Just Cause 4

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,517
What sucks is that Hitman 2 is a solid frickin' game but it's getting poor sales. Meanwhile Just Cause 4 is a giant piece of under developed shit and likely already has more sales.

I've tried to make it my mission in life to shill those Hitman games. ;)
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,530
Just looked at some comparison videos between JC3 and 4. Even with crappy youtube compression the graphical difference is pretty big. The water in JC4 looks much worse, probably worse than JC2. Even the explosions look lower detailed with less debris. I really wanted to play this but I think I'm just going to wait. Even if gameplay isn't changed maybe the graphics will be improved. Can't imagine why it looks so bad compared to JC3 in some areas.

Hitman 2 is pretty fun, but the engine can be optimized better. Sadly Nvidia's current drivers ruined the game and now I can't even get it to launch anymore, otherwise I was going to do a 2nd run through each of the missions.
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,517
Just looked at some comparison videos between JC3 and 4. Even with crappy youtube compression the graphical difference is pretty big. The water in JC4 looks much worse, probably worse than JC2. Even the explosions look lower detailed with less debris. I really wanted to play this but I think I'm just going to wait. Even if gameplay isn't changed maybe the graphics will be improved. Can't imagine why it looks so bad compared to JC3 in some areas.

I proved something to myself yesterday. I came at JC4 fresh and said to myself "Take on its own merits." I just flat out got bored less than an houror so and shut it down. That's sad. I loved 3.

JC3 is the peak of the series. At one point GMG was running the full version for $4 and other insane sales like that.

I think this is the last game for this series and I have to halfway wonder if that's the point. I'm at the point if I see Square Enix's name on something I'm not coming near it until there's a lot of feedback and reviews even if it's for a "trusted series" that I like.


Hitman 2 is pretty fun, but the engine can be optimized better. Sadly Nvidia's current drivers ruined the game and now I can't even get it to launch anymore, otherwise I was going to do a 2nd run through each of the missions.

That's strange.

416.81 is the driver I've been using on a single 1080ti. Avoid HDR.

My current settings are: Fullscreen (not using exclusive, don't know if that matters), 4k, no v-sync (I have G-sync), Supersampling 1.00 (default), Detail Ultra, Textures High, Anisotropic 16, SSAO on, Shadows High (easy to get frames here if you have to turn this down a notch), Simulation quality Base (not sure what these settings do...need to look it up), Override Memory NO,

I hope this gives you something ballpark frame of reference to work with.
After that you know the usuals: Verify files, disable SLI if applicable, watch the overclocks, etc. etc.


So far I've been stable as a rock since day one. *knocks on wood*

Optimization seems pretty good overall for the insane detail and eye candy but I'm sure you're right and it could stand some more tightening. I really hope you can get your issues figured out so you can enjoy this amazing game.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,530
I proved something to myself yesterday. I came at JC4 fresh and said to myself "Take on its own merits." I just flat out got bored less than an houror so and shut it down. That's sad. I loved 3.

JC3 is the peak of the series. At one point GMG was running the full version for $4 and other insane sales like that.

I think this is the last game for this series and I have to halfway wonder if that's the point. I'm at the point if I see Square Enix's name on something I'm not coming near it until there's a lot of feedback and reviews even if it's for a "trusted series" that I like.




That's strange.

416.81 is the driver I've been using on a single 1080ti. Avoid HDR.

My current settings are: Fullscreen (not using exclusive, don't know if that matters), 4k, no v-sync (I have G-sync), Supersampling 1.00 (default), Detail Ultra, Textures High, Anisotropic 16, SSAO on, Shadows High (easy to get frames here if you have to turn this down a notch), Simulation quality Base (not sure what these settings do...need to look it up), Override Memory NO,

I hope this gives you something ballpark frame of reference to work with.
After that you know the usuals: Verify files, disable SLI if applicable, watch the overclocks, etc. etc.


So far I've been stable as a rock since day one. *knocks on wood*

Optimization seems pretty good overall for the insane detail and eye candy but I'm sure you're right and it could stand some more tightening. I really hope you can get your issues figured out so you can enjoy this amazing game.

Hitman 2 issues are related to the current drivers released on December 3rd. It introduces a checkered pattern all over the graphics as well as crashing. I can't even get into the main menu anymore. Reported by a lot of users. Only affects users with an RTX card if I recall. Prior to that it ran good. There is some stuttering (same with Hitman) and the Mumbai mission crashes if you do certain things at the unfinished hotel. There are unrelated to the drivers and are also present on consoles. Outside of that the game ran fine and was pretty fun.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,518
They've yet to fix the crashing on turing cards. It's been present since the game released.

The latest drivers that came out today should fix the checker pattern - I haven't had enough time to see if they fix the random crashing though.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,530
They've yet to fix the crashing on turing cards. It's been present since the game released.

The latest drivers that came out today should fix the checker pattern - I haven't had enough time to see if they fix the random crashing though.

That doesn't sound good. About to uninstall FF XV as that is crashing. Wondering if it is an RTX 20** problem...
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,530
Has anyone tried this game with the recent patches? Trying to play it with 1.03 (or whatever the current version is) but I keep crashing. At first I could go 45 or so minutes but now it appears to happen every 10 minutes. Getting some kind of D3D error.

What I've done so far:
- In Nvidia control panel set power management to Adaptive for the justcause4.exe
- In Task Manager I've set Just Cause 4 to high priority

Two quick suggestions I found on google that were of no help.

System specs: RTX 2070, 16GB RAM, MX500 SSDs, Win 10 Pro, Ryzen 2700X. Latest Nvidia drivers.

Outside of that the game does have some minor technical issues still, although the graphics are worse than JC3 by a mile, and the gameplay/menu is a step back and pretty confusing in terms of figuring out what I have to do to progress and the constant crashing isn't helpful.

If someone has a solution to the crashing I'd appreciate it.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,518
I don't. It's just generally a pile of shite, honestly. I wish I wouldn't have 'saved money' by buying it from greenmangaming, because if I had bought it on steam I would have 100% returned it.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,530
I don't. It's just generally a pile of shite, honestly. I wish I wouldn't have 'saved money' by buying it from greenmangaming, because if I had bought it on steam I would have 100% returned it.

I very close to doing just that. From what little I've played it is a step back in every way possible. Literally every way possible, including sounds. Also set the JC4.exe to Win 7 compatibility which is a fix I find on youtube. Didn't help either.

Last thing I can try is setting it to 50hz in game which apparently is another fix. But when panning around the game looks so damn blurry at 119hz I can't imagine would it would look like at 50. The game also seems to default to 640x480 or whatever with V Sync after each crash.

Any other suggestions welcome but I can't help but think what the hell went wrong in development with this thing.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,518
I very close to doing just that. From what little I've played it is a step back in every way possible. Literally every way possible, including sounds. Also set the JC4.exe to Win 7 compatibility which is a fix I find on youtube. Didn't help either.

Last thing I can try is setting it to 50hz in game which apparently is another fix. But when panning around the game looks so damn blurry at 119hz I can't imagine would it would look like at 50. The game also seems to default to 640x480 or whatever with V Sync after each crash.

Any other suggestions welcome but I can't help but think what the hell went wrong in development with this thing.

Even minus the technical issues, and the step backwards in graphics - The gameplay is a huge downgrade. It's complete crap. Just return it if you can.

My guess? They moved to a new engine for this game, and I assume it hampered many months of development.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,530
Even minus the technical issues, and the step backwards in graphics - The gameplay is a huge downgrade. It's complete crap. Just return it if you can.

My guess? They moved to a new engine for this game, and I assume it hampered many months of development.

Turned off SSAO. Great, went about 45 minutes until a crash. Seemed semi playable. Now I'm back to 3-15 minute crashes. The few times you get into fights with clusters of enemies it can be fun, but it is so barren between enemy areas. Long stretches of nothing. The problem is they require you to get chaos to progress further, which means zipping around for 8 or so minutes to find a new area to kill something. Seems like they took a page out of Ubisoft's book. Missions themselves are less about killing swarms of enemies in vehicles but more about jumping out and pressing a button to hack some crap every now and then.

Graphics can be utter shit in areas. Water is still worse than JC2. Some areas are absolutely barren. JC3 looks far better. Some areas still have terrian shifting shape just feet away from your character.

You're right, this is an utter trash game. Even with the latest patch as of today, the game is still incomplete. Wish me luck for my refund....

Back to Borderlands the Pre Sequel. Started that a few days ago but after spending more time picking up cash than shooting things I gave up. Wish I just kept going with that, at least it doesn't crash. All of a sudden I am now a bit worried about Rage 2 since Avalanche is helping with it.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,518
For free it's worth screwing around with for a couple of hours. It's a piece of shit otherwise.

JC3 is objectively a better game in almost every single way.

And year old thread, but Rage 2 ended up being largely a pile as well.

Avalanche studios is dead to me now, and they did it to themselves by taking on three projects at the same time instead of focusing on one quality product. Just Cause 4, Rage 2, and I can't even remember the name of the crappy survival game they came out with; All three suck, and you can tell had they just put all of their resources into a single game we would have had a better product. Mad Max and Just Cause 3 were both outstanding..

Mad Max can be had for like $3 which is a better buy if you want this 'style' of open world game.
 
Last edited:

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,530
For free it's worth screwing around with for a couple of hours. It's a piece of shit otherwise.

JC3 is objectively a better game in almost every single way.

And year old thread, but Rage 2 ended up being largely a pile as well.

Avalanche studios is dead to me now, and they did it to themselves by taking on three projects at the same time instead of focusing on one quality product. Just Cause 4, Rage 2, and I can't even remember the name of the crappy survival game they came out with; All three suck, and you can tell had they just put all of their resources into a single game we would have had a better product. Mad Max and Just Cause 3 were both outstanding..

Mad Max can be had for like $3 which is a better buy if you want this 'style' of open world game.

Agreed with the exception of Rage 2. I feel like I am the only one who enjoyed that game. It wasn't a great game but I found it fun enough and it wasn't a 50 hour slog which helped. I think Mad Max was better, but still a bit flawed. I'd recommend both but again they aren't great games, just average to good at best.

I got JC4 for free. Not sure when I'll play it. But it was absolute, utter shit the last time I tried it. An alpha build, literally. It really was a pre-beta game. Seemed like they were still missing some key gameplay features and the engine/technical aspect was still feature incomplete. So I'm not sure how it fairs now. So glad I refunded it though. Maybe for free with the latest updates it is worth playing... I'll see about it eventually.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,966
I didn't hate Rage 2, but it definitely wasn't a great game. I'd say it's a prime example of why every game doesn't need to have a sandbox/open-world. Rage 2's world is sprawling and empty. It's only there to get between you and the story missions. Also (just like the first Rage), the game ends mostly out of the blue. Things start to build up and the the later missions even got pretty good. Then "poof," you're done. You'll think there's a 2nd half of the game or at least something else coming, but nope.
There are some other random-style missions if you hunt for them, but there's no point to doing them. The vehicles are mostly pointless outside of getting you to points of interest faster. The idea of it being a hybrid driver/shooter definitely is not the case. The gameshow stuff that highlighted the first game is a throw-away, too.
 

RanceJustice

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
6,267
I'd hoped that Just Cause 4 would be at least the equal of JC3 when patched and updated after launch. Between balance/QOL/technical improvements and additional "complete edition" DLC content, I hoped it would prove to be at least decent and fun as its predecessors. I'll have to give it a try one of these days, but it will be disappointing if it doesn't improve. I can recall how certain games, namely Assassin's Creed Unity and Batman: Arkham Knight both got poor reviews near launch for janky play, technical elements, lack of content, or other problems... but later on someone playing it with all the DLC included and after a few updates would have a very different, much improved experience. Here's hoping that can be the case for JC4 ,but sometimes a game just misses the mark.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,518
I'd hoped that Just Cause 4 would be at least the equal of JC3 when patched and updated after launch. Between balance/QOL/technical improvements and additional "complete edition" DLC content, I hoped it would prove to be at least decent and fun as its predecessors. I'll have to give it a try one of these days, but it will be disappointing if it doesn't improve. I can recall how certain games, namely Assassin's Creed Unity and Batman: Arkham Knight both got poor reviews near launch for janky play, technical elements, lack of content, or other problems... but later on someone playing it with all the DLC included and after a few updates would have a very different, much improved experience. Here's hoping that can be the case for JC4 ,but sometimes a game just misses the mark.

The difference with those games was that those were mostly technical issues not gameplay issues.
The problem here was both technical and just being a shitty game.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,530
The difference with those games was that those were mostly technical issues not gameplay issues.
The problem here was both technical and just being a shitty game.

This, unless something massive changed from the last time I played. Which I doubt. But I'll find out eventually.
 

jiminator

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
11,607
I'm not impressed. Just glad I did not pay money for this. In the other games the whole point was to blow stuff up until you complete an area. Here it seems like that is optional, the goal is to kill people and get to other sections. I am only in the beginning and maybe that changes. But for now it seems like a departure.
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,517
I threw in the towel and uninstalled it several months ago. I think this and the Mad Max game suffered for each other's existence. Either one or the other should have been made not both. Max Max was ok but forgettable after a point for me. I guess this series is over and I can look back on 3 as the apex.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,518
I threw in the towel and uninstalled it several months ago. I think this and the Mad Max game suffered for each other's existence. Either one or the other should have been made not both. Max Max was ok but forgettable after a point for me. I guess this series is over and I can look back on 3 as the apex.

Mad Max and JC3 were developed around the same time and use the same engine.

JC4 was developed at the same time as Rage 2 and generation zero which all have serious issues.
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,517
Mad Max and JC3 were developed around the same time and use the same engine.

JC4 was developed at the same time as Rage 2 and generation zero which all have serious issues.

Ok. Thanks for setting me straight on that. I agree with your assessment.
 

DWolvin

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Messages
2,990
Holy hell, I really would have thought JC2 was years before Mad Max... And a much better game (at least more silly fun).
 
Top