laptop will not connect over wifi/ethernet/hotspot

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by antok86, Jun 6, 2017.

  1. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    i am having issues with a laptop that i cannot figure out. it will not get an dhcp ip from wifi/ethernet/ or even when i try to connect to a hotspot. issue is mroe on the laptop side. i have tried dns flush. the system will not let me ipconfig /renew either. i have tried to manually assign ssd and gateway nothing. dhcp looks to be enabled. anybody familier with maybe some services i should check? scanned for malware system is clean. i just keep getting the unidentifed network. pc is running windows 10 64bit. also updated drivers with no luck. never been stuck like this before..any help is appreciated
     
  2. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
  3. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Yea ill copy and paste wgen i get home.

    No this has nothing to donwith the edge router.

    Troubleshooting a friends computer
     
    Cmustang87 likes this.
  4. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Ok, cool.

    Yea, definitely send those results over because there are several reasons for the symptoms, but the root cause could be very simple. So I don't want to spend the time typing up a long response if it's quick and easy :)

    Take care, and looking forward to the update.
     
  5. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Sounds good. Yea i tried alot of things to where im getting cross eyed.lol
     
  6. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    ok heres what i have so far
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Do other devices get a valid IP address when connecting to the same network?
     
  8. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
  9. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    get the same timout ip 169.X.X.X on a usb to ethernet adapter on the laptop
     
  10. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    169.254.0.0/16 is link local IPv4, or RFC3927 - In the Microsoft world it is called APIPA (https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc3927)

    More info:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Link-local_address

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...matic-tcp-ip-addressing-without-a-dhcp-server

    No, I mean - like any other computers.

    It sounds like the network you are connecting to doesn't have a DHCP server on it.

    This is what a device will assign itself if it doesn't receive a DHCPOFFER from a DHCP server - read more about DHCP operations and its handshake process here - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_Host_Configuration_Protocol#Operation

    https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc2131

    Does the router normally hand out IP addresses for DHCP? I would check there and verify - but not until after you try connecting another computer to the same network.

    Try a static IP address on the problematic computer with the appropriate default gateway (the router's IP address)?

    Also, I did some digging and I found a couple threads related to that network adapter:

    http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-2857981/computer-connect-specific-wireless-network.html

    https://communities.intel.com/thread/61370

    I do hope this isn't the issue, but definitely worth reading through.
     
  11. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Router is good i have about 12 devices in my home no issues there. Like i said this is a friends laptop that would not connect at her net work. When i tried on my wireless and on a hotspot i get the same results as my friends so i would be safe to say its isolated to the laptop

    I have manually assigned the problematic laptop nothing changes...wireless and hardwired
     
  12. DrLobotomy

    DrLobotomy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,280
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    I keep a Netgear USB Ethernet dongle in my trouble shooters kit for just such an occurrence.

    I would disable the onboard network devices and try one of those. I would also probably manually uninstall all the network stuff..ie. Client for MS Networks, TCPIP, etc. then install drivers for the USB NIC and see if that fixes it.

    Also make sure Windows firewall isn't blocking your net access. I have seen that whore plague many a laptop after someone tried to configure it or they got jacked by a virus/malware.
     
  13. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    i have tried it also on a usb ethernet dongle. disabled and later uninstalled the wireless and just ran it on ethernet. same results. i will double check the firewall but i also did run it with it off.
     
  14. DrLobotomy

    DrLobotomy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,280
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Something is broken within Windows I would imagine.

    The best way to test that theory is to boot up a live Linux CD/DVD and see if it works then.
     
  15. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    So, it's definitely not the adapter causing the problem. It must be something within the OS.

    Did you try the steps within this KB? https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/10741/windows-10-fix-network-connection-issues

    This step might actually do the trick within that KB, actually:

    Make sure you do it from an elevated command prompt: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc947813(v=ws.10).aspx
    Also, did you try this from safe mode with networking? https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/12376/windows-10-start-your-pc-in-safe-mode
     
  16. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    i have tried those
     
  17. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    so if i give it a static it will recognize the network but no internet
     
  18. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Can you ping the gateway?

    What about pinging 8.8.8.8?
     
  19. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    When i try to ping in cmd i get "general failure"
     
  20. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Can you get a screenshot of that?
     
  21. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Sure
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Oh, you will get that if you don't have a valid IP. Is it still set with a static IP?
     
  23. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Yes it was when i did that
     
  24. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    When set to static it will identify my network but still says no internet....could this have to do with ipv6? Read somewhere that in the background there is some sort of priorties on how ipv4 vs ipv6 works and just unchecking ipv6 doesnt reallg disable it
     
  25. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    So i did a system restore and nothings changed. Now If i restart my ethernet connection will get a dhcp assigned ip but if i disable And re-enable iinstantly get 169.xxx ip. I have to restsrt to get a dhcp assigned ip
     
  26. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    What it looks like when its getting an ip
     

    Attached Files:

  27. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Removed the creators update and nada...think its time to format
     
  28. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,405
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Strange - you are getting a valid IP address, but still a no go.

    Yea, something is seriously messed up. Definitely backup and reformat... awesome troubleshooting work though!