,488
For anyone able to buy one of these for "just under $1400", it makes a lot more sense and would remove any hesitation that I had, even at $1599. Dell sells a similar 38" for about that much, but it is much less full featured and only 60Hz. I would argue that LG would certainly sell many more of these at that price point, however the apparent demand at the original price made them hard to get to the point of back-order. So, I guess there was little incentive to lower the price when you can't meet demand at current price. The overall performance of this superlative monitor always made it a terrific option - it was just the high price that put many of us off. The only real performance downside I see reported is the lackluster HDR. For me that's no big deal and LG is supposedly improving it with the next model - but who knows when that will release? I've never been part of the HDR fever (as it exists now) and don't miss it in the least. But, that's just me.
I've played around with the HDR a little, it's interesting, but I don't have the best understanding of the different color modes and how HDR affects those. For regular, high fps, big format gaming with more fov, this monitor strikes the right balance of being easier to drive than a 4K monitor and bigger and wider than the 34" panels.

I just sold off my Asus PG279QZs this weekend to a guy who is into sims. They were great panels, but I don't miss them at all. This thing is just perfect.
 

HellfireX

n00b
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
38
Has anyone else noticed now bright this seems to able to go? I set mine to match the tftcentral settings and icc profile.

I was playing Generation Zero on my old 34" Alienware and then switched over to this one and the explosions are just so much more in your face. I had to actually squint while watching them a few times. I see on tftcentral that the peak brightness looks to be 465 cd/m and the Alienware looks to be 265 cd/m. I guess this could be the major difference in what I am seeing? I do like it I was just surprised honestly.

So far its been a nice upgrade over the Alienware and no regrets. Trying to figure out what to do with that now.
But my caveat is I did get what I would consider the correct price for this monitor considering its features/etc and at the "just under $1400" price point.
 

x3sphere

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
2,704
Has anyone else noticed now bright this seems to able to go? I set mine to match the tftcentral settings and icc profile.

I was playing Generation Zero on my old 34" Alienware and then switched over to this one and the explosions are just so much more in your face. I had to actually squint while watching them a few times. I see on tftcentral that the peak brightness looks to be 465 cd/m and the Alienware looks to be 265 cd/m. I guess this could be the major difference in what I am seeing? I do like it I was just surprised honestly.

So far its been a nice upgrade over the Alienware and no regrets. Trying to figure out what to do with that now.
But my caveat is I did get what I would consider the correct price for this monitor considering its features/etc and at the "just under $1400" price point.
I have my brightness set at 17 which I think puts it around the standard 120cd/m. Very comfortable to use at this setting for me.

Out of the box the monitor is crazy bright, yeah. I had to adjust the settings as it would definitely strain my eyes looking at it like that all day.
 

Betauser

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
3,762
I was set to buy this monitor until I read someone with this statement

" The other thing is when you set it to 175hz you're forced to use Output Color: YCbCr422 in the Nvidia Control Panel and that causes for text to look very awful as well with chromatic aberration."

Could anyone comment on this? Is this really a big issue? TIA.
 

flint350

n00b
Joined
Feb 16, 2020
Messages
6
I doubt the difference btwn 160 and 175 is even noticeable in terms of frame rate, though the color issue would be. So I agree about not using 175Hz and its claimed 1ms response time - which is mostly a marketing myth. Also, I don't know what programs everyone else is running at such high frame rates, but many graphics intensive games are very difficult to run at higher settings AND 160Hz, not to mention 175Hz. My most intense programs are X-plane 11 (even w/ Vulkan) and COD Modern Warfare. X-plane will not even approach 120hz and Modern Warfare seems to top out at about 144hz at high settings at 3840 X 1600. I briefly changed resolution to 3440 X 1440 to test and that ran at 160 - but that is not why I bought the panel. I have a beefy PC running at 5.1ghz and an RTX 2080 Ti, so it's not a matter of inferior components. Point is, I'm happy at 144 and 160 (when achievable) and not at all concerned about 175 and its various limits.
 

DoubleTap

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
2,488
I doubt the difference btwn 160 and 175 is even noticeable in terms of frame rate, though the color issue would be. So I agree about not using 175Hz and its claimed 1ms response time - which is mostly a marketing myth. Also, I don't know what programs everyone else is running at such high frame rates, but many graphics intensive games are very difficult to run at higher settings AND 160Hz, not to mention 175Hz. My most intense programs are X-plane 11 (even w/ Vulkan) and COD Modern Warfare. X-plane will not even approach 120hz and Modern Warfare seems to top out at about 144hz at high settings at 3840 X 1600. I briefly changed resolution to 3440 X 1440 to test and that ran at 160 - but that is not why I bought the panel. I have a beefy PC running at 5.1ghz and an RTX 2080 Ti, so it's not a matter of inferior components. Point is, I'm happy at 144 and 160 (when achievable) and not at all concerned about 175 and its various limits.
Agree. Older games will run at 160, but even with a 2080Ti, most newer fps games are more in the 100-130 range which is fine. I bought it as much for the size as anything else.
 

thelead

2[H]4U
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
2,121
finally got one of these things from Best Buy. I wanted to wait until it got to around $1400 but I dont think thats happening any time soon now : \
Agreed. Let me know when you’re ready to move on to the next great monitor. I’ll be patiently waiting :D
 

shadow2761

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2016
Messages
175
Am I krazy to be using this monitor at 75% brightness?

I just love the popping colors at this brightness level!
I tried to use a lower brightness like other people but I found it too dimm. 75% for me seems to give so much vibrancy and i really dig it lol
 
Top