Joining a Macbook Pro to Active Directory

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by DeaconFrost, May 23, 2017.

  1. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,090
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    I'm completely at a loss for what to try at this point. I've gone through about every step I can find with Google, with no luck. I have a new Macbook Pro running El Capitan (10.11.6). I am able to ping either of our domain controllers.

    In network settings, I can confirm that it has a proper IP address, our domain (company.local, for this purpose) is shown in Search Domains, and the proper DNS servers are listed.

    Whenever I try to join the domain, I am greeted with a message that is it unable to contact the directory server. Sometimes, it adds a 5200 at the end of the message. I am using domain admin credentials, and have tried creating the computer account in AD already and without the account being present.

    Is there anything else I can try? The two domain controllers are both running Server 2016, if that matters.
     
  2. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,991
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Does your computer name contain a hyphen (-)?

    To check Choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Sharing.

     
  3. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,090
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Nope, no hyphen in the computer name.
     
  4. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,991
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Did you check that you can bind even a windows machine from that network?
     
  5. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,090
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Yes, no issues with adding Windows machines. I've done three this week already from the very same connection.
     
  6. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,090
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Is there anything that needs to be enabled on the DC to allow Mac's to join? Any services or roles?
     
  7. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,090
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    According to Apple Support, AD2016 may not be compatible with Macs as of yet. Ugh.
     
  8. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,991
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Yet another reason why not to upgrade. You get spyware and stuff breaks.
     
  9. mrwizardno2

    mrwizardno2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Spyware?

    Deacon, I have a Mac Mini bound to my Server 2016 based AD just fine. It's the latest Sierra, but I started off with El Capitan. Can't remember doing anything special.
    Can you confirm lookup of DC SRV records for the domain on the Mac? To me it sounds like it doesn't know what site it's in or available DCs.
     
  10. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,991
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
  11. abovewood

    abovewood n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    never have a problem with joining Mac to domain at work. Maybe you need to make change to the DC.