Just Cause 3 Released With No Multi-GPU Support And Other Issues

HardOCP News

[H] News
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
0
Just Cause 3 came out today and, much to the surprise of PC gamers everywhere, the game has no multi-GPU support. Making matters worse, there are reports coming in from around the internet of other issues with the PC version of the game. Are any of you experiencing problems with the game?

There's a Just Cause 3 Graphics & Performance Guide on the GeForce website for NVIDIA owners and buried deep in the comments is the admission that the game engine does not currently support multi-GPU configurations. Apparently SLI or Crossfire support, if possible, will require an update to the game itself. That's not the only technical issue people are running into playing this, as GameWatcher notes lots of posts on reddit and the Steam Forums outline other problems users have encountered.
 

Zion Halcyon

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
2,108
Wait wait wait.....


Brand new game comes out with less features than expected and is buggy as hell?


Where have I heard THAT one before?

:/


Seriously, the number of PC games that are coming out in this type of state is appalling.

And I have no idea how to fix it because it has to do with a combination of the horrid publishers, the arrogant developers, and the putrid working conditions in the industry.

I am the furthest thing from a pro-union guy, but if there was one last arena that could actually benefit from a legitimate union, it would be game design and development.
 

NickJames

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
6,683
What? A new game without day 1 SLI or CFX support? What world are we living in!?!?

But seriously I am done with multi GPU setups. This past year has shown me how worthless it is.
 

Zion Halcyon

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
2,108
What? A new game without day 1 SLI or CFX support? What world are we living in!?!?

But seriously I am done with multi GPU setups. This past year has shown me how worthless it is.

Companies just don't invest the time to do it right.
 
M

mls1995

Guest
Why is everyone pimping this game? IMO Just Cause 2 was a laggy POS. Every time I died it took me to the same point in the game and reset my progress. Tried playing it twice over a few years time.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
19,880
What? A new game without day 1 SLI or CFX support? What world are we living in!?!?

But seriously I am done with multi GPU setups. This past year has shown me how worthless it is.

Been that way forever. It's such a small niche, devs don't bother.
Sucks for those who have it (it can be awesome), but I'm in the same boat. I just get the best single GPU I can afford and let it ride knowing 4K ain't happening.
 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
currently downloading my copy of JC3 on steam... i picked it up cheap via a code from someone on hardforum.

I bought it because it looks fun as hell... but shit like this seriously makes me think "why didn't I test out a copy via piracy first" Yup, that's right I said it. Like any rational person I hate getting burned by a shit product, and there's always the chance that no matter how cool it looks or who the dev is, it could suck balls. I watched some crazy gorgeous 1440p footage of the game thinking I would be able to get that silky smooth with my Xfire 290's... guess not now.

Outside of the SLI issue, the other bugs that just shouldn't be there, it's crap like this that makes me pissed off that trying to be legit and legal leaves me with that "I just got fucked" feeling.

Here's hoping I don't get bit by all the supposed bugs they left in the launch copy. I guess every now and then I need a reminder why "try before you buy" is never a bad thing in the software world.

And if you feel the need to go on a holy war rant that "piracy is bad", would you be willing to cover my $40 refund if the game is a broke pile of garbage? Thought so.
 

Mut1ny

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
1,854
Why is all this stuff broken on release? Just cause.

*ZING!*

But yeah, using single GPU right now so it won't be a bother. Wish people would Steam refund though. Tell them, just as we did with Arkham Knight, that this shit ain't cool.

But I guess multi-GPU systems are in the vast minority I would assume. Hmm...
 

Spire3660

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Messages
1,032
Why is all this stuff broken on release? Just cause.

*ZING!*

But yeah, using single GPU right now so it won't be a bother. Wish people would Steam refund though. Tell them, just as we did with Arkham Knight, that this shit ain't cool.

But I guess multi-GPU systems are in the vast minority I would assume. Hmm...

You should have known going into an SLI rig that you will always be a niche group of users. SLI rigs should be considered experimental at all times.
 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
Why is all this stuff broken on release? Just cause.

*ZING!*

But yeah, using single GPU right now so it won't be a bother. Wish people would Steam refund though. Tell them, just as we did with Arkham Knight, that this shit ain't cool.

But I guess multi-GPU systems are in the vast minority I would assume. Hmm...

If the game sucks ass and is broken -- i have no recourse as I bought my code from someone out of that "intel bundle"

About to launch and play now, we'll see I suppose.
 

raz-0

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,841
You should have known going into an SLI rig that you will always be a niche group of users. SLI rigs should be considered experimental at all times.

This is why I don't do it anymore. The math just doesn't work out.
 

RanceJustice

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
6,193
I should mention that JC3, on top of all these other issues, has the horrid Denuvo copy protection garbage. As a matter of principle, I try to avoid purchasing any title that has it (especially full price etc). Truly vile stuff and more developers are getting on board. Other who feel the same way I do, I encourage you to write to publishers and express your displeasure. Its bad enough they're expecting basically $90 fucking dollars for the complete (single player!) game and seem to have all sorts of problems with the engine, development etc... but to stack Denuvo on top of all that? Fuck em.
 

dark_reign

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
2,314
One thing I noticed right away was the narrow FOV. Unfortunately there's no slider in the menu. Also looked for a hack to no avail. It's playable but not ideal.
 

Yakk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
5,810
At this point, after all the disaster PC releases, whoever still buys PC games blindly on release day have only themselves to blame.
 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
first 3 minutes of the game and I'm greeted with this:



This is not how you make a good first impression... now I have to fiddle and fuck with whatever is causing it just so I can enjoy the god damn game I paid for.

This.... this right here is why people pirate. And right now I'm kinda wishing I had pirated it too.
 

magoo

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
14,459
first 3 minutes of the game and I'm greeted with this:



This is not how you make a good first impression... now I have to fiddle and fuck with whatever is causing it just so I can enjoy the god damn game I paid for.

This.... this right here is why people pirate. And right now I'm kinda wishing I had pirated it too.

Aw come on......those bright white spots?

Those are fireflies added for tropical atmosphere......
 

DF-1

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
2,634
The message PC people are getting is: Its not worth to give them double/triple your money for SLI/TRI. seriously. you want people to buy more GPUs but AAA titles aren't supporting multi gpus, its just not going to work.

Also : Tell people before they purchase your game if it has support for multi gpus or not. its not fair to the customer to be greeted on day 1 without proper support. If the developer doesn't want to tell the consumers theres no multi-gpu, then the GPU companies (nvidia/amd) should.
 

madFive

metal[H]ead
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
9,072
One thing I noticed right away was the narrow FOV. Unfortunately there's no slider in the menu. Also looked for a hack to no avail. It's playable but not ideal.

This is the worst news I've heard about the game yet. Really hope FOV gets added.

I was so tempted to pre-order JC3, loved JC2 so much, but now I'm glad I waited. FOV adjustment better be added in soon, or I might not get it in xmas sale either. :(
 

drklu

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 15, 2013
Messages
2,637
I have been watching Dansgaming on twitch play this game for several hours now without issue. Looks great, no SLI support is a bummer but maybe there is a workaround that will be discovered similar to FO4's initial release ?
 

Darksword

Gawd
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
819
At this point, after all the disaster PC releases, whoever still buys PC games blindly on release day have only themselves to blame.

Very true. It seems most AAA games released now are basically Beta's just to get it out as quickly as possible.
 

Methos

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
324
I should mention that JC3, on top of all these other issues, has the horrid Denuvo copy protection garbage. As a matter of principle, I try to avoid purchasing any title that has it (especially full price etc). Truly vile stuff and more developers are getting on board. Other who feel the same way I do, I encourage you to write to publishers and express your displeasure. Its bad enough they're expecting basically $90 fucking dollars for the complete (single player!) game and seem to have all sorts of problems with the engine, development etc... but to stack Denuvo on top of all that? Fuck em.

I agree, especially with your final sentiment. Publisher just copy protected themselves out of a sale. Fuck em.
 

maddude

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
3,141
The last time I bought a same day release game it was Far Cry 2. Loved the first one, and the second was such a HUGE let down. Same thing with Crysis 2. I could play the original for days, but I held off on the second one and it wasn't worth the $5 I spent on it.

Hopefully JC3 is patched and improves. I love JC2 and had to fight the urge to pre-order JC3.
 

Kor

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
2,175
Game works fine for me, only have a single GPU though (gave up on mutli GPU a while ago). My understanding is that there is a big problem with terrain streaming on the current AMD drivers.

Game looks pretty nice and runs well, though the motion blur is aggressively bad. Good thing I can turn it off.
 

cageymaru

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
20,710
first 3 minutes of the game and I'm greeted with this:



This is not how you make a good first impression... now I have to fiddle and fuck with whatever is causing it just so I can enjoy the god damn game I paid for.

This.... this right here is why people pirate. And right now I'm kinda wishing I had pirated it too.

You have to use the latest AMD Crimson driver that was released on Monday to avoid stuff like that. The game runs perfectly fine @1080p for me. I stay around 80 fps until there are a lot of explosions. Then it will dip to 60 fps for a second and return to 80 fps.
 

fredgarven

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
67
currently downloading my copy of JC3 on steam... i picked it up cheap via a code from someone on hardforum.

I bought it because it looks fun as hell... but shit like this seriously makes me think "why didn't I test out a copy via piracy first" Yup, that's right I said it. Like any rational person I hate getting burned by a shit product, and there's always the chance that no matter how cool it looks or who the dev is, it could suck balls. I watched some crazy gorgeous 1440p footage of the game thinking I would be able to get that silky smooth with my Xfire 290's... guess not now.

Outside of the SLI issue, the other bugs that just shouldn't be there, it's crap like this that makes me pissed off that trying to be legit and legal leaves me with that "I just got fucked" feeling.

Here's hoping I don't get bit by all the supposed bugs they left in the launch copy. I guess every now and then I need a reminder why "try before you buy" is never a bad thing in the software world.

And if you feel the need to go on a holy war rant that "piracy is bad", would you be willing to cover my $40 refund if the game is a broke pile of garbage? Thought so.

http://store.steampowered.com/steam_refunds/

Quoted from that page:

"It doesn't matter. Valve will, upon request via help.steampowered.com, issue a refund for any reason, if the request is made within fourteen days of purchase, and the title has been played for less than two hours. There are more details below, but even if you fall outside of the refund rules we’ve described, you can ask for a refund anyway and we’ll take a look."
 

Balkroth

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
348
I have had light flashing problems on my 290x Crossfire, but then I realized I had it forced on and after fixing that game runes fine. Though glitchy menu, and sometimes the voices don't seem synced right? Not sure if I'm just imaging that though.
 

B2BigAl

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Messages
2,076
I got it for $23 so I'm not too upset (haven't played it yet). I just expect to wait for at least a month to play any game after release, that's the sad reality of things anymore. As far as SLI, I'm done after this generation. I've had SLI/crossfire rigs ever since the AMD 4970, and it seemed like things were improving there for a little while, but the last couple of years, things seem to have been going downhill. It's just not worth it anymore, I'm sticking with high end, single card solutions for the foreseeable future. Maybe DX12 will turn things around...I don't know anymore.
 

cyclone3d

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
14,630
first 3 minutes of the game and I'm greeted with this:



This is not how you make a good first impression... now I have to fiddle and fuck with whatever is causing it just so I can enjoy the god damn game I paid for.

This.... this right here is why people pirate. And right now I'm kinda wishing I had pirated it too.

What driver version are you running?

Did you disable CF before running?

I just got it as well and it works great on my R9 390 with the new Crimson beta driver set on Win 10. I didn't even try it before uninstalling the original Crimson and installing the beta Crimson.
 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
What driver version are you running?

Did you disable CF before running?

I just got it as well and it works great on my R9 390 with the new Crimson beta driver set on Win 10. I didn't even try it before uninstalling the original Crimson and installing the beta Crimson.

I got to monkey with it a bit before I had to go to work tonight. Gave the beta crimson drivers a try and it seemed to solve the issue. Played a bit of the game for maybe 30 min, a and it looks good. I think the secret to enjoying the game is knowing it's an over the top console game to just run around and blow shit up.

There are some bugs with the menu system - for me, i have to stare at him sitting on the beach for a good 15 or 20 seconds before it loads the menu. Is there a way on PC to put the game into offline mode? I couldn't give a shit about friends times and such.

The game looks pretty good when you are looking at things from afar, up close though it has that console feel a bit. I was enjoying just blowing stuff up with my grapples and finding fun ways of screwing with things.

I haven't tried going back to an already completed area, but I hope once you destroy all that stuff, you have the option to go back and destroy it again, i'd hate to slowly have a big game with all my stuff unlocked and modded up but nothing crazy to destroy.
 

cyclone3d

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
14,630
I got to monkey with it a bit before I had to go to work tonight. Gave the beta crimson drivers a try and it seemed to solve the issue. Played a bit of the game for maybe 30 min, a and it looks good. I think the secret to enjoying the game is knowing it's an over the top console game to just run around and blow shit up.

There are some bugs with the menu system - for me, i have to stare at him sitting on the beach for a good 15 or 20 seconds before it loads the menu. Is there a way on PC to put the game into offline mode? I couldn't give a shit about friends times and such.

The game looks pretty good when you are looking at things from afar, up close though it has that console feel a bit. I was enjoying just blowing stuff up with my grapples and finding fun ways of screwing with things.

I haven't tried going back to an already completed area, but I hope once you destroy all that stuff, you have the option to go back and destroy it again, i'd hate to slowly have a big game with all my stuff unlocked and modded up but nothing crazy to destroy.

The grappling hook is great fun. I was using it to string up bad guys to buildings, hook cars together and watch them pull each other around, having cars pull down trees, etc.

I was also messing around with adding a bunch of cars to my garage/drop point options.

It is crazy unrealistic, but that's how this series is. Anybody have any idea how far you have to fall before it will even hurt you?
 

cinnamonandgravy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
268
does the game at least have any dx12 juciness?

JC2, when it was released, was one of the only games that was dx10-only. it was great. no dx9 lameness with a couple dx10 feature tacked on.

anyone play JC2 with the bolo patch? JC3 looks like its just JC2 + bolo.
 
Top