Just bought an HP 2000-329WM for $248. Time to mod!

Discussion in 'Mobile Computing' started by Rob94hawk, Nov 25, 2011.

  1. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Just picked up this HP 2000-329WM at Walmart for $248 with an AMD E350 cpu and 3 GB DDR3. This is my first laptop so once I figure out what kind of mobo is in this thing that's when I'll start picking out the mods.

    1. Upgradeable to 8 GB DDR3
    2. Probably it's a SATA I controller so I'll be maxing it out with an SSD.
    3. I'll have to see if it's possible to swap the cpu
    4. Upgrade the battery

    I didn't even open the box and I'm not at home so right now I'm searching the net for specs but so far nothing. If anyone has any info on this please fill me in. Thanx
     
  2. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    I bought the same laptop... not to bad for price... Ordered 8 gig of memory and a 128GB SSD. Will get a BR player down the road.
     
  3. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Just called HP and the SATA controller is SATA I. So getting a SSD with over 150 MB/s is a waste of $$.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  4. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    So far I've swapped it's 3 GB ram for some Kingston 8 GB DDR3. Booted up with no issues. I hope it helps with it's performance.
     
  5. GreenMonkey

    GreenMonkey 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,160
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    An SSD makes a big difference over a 5400RPM HDD, especially in a slightly underpowered laptop.

    I swapped in an Intel X25-M into my HP TX2 tablet laptop (based on a Turion X2) - it was HUGELY faster than the 320GB 5400rpm drive that was in there before. Huge difference, especially in a laptop. Especially best if you want to power it up to do something quickly and then shut back down,
     
  6. musicalwatch

    musicalwatch n00bie

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Any news on replacing CPU there? I got the same laptop and wanted to paly some dota but it seems like CPU isn't good enough. In addition, i've heard the game is only using one core :mad:
     
  7. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    So far nothing. I was going to try Anandtech.com but don't remember my log on ID for the forums. lol
     
  8. Thor

    Thor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,936
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    You guys are going to figure out that all of these cheap, low powered laptops all use BGA package processors and are not up gradeable
     
    alxlwson likes this.
  9. Dew

    Dew 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,026
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    You guys do realize that the E-350 is pretty much a 1.7GHz Dual-Core Atom as far as CPU performance goes, right? I'm not sure what point there is in going from 3GB to 8GB of RAM with such an aenemic CPU. The fact of the matter is that you wont be taxing 3GB of RAM all that much with the tasks your CPU is capable of.

    Now, a SSD on the other hand will make the machine feel like it is 5x faster.
     
  10. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai Death Incarnate

    Messages:
    17,502
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    ^ actually it's better than an atom as it can run x64 software...most atoms are stuck in x32 land and that means some security flaws will never be fixed...not to mention the video processor that literally runs circles around the intel offering.


    as for the Sata AMD E series CPU comes with a support logic that supports SATA 6GB/sec except for the D1 model that supports only 3GB/sec

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    The 8 GB was $30 well spent IMO.

    From what I'm reading and from some of the research I've done from the net this E350 beats out my sons old school AMD FX53 with his ancient ATI X800XTPE graphics card. He doesn't really play any hard core games so I'm not really concerned.

    Thanx for the info. Yup. Windows 7 64bit is pre installed. But is there a way of telling which cpu model I have?
     
  12. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai Death Incarnate

    Messages:
    17,502
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    what was the speed of the ram the E series GPU really benefits from 1833 ram. You will have to run a hardware ID utility and then go from there to determine what support logic you have.
     
  13. Nappyracing001

    Nappyracing001 n00bie

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Hey i got the same deal you did on bf and wondering what mods you've done so far and what made the biggest difference in performance. I ordered 8gig of ram already, and thinking of the 128gb ssd just not sure what should be my next move. Any advice or input would be helpful thanks in advance - James
     
  14. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai Death Incarnate

    Messages:
    17,502
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    using PC1833 ram is the biggest performance ouside of an ssd that you can do to the machine
     
  15. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Well its done.... laptop now has GSkill 8GB or DDR3 1333 and a SAMSUNG 470 Series 128gig SSD.... totally different system.... Best $$$ I have spent on a setup... Adds up to $450 for everything and it was worth it... might not be a i7 $1200 laptop but it does the job and then some.
     
  16. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Nice! I bet 99% of that $450 was on the SSD too. lol

    With the SSD Win7 probably is much more faster with the virtual memory it uses. With the 8 GB ram I should just shut off the virtual memory since I still have the 5400 rpm HDD.
     
  17. ebduncan

    ebduncan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,978
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    best upgrades you can do to Amd APU labtop is simple

    SSD, and High speed, tight timing memory.


    large mounts of ram is not really going to do much for you, unless you want to operate a ram drive or something like such.

    I personally just picked up a Gateway A4-3300m notebook. Nv55s17u To replace my ancient Gateway 1ghz celeron.

    Like others have said the e-350 lacks alot of cpu power, so anything more than 4gb of ram is likely to be a waste as far as performance goes. You will likely run out of CPU overhead before your memory is full or close.
     
  18. Rob94hawk

    Rob94hawk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Update: According to HWiNFO this laptop has a SATA II controller. It registers at SATA 3 Gb/s.

    I'm only updating this if anyone else happens to have a surviving HP 2000-329WM & wants to upgrade it.

    My 5400 HD is failing & I am upgrading to an SSD now.
     
  19. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    5,391
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013