Is reverse Nvidia super sampling possible in order to improve performance?

ZodaEX

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
3,763
It looks like I'll be stuck using an older video card for awhile and I'm wondering if reverse Nvidia-super sampling of some kind is possible in order to improve framerate performance? If not Nvidia, does something like this exist on the AMD or Intel graphics side?
 

chameleoneel

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
4,046
In the driver control panel, go to your 3d settings. In the Global profile, there is an option for sharpening. Inside of that option, is another option for GPU scaling. Turn that on.

Now when you look at your resolution option, you should have some extra options at the top, for running a lower internal resolution and upscaling to your native res.

However, I don't know for sure if that feature is supported on anything older than Turing/20 series.
 
Last edited:

ZodaEX

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
3,763
In the driver control panel, go your 3d settings. In the Global profile, there is an option for sharpening. Inside of that option, is another option for GPU scaling. Turn that on.

Now when you look at your resolution option, you should have some extra options at the top, for running a lower internal resolution and upscaling to your native res.

However, I don't know for sure if that feature is supported on anything older than Turing/20 series.

Cool, so i've found the "enable scaling" option in the global properties under image sharpening and turned that on.

Where do I look to find those other resolution scaling options now? Under the DSR factors, 1.20x is the lowest scale setting listed. Do you think this is because i'm on an older 1050ti card?
 

chameleoneel

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
4,046
Cool, so i've found the "enable scaling" option in the global properties under image sharpening and turned that on.

Where do I look to find those other resolution scaling options now? Under the DSR factors, 1.20x is the lowest scale setting listed. Do you think this is because i'm on an older 1050ti card?
Not in DSR.

The the section of the control panel where you normally set your display resolution, there should be new pre-set options in there, such as 0.75x your native resolution.

If its not there, then it may only be a feature on Turing and Ampere.
 

chameleoneel

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
4,046
FYI, Depending on how good the scalers are in your monitor, this may or may not look better than just using monitor scaling, in your "adjust desktop size and position" options in the driver control panel.

However, the GPU scaling inside the sharpening feature is different (and better), than selecting GPU scaling in "adjust desktop size and position".
 

sharknice

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
2,366
It looks like I'll be stuck using an older video card for awhile and I'm wondering if reverse Nvidia-super sampling of some kind is possible in order to improve framerate performance? If not Nvidia, does something like this exist on the AMD or Intel graphics side?

You don't need to mess with driver settings.
Most games released in the past 5+ years have in-game settings for this.

Look for "Render Resolution", "Resolution Scale", or some other setting with a similar name. The naming and values vary a lot between games, but they let you render the game world at a lower or higher resolution then scale it to your set resolution, while still rendering the 2D UI elements at your native resolution. So it looks much better than simply running the entire game at a lower resolution.

If a game doesn't have the option for that just set the in-game resolution to something lower and enable GPU scaling in your drivers. It's rare a monitor's built in scaling will look better.
 

chameleoneel

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
4,046
You don't need to mess with driver settings.
Most games released in the past 5+ years have in-game settings for this.

Look for "Render Resolution", "Resolution Scale", or some other setting with a similar name. The naming and values vary a lot between games, but they let you render the game world at a lower or higher resolution then scale it to your set resolution, while still rendering the 2D UI elements at your native resolution. So it looks much better than simply running the entire game at a lower resolution.

If a game doesn't have the option for that just set the in-game resolution to something lower and enable GPU scaling in your drivers. It's rare a monitor's built in scaling will look better.
Setting GPU scaling in "adjust desktop size and position" is not the same as the scaling inside of the sharpening options. Especially for Turing and Ampere, the scaling in the sharpending options is a higher quality method and also includes sharpening samples. Because of that, you may not need to actually turn on the sharpening feature, itself, while using the scaling. As some sharpening is built in to the scaling.

Indeed, many monitors only have basically scalers in them. But some have higher quality scalers. Samsung's gaming monitors usually have scalers which are at least as good as Turing. I actually prefer my Samsung's scaling, slightly more. It also reveals scaled resolution options, just like Nvidia's scaling option in the sharpening options.

Monitors with actual G-sync hardware have better scalers than Turing. So those monitors should be used with monitor scaling. I haven't seen Nvidia comment about Ampere's scaler quality.
 
Last edited:
Top