Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 5U Tower Server, Intel Xeon E3, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by lifanus, Aug 5, 2015.

  1. Steelgrave

    Steelgrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
  2. Pez

    Pez [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    I guess it depends on what kind of WORK you are doing. An i5 is a great processor, and will last a long time. Naturally, there are certain tasks that the Xeon will do better, and tasks that the i5 will do better. With this TS140, all you really need to do is upgrade the memory, gpu, psu and hard drives (and maybe DVD-RW).

    I guess it all depends on how much money you have available to spend. If you are strapped, then the TS140 is a good approach. If you have extra money to spend, then you can part it out (like you are doing) and get exactly the parts you want. I believe the TS140 can't handle memory greater than 1600 mHz, but I could be incorrect about that.
     
  3. HammerSandwich

    HammerSandwich [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Apologies, Pezzy. I'd thought - make that assumed - you'd just popped into the updated thread without reading it.

    Because this thread concerns a Xeon configuration, I also assume that you want to run ECC. It's kinda silly not to when the expensive CPU's already there.

    You'll want DDR3, 1600, unbuffered/unregistered/etc., at 1.35 or 1.5v. Maximum size is 8GB per stick. This Newegg search for those specs is 95% Crucial & Kingston. (FWIW, I run Kingston in my HP E3-1240 box with no complaints.)

    Note that the TS440 is much bigger than the TS140. After working with both models and the Dell T20, I'd buy whichever was the best config for the money at time of order. All offer similar performance, wattage & noise.

    While the 440's hot-swap bays are a nice bonus, I don't find them that big a deal when working with just a few HDs. IMO, folks who need a lot of 3.5" storage should go for something with more bays.
     
  4. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,169
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
  5. SomeGuy133

    SomeGuy133 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,447
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    provantage IIRC had the best or near best price on the crucial ECC 2x 8GB set. Thats where i bought mine and have no issue.
     
  6. seaneboy

    seaneboy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Hey, thanks for the input... I think I'm just going to stick to my original plan and go full blown build. That way I'm not stuck with anything but what I want... Otherwise I'm up the same creek in in right now lackluster OEM parts, just down the road... No thanks! But many thanks for the input!
     
  7. Pez

    Pez [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    I know there is a 24 to 14 pin adapter. Is there any way to convert the 14 pin PSU to a 24 pin mobo? I have a system that had it's 350W PSU burn out, and I'd like to know if I could adapt the TS140's PSU to work with it.
     
  8. roma

    roma Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    All sold out. Over a mil$ worth even at 285.
     
  9. Crosshairs

    Crosshairs Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    23,882
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Yeah, and 31K in PayPal fees alone...:)
     
  10. marvin888

    marvin888 Lurker

    Messages:
    267
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    The thinkserver power supply only has two connectors coming out of it. the 14 pin and one four pin. everything else is powered off the motherboard. The fans from fan headers and two Sata power leads with 3 ea sata power connectors.
    Soo... No, the power supply will not work in any other system. Even if you adapted the 14 pin to 24 pin connector. there is no way to power the HD/SSD
     
  11. Pez

    Pez [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Thanks Marvin. It was worth a shot. The Antec case had a proprietary PSU that fit into the case. I haven't seen any other PSU's that would work the same way as the one it came with. I can easily plug another PSU into the mobo and components, but it wouldn't really fit in the case well. Maybe I can rig something to work with a small enough PSU.
     
  12. roma

    roma Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Is this adapter on ebay a POS? With tax and ship Amazon was $22

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/24Pin-to-14...ovo-Q77-B75-A75-Q75-Motherboard-/311288474312
     
  13. Pez

    Pez [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    I'll let you know later. My TS140 should be arriving sometime today, and I already have the adapter from Amazon. I will hopefully be able to get it set up later tonight.

    One difference is that the Ebay item comes from China. The Amazon one doesn't. And if you don't have Prime, then yes, you have to pay for shipping. If you search for the adapter on Amazon, there is a cheaper one, but it doesn't have as many good reviews as the one you linked.
     
  14. roma

    roma Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Thanks - I do generally suspect items from China but I've also been lucky a few times (like my $6 camping stove lol).

    I got my server today and put W7 on it for now. I'm debating adding a new PSU and vid card or just pulling the cpu for a new mobo in another case. I was waiting for Skylake and DDR4 to upgrade but thats not interesting anymore (maybe next year). Thought maybe I'll fly with the Xeon for now and throw something else (i3 maybe) in the server.
     
  15. Pez

    Pez [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Okay, it will need to be later today. I was on a conference call when UPS tried to deliver it, and I couldn't step away to get it. Now I'll have to pick it up at an Access Point location.
     
  16. Pez

    Pez [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Got my TS140 today. The box was in pretty good shape (some scuff marks, but fully intact). The system inside was packed as you'd expect from Lenovo. Case was free from marks.

    This case is much smaller than I expected. I could barely squeeze in my PSU, but I could not fit my GPU (or even my backup GPU) into it. I would want to cut off at least 1 inch (if not 2) from the PSU and GPU.

    So in the end, this will not meet my needs. Even if I put the mobo in a larger case, it wouldn't fit the GPU (as the card runs right into the SATA ports).

    I put my 16 GB of ECC ram into it, put the stock PSU back on, tossed in an SSD, and am installing Win 7 right now. I'll eventually turn it into a media server.

    So I can't answer a question about the quality of the PSU pin adapter. I will say that it looks to be of good quality, so I wouldn't hesitate getting one if you need it.
     
  17. roma

    roma Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    I tried a AMD 7850 in the case and it fits nice. Of course I would have to add a different psu but like most people I have an old CX430 laying around. Its just that if I have to buy an adapter for $22 and more costly ECC I might as well get a 1150 mobo and pull the Xeon (skipping adapter and using RAM I have already). I can get a lesser cpu to toss back in case. I kind of like the case - not a sharp edge to be found and real rubber footies (and real metal mobo shield in back - not those bendy foil jobs). I like the different SATA connectors that get power off the mobo and not psu.

    My box and packing were also pretty decent. Box looked like it was sitting around collecting dust somewhere but all was good. Since assembling my own computers since 2005 I never expected to open another computer in a box lol.

    Good Youtube I saw

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHUYPRf75U4

    Good article
    http://storageioblog.com/part-ii-lenovo-ts140-server-storage-io-review/
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2015
  18. roma

    roma Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    448
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
  19. hardware_failure

    hardware_failure [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,280
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
  20. Raekwon

    Raekwon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,010
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Edit wrong thread
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  21. dan87

    dan87 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Thanks, picked one up and 32GB of RAM.