Just bought a Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming Ultimate...

Discussion in 'AMD MoBos' started by Tahoe916, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. Tahoe916

    Tahoe916 Gawd

    Messages:
    611
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Just bought a new mobo and Ryzen 2700 to replace my aging i7 3820. Wow, what a difference even at stock speeds!

    I got it all up and running and verified everything is working, RAM is running XMP @ 3000MHz, so I decided to look into how to overclock these (I went with the 2700 @ MC for $229 since I knew I would OC it and I already have a custom WC loop). I'm a little dismayed that the Gaming Ultimate only offers voltage offset choices in the BIOS. I can't set the voltage as needed.

    But, I'm not sure I even need to? It seems like most of the guys Ive seen online are just setting a +.225v on the Vcore and changing the multiplier to x42 and calling it a day. Which I'm perfectly happy to do, but unsure if I should return the MoBo and get the Gaming 5 or even Gaming 7 instead. Its +$40 or +$90. I know the 7 offers direct voltage setting in the BIOS, does the 5 as well? I don't really need anything else they offer on the Mobo so this would be essentially paying to set my voltages for future chips maybe?

    Any input? Thanks!
     
  2. sleepybp

    sleepybp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Congrats on your new system.
    I am running a 2600X on very inexpensive Gigabyte ultra gaming x470.
    I am quite thrifty and recommend going with mid grade or lower motherboards as long as they are made from reputable manufacturer. Additional money is better spend on GPU upgrades since most motherboards perform very similar.
     
    harmattan likes this.
  3. Tahoe916

    Tahoe916 Gawd

    Messages:
    611
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Same mobo I have...its a damn nice board for $139. And the Ryzen 2700 at $229 is a steal...that a boat load of performance for $370. I'm just not sure if the OC options in the higher tiered boards are worth it?
     
  4. pgaster

    pgaster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,261
    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    The Ultra Gaming?
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/506676/X470_AORUS_ULTRA_GAMING_AM4_ATX_AMD_Motherboard

    From what I have seen the next level up, the Gaming 5 has the same VRM, so same overclocking potential there. It just adds Wifi and a few other features. If you don't need that then there really isn't anything worth spending the extra money on.

    The Gaming 7 has the better VRM, but yeah, that's a lot of extra money for probably a marginal difference in performance.

    Guru3D overclocked a 2700X on the Ultra Gaming and it worked fine, so I don't see the need to spend more. You made some good choices there if you ask me.

    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/gigabyte_x470_aorus_ultra_gaming_review,18.html
     
  5. Tahoe916

    Tahoe916 Gawd

    Messages:
    611
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Awesome, that's pretty much what I'm thinking...I got such a great price on everything is seems silly to spend $90 more on some BIOS options. I'll roll with it as is and just lock it at 4.2GHz 1.4v

    Thanks!
     
  6. Tahoe916

    Tahoe916 Gawd

    Messages:
    611
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Just a heads up for anyone else looking at this board. I'm contemplating returning it and getting the Gaming 5 version. Not sure if the BIOS is different though? Trying to OC, and I can only set voltage via offsets. The max offset is +0.300v, and when I boot up CPUz is telling me that I'm at 1.293v at full load. This isn't enough for a stable 4.2GHz OC. I can set the voltage via Ryzen Master (in fact you can way overvolt to 1.8v on accident, so be careful!) but I'm not sure if I want to go the software route for my 24/7 OC. I think I might spend the $40 and get the next tier up as I believe you can set the voltage manually in those BIOSes.

    If anyone knows for sure, please chime in!
     
  7. Kelvarr

    Kelvarr 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,061
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Following, because this is one board I was looking at
     
  8. Tahoe916

    Tahoe916 Gawd

    Messages:
    611
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    My AM4 waterblock should be here tomorrow, soon as I slap it in I'll come back with my results on the OC. Still debating if I should return it and get the Gaming 5 as i "think" it allows you to set the Vcore manually in that BIOS.
     
  9. Kelvarr

    Kelvarr 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,061
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    I don't know...this is all it says in the PDF manual

    "Advanced Voltage Settings This sub-menu allows you to set CPU, chipset and memory voltages"
     
  10. Kelvarr

    Kelvarr 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,061
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    This is for the Gaming 7, but...

    This (with screenshots) overclocking guide says you can set the Vcore, or it can be set to Auto.

    I can't believe that the same option wouldn't be available in yours.
     
  11. Tahoe916

    Tahoe916 Gawd

    Messages:
    611
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Yea, I can only find the Gaming 7 (which allows you to set Vcore) and the Ultra Gaming (which only allows Vcore offset of up to +0.300)....I can't find anything about the Gaming 5. I'm guessing it will be like the Gaming 7, but would like to know for sure before I return it. It works fine if I do it through Ryzen Master, so i know its perfectly capable of it. Its just GB has not included that setting in the BIOS because they are stinky cunts. -_-
     
  12. Tahoe916

    Tahoe916 Gawd

    Messages:
    611
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Microcenter didnt have the Gaming 7 in stock, so I ended up purchasing an ASUS Strix X470 Gaming-F for $190. It has everything I needed and more for OC'ing. Currently at 4.3GHz on all cores, but have a lot of tweaking to do still and still haven't even started on the RAM yet.