laptop will not connect over wifi/ethernet/hotspot

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
i am having issues with a laptop that i cannot figure out. it will not get an dhcp ip from wifi/ethernet/ or even when i try to connect to a hotspot. issue is mroe on the laptop side. i have tried dns flush. the system will not let me ipconfig /renew either. i have tried to manually assign ssd and gateway nothing. dhcp looks to be enabled. anybody familier with maybe some services i should check? scanned for malware system is clean. i just keep getting the unidentifed network. pc is running windows 10 64bit. also updated drivers with no luck. never been stuck like this before..any help is appreciated
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
Yea ill copy and paste wgen i get home.

No this has nothing to donwith the edge router.

Troubleshooting a friends computer
 

Cmustang87

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
4,497
Ok, cool.

Yea, definitely send those results over because there are several reasons for the symptoms, but the root cause could be very simple. So I don't want to spend the time typing up a long response if it's quick and easy :)

Take care, and looking forward to the update.
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
Sounds good. Yea i tried alot of things to where im getting cross eyed.lol
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
ok heres what i have so far
 

Attachments

  • Capture1.PNG
    Capture1.PNG
    161.5 KB · Views: 25
  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    55.7 KB · Views: 26

Cmustang87

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
4,497
Do other devices get a valid IP address when connecting to the same network?
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
get the same timout ip 169.X.X.X on a usb to ethernet adapter on the laptop
 

Cmustang87

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
4,497
get the same timout ip 169.X.X.X on a usb to ethernet adapter on the laptop

169.254.0.0/16 is link local IPv4, or RFC3927 - In the Microsoft world it is called APIPA (https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc3927)

More info:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Link-local_address

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...matic-tcp-ip-addressing-without-a-dhcp-server

get the same timout ip 169.X.X.X on a usb to ethernet adapter on the laptop

No, I mean - like any other computers.

It sounds like the network you are connecting to doesn't have a DHCP server on it.

This is what a device will assign itself if it doesn't receive a DHCPOFFER from a DHCP server - read more about DHCP operations and its handshake process here - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_Host_Configuration_Protocol#Operation

https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc2131

Does the router normally hand out IP addresses for DHCP? I would check there and verify - but not until after you try connecting another computer to the same network.

Try a static IP address on the problematic computer with the appropriate default gateway (the router's IP address)?

Also, I did some digging and I found a couple threads related to that network adapter:

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-2857981/computer-connect-specific-wireless-network.html

https://communities.intel.com/thread/61370

I do hope this isn't the issue, but definitely worth reading through.
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
Router is good i have about 12 devices in my home no issues there. Like i said this is a friends laptop that would not connect at her net work. When i tried on my wireless and on a hotspot i get the same results as my friends so i would be safe to say its isolated to the laptop

I have manually assigned the problematic laptop nothing changes...wireless and hardwired
 

DrLobotomy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 19, 2016
Messages
6,736
I keep a Netgear USB Ethernet dongle in my trouble shooters kit for just such an occurrence.

I would disable the onboard network devices and try one of those. I would also probably manually uninstall all the network stuff..ie. Client for MS Networks, TCPIP, etc. then install drivers for the USB NIC and see if that fixes it.

Also make sure Windows firewall isn't blocking your net access. I have seen that whore plague many a laptop after someone tried to configure it or they got jacked by a virus/malware.
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
I keep a Netgear USB Ethernet dongle in my trouble shooters kit for just such an occurrence.

I would disable the onboard network devices and try one of those. I would also probably manually uninstall all the network stuff..ie. Client for MS Networks, TCPIP, etc. then install drivers for the USB NIC and see if that fixes it.

Also make sure Windows firewall isn't blocking your net access. I have seen that whore plague many a laptop after someone tried to configure it or they got jacked by a virus/malware.
i have tried it also on a usb ethernet dongle. disabled and later uninstalled the wireless and just ran it on ethernet. same results. i will double check the firewall but i also did run it with it off.
 

DrLobotomy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 19, 2016
Messages
6,736
Something is broken within Windows I would imagine.

The best way to test that theory is to boot up a live Linux CD/DVD and see if it works then.
 

Cmustang87

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
4,497
So, it's definitely not the adapter causing the problem. It must be something within the OS.

Did you try the steps within this KB? https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/10741/windows-10-fix-network-connection-issues

This step might actually do the trick within that KB, actually:

Make sure you do it from an elevated command prompt: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc947813(v=ws.10).aspx
To run these networking commands in a command prompt window
  1. In the search box on the taskbar, type Command prompt, press and hold (or right-click) Command prompt, and then select Run as administrator > Yes.
  2. At the command prompt, run the following commands in the listed order, and then check to see if that fixes your connection problem:
    • Type netsh winsock reset and press Enter.
    • Type netsh int ip reset and press Enter.
    • Type ipconfig /release and press Enter.
    • Type ipconfig /renew and press Enter.
    • Type ipconfig /flushdns and press Enter.

Also, did you try this from safe mode with networking? https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/12376/windows-10-start-your-pc-in-safe-mode
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
So, it's definitely not the adapter causing the problem. It must be something within the OS.

Did you try the steps within this KB? https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/10741/windows-10-fix-network-connection-issues

This step might actually do the trick within that KB, actually:

Make sure you do it from an elevated command prompt: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc947813(v=ws.10).aspx


Also, did you try this from safe mode with networking? https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/12376/windows-10-start-your-pc-in-safe-mode

i have tried those
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
so if i give it a static it will recognize the network but no internet
 

Cmustang87

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
4,497
Oh, you will get that if you don't have a valid IP. Is it still set with a static IP?
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
When set to static it will identify my network but still says no internet....could this have to do with ipv6? Read somewhere that in the background there is some sort of priorties on how ipv4 vs ipv6 works and just unchecking ipv6 doesnt reallg disable it
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
So i did a system restore and nothings changed. Now If i restart my ethernet connection will get a dhcp assigned ip but if i disable And re-enable iinstantly get 169.xxx ip. I have to restsrt to get a dhcp assigned ip
 

antok86

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
8,252
What it looks like when its getting an ip
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5086.JPG
    IMG_5086.JPG
    188 KB · Views: 18

Cmustang87

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
4,497
Strange - you are getting a valid IP address, but still a no go.

Yea, something is seriously messed up. Definitely backup and reformat... awesome troubleshooting work though!
 
Top