Is this possible than turning on oven make a 1 second power outage in home? ( playing diablo 1 )

Discussion in 'General Software' started by mgty23, Apr 24, 2019.

  1. mgty23

    mgty23 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    278
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Hi.Have an question. It is possible that when turning on oven make a 0,5-1second power outage,without tripping fuse or breaker? I ask because when my mother in kitchen turned on oven,diablo 1 crashed to desktop on my old laptop. Nothing get tripped etc,lights not. So it was coincedence that game crashed in this moment or not?



    Laptop not restarted i just saw STEAM icon like always and desktop ,when i back.

    Event viewer said that:"A timeout was reached (30000 milliseconds) while waiting for the Steam Client"
    "the service did not respond to start or control request timeline fashion "



    Also i was on balcony in this time.


    ps:
    Diablo 1 is from GOG not steam.
     
  2. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,063
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Sounds to me like it was just a coincidence.

    Why not try the same thing again and see what happens?
     
    IceDigger likes this.
  3. mgty23

    mgty23 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    278
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    1. We tried 4 times turning oven when diablo 1 was running. Nothing happened. Also steam was running fine. But steam is only background. Diablo 1 is standalone not from Steam.

      In moment when Diablo 1 crashed to desktop event viewer said:"Event viewer said that:"A timeout was reached (30000 milliseconds) while waiting for the Steam Client"

      "the service did not respond to start or control request timeline fashion ""

      Diablo 1 is from GOG not steam.Diablo 1 is playing from standalone files.offline

      So it can be related to starting oven or it was coincedence?
      Like i said it crashed to desktop,laptop was not turned off. Laptop without battery and baterry is not charged.


      [​IMG]Zitieren
     
  4. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,462
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Probably just a coincidence, if it's an electric oven it won't be using the usual 12-14 gauge lines the regular appliances use. If there's something not good happening at the mains box then maybe it's interfering, but then diablo would be the least of your issues.
    A gas stove with a plug for the clock or whatnot wouldn't use enough juice to matter.
     
  5. mgty23

    mgty23 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    278
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Its possible that ( steam itself crashed during update ) and Diablo 1 because of oven? Diablo 1 crashed because steam crashed,because of interfering. Diablo 1 is standalone files,offline.
     
  6. Keljian

    Keljian Gawd

    Messages:
    645
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    why not buy a line interactive UPS and just solve it.
     
  7. Zuul

    Zuul Gawd

    Messages:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Laptop. With working battery?
     
    termite and JVene like this.
  8. Shooter308

    Shooter308 Gawd

    Messages:
    512
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    If your oven/stove is an electric 220V appliance, then it should be on its own breaker dedicated to only the oven itself. If your oven is a gas model, then it should just be plugged into a 110V outlet, which could be on the same circuit/breaker as the outlet that your PC was plugged into, but it depends upon how the house was wired.

    It sounds as though it was just a coincidence and that Steam crashed because of a Server timeout or a network related issue.
     
  9. That_Sound_Guy

    That_Sound_Guy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,320
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Laptop, with battery, still running after crash. The oven had nothing to do with it power wise.

    Now maybe......MAYBE. turning the oven on disrupted your wireless signal and had to reconnect causing the 30 second timeout to steam.
     
    termite likes this.
  10. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,310
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    It’s aliens
     
  11. termite

    termite [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004

    Pretty much this. You should be able to trip the main breaker in your house and not see any significant change on your laptop, unless you have a very aggressive battey profile. WIFI signal loss would be the only issue.
     
  12. NickJames

    NickJames [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,617
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Definitely not oven related considering it was a laptop. I have had a similar issue where my bedroom and the kitchen microwave were wired to a single fuse (yeah really shitty old house rigged wiring) and when someone turned on the Microwave the power fluctuations would cause the lights to flicker and low wattage PSU's to reset. When I upgraded to a 1000W PSU that problem went away.