Let’s determine which 30x0 cards have more than one HDMI 2.1 port.

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,426
Let’s determine which 30x0 cards have more than one 2.1 HDMI port in case someone wants to run multiple displays. (IE OLED monitor, and TV/Projector, or triple screen NVSurround) on HDMI 2.1 instead of display port.

Note: All cards have 3 display ports. It’s the HDMI port count that differs.

1 HDMI
Nvidia FE (all models)
EVGA (all models)
MSI (all models)
Palit (all models)
PNY (all models)
Zotac Trinity

2 HDMI
Asus Strix
Asus TUF
Gigabyte Eagle
GIgabyte Gaming OC *(appears 3070 cards just have one HDMI port)

3 HDMI
Gigabyte AORUS Xtreme
Gigabyte AORUS Master

Updating first post with contributions from other members!


Thanks to:

Sir Psycho
 
Last edited:

Sir Psycho

Weaksauce
Joined
May 29, 2020
Messages
74
ASUS STRIX (this the 3080):

HDMI Output : Yes x 2 (Native) (HDMI 2.1)
Display Port : Yes x 3 (Native) (DisplayPort 1.4a)
HDCP Support : Yes (2.3)

Zotac Trinity has 1.

Gigabyte AORUS Master has 3 as well (basically the same as the already noted Xtreme).

ASUS TUF has 2.
HDMI Output : Yes x 2 (Native) (HDMI 2.1)
Display Port : Yes x 3 (Native) (DisplayPort 1.4a)
HDCP Support : Yes (2.3)

Gigabyte EAGLE has 2!
DisplayPort 1.4a *3
HDMI 2.1 *2
 
Last edited:

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,426
The only models I see a sale page for of these with multiple HDMI ports at launch appears to be the Asus TUF or Gigabyte Eagle. (IMO - two of the uglier cards on this list...)
www.nowinstock.net as a reference.
1600181064297.png


I wonder if the higher tier options won't be available on launch day?
 
Last edited:

doox00

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2005
Messages
3,051
I really want a 3090 with 3 hdmi 2.1 ports, not finding the gigabyte ones listed anywhere yet though.
 

SoCali

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
149
The high end Gigabyte models won't be available until after launch. They are announcing release dates on the 17th. I expect October availability.
 

jeremyshaw

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
12,447
Do those cards explicitly list that each of the 2/3 HDMI ports are HDMI 2.1, and not something screwy like HDMI 2.1 for one port and HDMI 2.0 for the others?
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,426
Do those cards explicitly list that each of the 2/3 HDMI ports are HDMI 2.1, and not something screwy like HDMI 2.1 for one port and HDMI 2.0 for the others?

That is a most excellent question. I had assumed they were 2.1, but that may not be a proper assumption.
 

Ski

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,030
I have a follow-up quick if anyone can ask, it's in regards to audio. I have a home theater system with an HDMI input and I've always wanted to have two separate streams, one to the TV and the other to the home theater system to get uncompressed and lossless audio formats. But also I like having the option of just having the audio out of the TV as well without having to power on the receiver to do that. I'm familiar with ARC and eARC capabilities but I'm still curious to know if I'm able to split the audio signal from the video with these two hdmi ports.
 

TheSlySyl

Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
575
Also, because google is failing me on this relatively simple question. What's the displayport standard on the 3000 series? It seems that displayport 2.0 would be superior to hdmi 2.1 - in theory.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,426
I have a follow-up quick if anyone can ask, it's in regards to audio. I have a home theater system with an HDMI input and I've always wanted to have two separate streams, one to the TV and the other to the home theater system to get uncompressed and lossless audio formats. But also I like having the option of just having the audio out of the TV as well without having to power on the receiver to do that. I'm familiar with ARC and eARC capabilities but I'm still curious to know if I'm able to split the audio signal from the video with these two hdmi ports.

Are you wanting them both at once? I don't think you can do that the way you are describing. But I have my computer desk in my home theater room, and I absolutely chose between my JBL desktop speakers at my desk, and my Home Theater JBL Main speakers by just directing the sound output to the destination of my my choice using the windows 10 audio icon in the system tray (by the clock).

You can mirror the picture to both, but I 'think' you can only pick one destination for the audio stream. Maybe if you bought some sort of HDMI duplicator you could do that - but there'd be a low chance it would actually be in time/sync.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ski
like this

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,426
Also, because google is failing me on this relatively simple question. What's the displayport standard on the 3000 series? It seems that displayport 2.0 would be superior to hdmi 2.1 - in theory.
https://www.cablematters.com/blog/HDMI/hdmi-2-1-cables-for-rtx-3090-graphics-card

Display Port is still at 1.4 on 30X0 series Nvidia cards. HDMI 2.1 is what you want for the greatest compatibility with a new model TV for instance - for QMT, ALLM, 120Hz, 4K VRR. I will still use the Display Port for my GSync connection to my Alienware AW3418DW monitor. But when I replace this monitor with an 2021 OLED (hopefully if they make a 37") then I would be using the HDMI 2.1 port.
 

Wag

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
1,066
Never considered this. Damnit, I guess no EVGA or MSI 3090s for me this round. Only brands with transferable warranties.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,426
I've tried to pick up one of these cards, any of these cards, for the last six days. Easily a dozen hours plus. I've got nothing but a EVGA backorder through Adorama - no word on shipping ETA or arrival.

At this point I'm going to limit my search to Asus Strix and Asus TUF so I can have more than one HDMI. I feel a bit burned out by the whole process.

--
I think the ASUS TUF is probably the winner. $700 Two HDMI ports. Easier on the eyes than Gigabyte Eagle. I wish the TUF didn't have the tiretread marks on the back of it...I think people who buy a $700 luxury item would probably prefer a classy looking item rather than tire tracks, wonky designs, red clown lipstick accents, etc. I don't know who designs the cosmetics on these things - but they should mostly be canned.
 

elvn

2[H]4U
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
3,877
Thanks for the info in this thread. I'm looking at the gigabyte aorus cards since I use multiple hdmi tvs as monitors. Displayport adapters and hdmi handshaking aren't 100% reliable on waking up TVs from standby so I was surprised and glad to see that the aorus cards have three hdmi ports - though it will come at a premium cost. I wish they had a 3x hdmi model without the LCD screen on the card, which probably adds even more to the cost. Though I like some bias lighting and external peripheral lighting trim, etc. - I'm not one of the "rave lighting inside of aquarium glass" pc types so I'll never see it inside of my case anyway.


I'll see what the cost is between the two fan models and the eventual AiO model but that could be quite a wait the way it's looking so far. They don't appear to be released yet and then the stock could be an issue again. Perhaps the increased cost will help the availability some but I'm not counting on it. Whenever I can get one at retail cost I'm in.

I'm assuming you can use all six ports simultaneously unlike when gpus would have a shared dvi/hdmi port. I don't have a use for over three monitors currently but I might eventually.

Never considered this. Damnit, I guess no EVGA or MSI 3090s for me this round. Only brands with transferable warranties.

It looks like the gigabyte cards have a three year warranty. I don't know if it is transferable. I also don't know how good their support system is. My last few cards were evga.
 

Wag

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
1,066
These cards are next to impossible to get anyways. I’ll probably just hold on to my 2080Ti and wait for the 20GB 3080s (whenever that is).
 

elvn

2[H]4U
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
3,877
Hoping to get a 3x hdmi aorus by xmas if possible. I'm not a doorbuster type so I'm normally content to wait. However I'll have a hdmi 2.1 tv as a monitor by the end of november so the aorus would be a big part of that working to it's fullest.
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
47
Looks like Gigabyte AORUS Xtreme gets my money again. I have their AIO watercooled 2080 Ti and it's great.

I have two 4K TVs in different rooms so not being able to hook them up and get proper 4K 4:4:4 60 Hz & HDR support from my PC is a deal breaker. Have had no luck with DisplayPort converters for getting HDR metadata to work properly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: elvn
like this

elvn

2[H]4U
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
3,877
Hopefully later cards cards won't cheap out on the capacitors, at least for their premium cards. I think both gigabyte and evga did use cheaper cap config and only asus used a full array of better caps. There is a RF noise issue

https://www.techpowerup.com/272756/...-capacitor-on-geforce-rtx-3080-graphics-cards

https://forums.evga.com/Message-about-EVGA-GeForce-RTX-3080-POSCAPs-m3095238-p14.aspx


Hopefully the aorus line will be solid but this could be a design issue and not just a capacitor issue from what I've read in those forums:

" Whether a graphics card is stable or not requires a comprehensive evaluation of the overall circuit and power delivery design, not just the difference in capacitor types. "

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...-rtx-3080-graphics-cards.272756/#post-4359321
it is just a retarded PCB/VRM design. You can blame anything in there... caps are just like a plaster to a corpse now. Why there is such an RF creeping in should be fixed in the first place. There are techniques to cancel it it with smart PCB design, there for the may be cases when everything just works without additional components. This ain't the case.

Bravo for the show in these late days. Any card owners, use your rights and return your cards, wait for new more mature PCB revisions. Driver fix to mitigate switching noise, thus the RF creep is a workaround. It is a step back.

Many AIB makers are just scared of the useless dud stock they have made now. They can only blame themselves. Those who made a delay and braced the issues, respect to them.


However, the fact that the asus card's didn't cheap out on the capacitor array and didn't seem to have the same issues is encouraging so hopefully the later released and premium tier cards from gigabyte will be solid too.
 
Last edited:
Top